R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2010, 12:38 AM   #18286
Tech Regular
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in a house
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korey Harbke View Post
I haven't tried the older top deck before, so I have nothing to compare it to. Talking with Hiro, they are very similar. I doubt I would be able to tell a difference between the two to be honest.

I cut my upper deck because it smoothed the car out a bit, especially in high grip tracks. It does feel like it creates more grip in the middle and exit of the corner to me, so sometimes you might have to make a setup change or two to get the overall effect you are aiming for.

-Korey
well i actually run the original black cyclone top deck but i cut it through the middle as well as i preferred the stiff feeling more. befor i cut it the car had a tad off understeer at speed on low grip tracks and after cutting it is really nice now. i always run it over the tc deck and i have a cut one as well. plus i cut the rear alloy mid deck so it is stiff front to back but flexes a little side to side. And i get the added benefits of extra motor cooling. I really like this setup whenever i change it sometimes the car feels better but it is slow. I also run slightly lower roll centres only .5mm to 1mm under toe blocks all round.
__________________
Team Wave Speedies
Thunder power lipo's
flying fox rc
!!And an idiot with a controller!!
decibels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 01:31 AM   #18287
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparx View Post
Apparently the Xray guys are spacing the shocks quite often to change the behaviour of the car..
I didn't think it'd make that big (or at all..) until i tried it a couple of weeks ago.
Mounting the rear shock closer to the tower creates a bit more steering.
I think that shift the burden of the shock affects the center of gravity will move back spot behind the C of G (decreases the power steering), rewinding the scrap, the C of G increases the steering, as I said Tommy.
The same (reversed) for the front shock absorbers.
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 09:06 AM   #18288
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,150
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Purple LED Pit Light arrived !
Attached Thumbnails
Hot Bodies Cyclone-mm-mr-ledp.jpg  
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 10:41 AM   #18289
Tech Regular
 
Luppi Stefano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 490
Default

Hi guys!
Exotek conversion, requires special set-ups to make better?
Requires a set-up more different from the original TC?
thanks
__________________
Team Capricorn Italy
Lab F1-01
Luppi Stefano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:42 AM   #18290
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default VTA set up

Anyone got a good starting set up for vta with a cyclone running lipo/21.5 on a small med/high grip carpet?
Gwoodrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 05:04 PM   #18291
Tech Regular
 
Troy Pinkston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 415
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwoodrc View Post
Anyone got a good starting set up for vta with a cyclone running lipo/21.5 on a small med/high grip carpet?
I'm looking for the same thing. I have a S that I put the TC chassis on. Running the S top deck.
Troy Pinkston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:27 PM   #18292
Tech Regular
 
SpidarX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone ever used 30mm rear tires on their cyclone tc before?
Where I run, we use nitro foam tires on asphalt. The rear wheels are 30mm wide, but I'm having clearance issues when running the 30mm wheels. The wheel rubs on the camber link ball stud. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks
__________________
RC America - XRAY USA - Hudy
Maclan Racing
Alamo City Racing Club - San Antonio, TX
SpidarX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:37 PM   #18293
Tech Regular
 
Jazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 425
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default 30mm tyres

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpidarX View Post
Has anyone ever used 30mm rear tires on their cyclone tc before?
Where I run, we use nitro foam tires on asphalt. The rear wheels are 30mm wide, but I'm having clearance issues when running the 30mm wheels. The wheel rubs on the camber link ball stud. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks
Spidar X, put the 30mm tyres on a tyre truer.
Turn it on, use a set of calipers set at 26mm
to mark the tyres & then cut them with a stanley knife through the foam & rim at the 26mm mark. Presto 26mm all round.

Cheers Daz
Jazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 05:53 AM   #18294
Tech Rookie
 
Iceman 69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 18
Default

try getting the +2 degree offset on the rims and that should sort out your problem,
__________________
Cyclone TC~SP GT pro~10.5????????
Cyclone ~ RS Pro ~ SP13.5 V3
Cyclone ~ Spare
Iceman 69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 11:02 AM   #18295
Tech Regular
 
SpidarX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman 69 View Post
try getting the +2 degree offset on the rims and that should sort out your problem,
Good idea. I'll look at trying this. I also may have to shave the ball cup on the camber link.
__________________
RC America - XRAY USA - Hudy
Maclan Racing
Alamo City Racing Club - San Antonio, TX
SpidarX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 01:03 PM   #18296
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 105
Default Moorespeed and TC

Hi Guys,

I ve just bought a moore speed edition to strip for spares, I know the shock towers and upper bulkheads won'nt fit, what about everything else?

I think I seen the chassis may not fit?

Also there is 2mm in the shock mount height what does this achieve?

thanks again for all the help, its keeping me on the HB side
michael.branth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 01:39 PM   #18297
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,101
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael.branth View Post
Hi Guys,

I ve just bought a moore speed edition to strip for spares, I know the shock towers and upper bulkheads won'nt fit, what about everything else?

I think I seen the chassis may not fit?

Also there is 2mm in the shock mount height what does this achieve?

thanks again for all the help, its keeping me on the HB side
If you take the upper bulkheads and the shock towers together, and put them on the cyclone TC they work fine. The Cyclone TC upper bulkheads were beefed up, but when they added material, they had to move the shock tower mounting location 2mm higher. To counteract that, we use the shock towers that are 2mm lower so the overall height is the same as the moorespeed edition.

So... just for ease of reference:

Moorespeed upper bulkheads + moorsespeed shock towers (and older cyclone shock towers) = stock geometry

Cyclone TC upper bullheads + Cyclone TC shock towers = Stock geometry

Moorespeed upper bulkheads + cyclone TC towers = 2mm lower than stock geometry.

Note: I have heard this can have some benefits in super high traction conditions, but I have never tried it personally. It would also allow you to lower your body more for foam tire carpet racing, but even the stock stuff is pretty low as it is.

As far as everything else, everything else can transfer over. The diff from the moorespeec can go into the TC, but it isn't anywhere near as good as the prospec diff that comes in the cyclone TC. You can't mix parts between the differentials though.

Arms, knuckles, caster blocks, rear hubs, hinge pins, chassis, upper deck, ect... all transfer over.

Hope that helps some

-Korey
__________________
Seido Speed Works - Apex RC - Prospec America - RC Mission America - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 02:04 PM   #18298
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 995
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luppi Stefano View Post
Hi guys!
Exotek conversion, requires special set-ups to make better?
Requires a set-up more different from the original TC?
thanks
Yes, it needs a little bit of tweaking. I run mine. It works pretty good.
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 02:31 PM   #18299
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know which holes on TC arms (front and rear) exactly matches the holes on Moore Speed arms?
billythekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 02:57 PM   #18300
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,101
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I think I posted this a LONG time ago, but I'll be happy to post again.

Front: inside to outside holes

#4 on TC arms = #2 on old arms
#3 on TC arms
#2 on TC arms = #1 on old arms
#1 on TC arms

Rear: inside to outside holes

#5 on TC arms = #3 on old arms
#4 on TC arms
#3 on TC arms = #2 on old arms
#2 on TC arms
#1 on TC arms = #1 on old arms

The positions without an equivalent position on the older arms are "inbetweeners" Hope that helps!

-Korey
__________________
Seido Speed Works - Apex RC - Prospec America - RC Mission America - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:38 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net