R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2009, 12:49 PM   #18016
Tech Regular
 
dstyles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Note: because these shock towers feature a higher mounting point and lower shock mount positions, they are not suitable for previous versions of the Cyclone touring car.
dstyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 12:56 PM   #18017
Tech Adept
 
EJ20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
Does anyone know why I can't set my regular Cyclone to 5mm ride height using TC shock towers? My shock rings are all the way up, and the ride height is 7-8mm.

Can someone shed a light to this confused soul?
Hi Bukil,

I've been using the TC shock tower at the Front and Rear on my Hara's shock tower mount which is same as the regular one you have, on this combo, you will have 2mm lower on the shocks position, thats why the your shock rings are higher. Check if you have any roll center spacer under the toe blocks? I have 1.5mm spacers all around and you should be able to set it to 5mm ride height. LMK!
__________________
- HOTBODIES - AHRP -
EJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 12:57 PM   #18018
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 995
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dstyles View Post
Note: because these shock towers feature a higher mounting point and lower shock mount positions, they are not suitable for previous versions of the Cyclone touring car.
Aw poop. I like the TC shock towers better due to more tuning options. Will the WCE shock towers work?
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 12:57 PM   #18019
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
Does anyone know why I can't set my regular Cyclone to 5mm ride height using TC shock towers? My shock rings are all the way up, and the ride height is 7-8mm.

Can someone shed a light to this confused soul?
The TC towers are lower than the original or WCE towers. The upper bulkhead is higher on the TC so the tower mounting holes are drilled to compensate.

Pick up a set of WCE towers (61090, 61091) and you'll be all set.
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 12:59 PM   #18020
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 995
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ20 View Post
Hi Bukil,

I've been using the TC shock tower at the Front and Rear on my Hara's shock tower mount which is same as the regular one you have, on this combo, you will have 2mm lower on the shocks position, thats why the your shock rings are higher. Check if you have any roll center spacer under the toe blocks? I have 1.5mm spacers all around and you should be able to set it to 5mm ride height. LMK!
I have 1 mm spacers under all of my toe blocks.
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 01:00 PM   #18021
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jag88 View Post
how does that effect the rear toe angle ? How do you get back to 3 degrees rear toe ?

What width hex do you use also what is over all width (190 ?) ?

Thanks.
Hi Jag,

The 2.0 deg blocks were used in the front, not in the rear.
You can also do the same in the rear but we still haven't had good result with it. When i measured my car overall width with the 2.0 deg blocks in the front, it was 188mm. (Used black 5mm hex hubs)

Hope it helps.
Hi-LowBlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 02:06 PM   #18022
Tech Adept
 
EJ20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
I have 1 mm spacers under all of my toe blocks.
Hi Bukil,

I forgot to mention, I'm was using TC arm with the hole #1, so that's probably why you can't if you are using the original Pro4 arms.??
__________________
- HOTBODIES - AHRP -
EJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 02:25 PM   #18023
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 995
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ20 View Post
Hi Bukil,

I forgot to mention, I'm was using TC arm with the hole #1, so that's probably why you can't if you are using the original Pro4 arms.??
Nope, TC arms.
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 03:36 PM   #18024
Tech Master
 
jag88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-LowBlow View Post
Hi Jag,

The 2.0 deg blocks were used in the front, not in the rear.
You can also do the same in the rear but we still haven't had good result with it. When i measured my car overall width with the 2.0 deg blocks in the front, it was 188mm. (Used black 5mm hex hubs)

Hope it helps.

I misunderstood the set-up sheet. Thanks for clearing that up !

Would this mod work on carpet (rubber) ?
Thanks again.
jag88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 04:38 PM   #18025
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,384
Default

Tamiya vs HPI Springs

I've read that over in the TRF camp that they prefer to use the Tamiya springs on carpet because they are more linear and make the car easier to drive. Then on asphalt, they use the HPI springs because they are progressive and yeild more traction.

I always thought that the HPI springs were more linear than the Tamiya springs. I've seen that Andy sometimes uses the Tamiya springs on carpet with his car.

Anyone got any experience with both springs on the Cyclone?
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 05:42 PM   #18026
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,101
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jag88 View Post
how does that effect the rear toe angle ? How do you get back to 3 degrees rear toe ?

What width hex do you use also what is over all width (190 ?) ?

Thanks.
never mind... forgot to go to the next page where Hiro responded!
__________________
Seido Speed Works - Apex RC - Prospec America - RC Mission America - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 05:46 PM   #18027
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,101
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I know someone that has done a lot of testing with the tamiya springs and the HPI springs on a special machine. The Tamiya springs aren't very linear in comparison to the HPI springs.

The tamiya springs have performed really well on carpet if you want the car to be more responsive and have that really quick and nimble feeling on carpet. The HPI springs make the car suck down to the track and feel really stuck overall. They make the car smoother overall.

-Korey
__________________
Seido Speed Works - Apex RC - Prospec America - RC Mission America - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 07:59 PM   #18028
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default spring rates

Is there a list of the spring rates for the hpi/hot bodies springs?
Gwoodrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 08:38 PM   #18029
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwoodrc View Post
Is there a list of the spring rates for the hpi/hot bodies springs?
Two Springs Blue Rated 15.3 in/lb
Two Springs Silver Rated 16.9 in/lb
Two Springs Pink Rated 18.0 in/lb
Two Springs Gold Rated 19.0 in/lb
Two Springs White Rated 20.3 in/lb
Two Springs Yellow Rated 21.7 in/lb
Two Springs Red Rated 22.4 in/lb
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 03:01 AM   #18030
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 179
Default Lipo Topdeck set

I have just received my "#67695 - Li-Po Battery Upper Deck Conversion Set" and put it on my car.
However a small alu strip with 2 holes comes with it and I am stumped on where to put it.
Can someone enlighten me?
vassago is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net