R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 01-07-2010, 01:23 PM   #18181
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by goots View Post
Hi guys Im new to the cyclone and am looking at several setups. Im confused about the roll center and squat settings. Im trying out Barry Bakers setup and it says use 1.5 mm shims under the suspension toe-blocks. Does that mean I keep the stock 2mm shims under the pivot blocks also? Or is it 1.5mm all around.
He used 1.5mm under all the blocks. Sometimes we will designate the blocks as FF, FR, RF, and RR. FF being the front toe block, FR being the "pivot block". RF being the Rear pivot block, and RR the rear toe block.

Hope that makes sense.

-Korey
Seido Speed Works - Apex RC - Prospec America - RC Mission America - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - SpeedZombi - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 01:51 PM   #18182
Tech Adept

Send a message via AIM to Matt W

Hey,

Thanks for the explanation Korey. The grip roll usually happens through the mid section of the sweeper. I run 1mm all round under the hingpin blocks and 4mm under the camber links.

Some peope say that lowering the roll center creates more roll in the car therefore using the tyre less and stopping traction roll

Some people say that raising the roll center creates less roll which prevents the car rolling too far and grip rolling

any ideas?
Matt W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 02:41 PM   #18183
Tech Champion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt W View Post
Hey,

Thanks for the explanation Korey. The grip roll usually happens through the mid section of the sweeper. I run 1mm all round under the hingpin blocks and 4mm under the camber links.

Some peope say that lowering the roll center creates more roll in the car therefore using the tyre less and stopping traction roll