R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2005, 06:36 PM   #1771
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default re: spool chatter

I lube the pins on the driveshaft quite a lot, keep them clean, and rebuild the CVDs often, and I do not experience any chatter.

EDIT: oops, I thought this was the Pro4 thread.. but should be the same once I pick up my HB around Christmas time can't wait
Aurra Sing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 12:13 PM   #1772
Buyer Beware
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 332
Default

my cyclone should be here on Monday....
HELLOkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:03 PM   #1773
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HELLOkitty
my cyclone should be here on Monday....
that's great...Have fun building it... should take you approx. 3hr.45min.23sec. to build... not including chassis prep.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:07 PM   #1774
Buyer Beware
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
that's great...Have fun building it... should take you approx. 3hr.45min.23sec. to build... not including chassis prep.
WOW!
you know the precise time it will take....any ideas on which motor,esc,servo,body,etc to get for this car?
HELLOkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:10 PM   #1775
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HELLOkitty
WOW!
you know the precise time it will take....any ideas on which motor,esc,servo,body,etc to get for this car?
same electronics that's on my car...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:12 PM   #1776
Buyer Beware
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
same electronics that's on my car...
hehehehehehehe
HELLOkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 10:33 AM   #1777
Tech Adept
 
belgianchamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: belgium ypres
Posts: 104
Send a message via MSN to belgianchamp
Default

Hi,

I have a question:

My friend snapped 4diffscrews from his pro4, anybody also has this problem?The diffs are very smooth not tighten to much and when he hits something not hard its finished.Somebody nows what the problem can be?
belgianchamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 12:02 PM   #1778
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

I know someone who had a Pro 4 who broke about 5 diff screws in the space of about 4 months. Personally I've been racing with the Pro 4 and now Cyclone for over a year and a half and have never broken one [touch wood].
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 03:41 PM   #1779
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 69
Default

Hi, I have only ever broken one, and that was because I had the diff done up silly tight cause the grip on the track was so high. Under normal conditions I have never broken one. I know quite a few people who have Pro 4's who have not had problems though. Try replacing all the other diff components at the same time as the nut next time as there may be another bit that is faulty or built incorrectly. Jonathan
jonny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 06:34 PM   #1780
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny69
Hi, I have only ever broken one, and that was because I had the diff done up silly tight cause the grip on the track was so high. Under normal conditions I have never broken one. I know quite a few people who have Pro 4's who have not had problems though. Try replacing all the other diff components at the same time as the nut next time as there may be another bit that is faulty or built incorrectly. Jonathan
some one plse tell me when the diff coming out for cyclone so i can run carpet thxs
__________________
hotbodies cyclone, hotbodies tcxx orca v3 esc
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 08:24 PM   #1781
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,263
Send a message via ICQ to ngo8
Default

i just finished building mine for thrust bearing i used the TC4 one works perfect the hotbodies/hpi was out of stock and i just bought 2 bearings instead of one and 2 spacers .
__________________
Xray|ORCA|Sanwa|Trinity|KoPropo
ngo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 01:25 AM   #1782
Tech Regular
 
bretthitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hollywell
Posts: 284
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default page

on page 12 on the the cyclone manual at the top of the page ware the misprint is about the spur gear and the pulleys is page 31 the correct way it should go toughter can any one help thanks brett
bretthitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 03:54 AM   #1783
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 1,245
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurra Sing
I lube the pins on the driveshaft quite a lot, keep them clean, and rebuild the CVDs often, and I do not experience any chatter.

EDIT: oops, I thought this was the Pro4 thread.. but should be the same once I pick up my HB around Christmas time can't wait
Go do your homework Aurra!
JoeyE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 05:38 AM   #1784
tir
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
so to reduce the chatter I need to widen the pin slot on the spool...and also install the RDX or Xray pin plastic pin blades...?
No, I would not advise widening the pin slot. Blades do not stop chatter..
Chatter will only be observed in reality when the wheels are free floating on the bench.

When on the track the actual inertia in the car will be sufficient to combat the observed chatter - there of course still remains oscillation variations but it does have a negligible effect on the cars overall performance. The result of the increased vibrations will really only manifest themselves in premature wear, slight understeer and slightly reduced corner speeds but equally this has to be offset against the cost and reliablity of proper constant velocity joints for RC cars.

No matter what car you drive the most important factor in getting the most out of the car is to concentrate on making sure that the transmission is as clean and free running as possible and for that matter as light as possible. Binding belts, sloppy joints, poorly fitting A arms etc will have a more detrimental effect on the cars overall performance than the oscillation problem. Then of course there is the fact that we need to make sure we hit the right lines at all times. These will cost us seconds per lap - oscillations will cost us 000's of a second...
tir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 07:42 AM   #1785
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default

hey does anyone runing cyclone with front spool and middle one way? if i using this setting will it be possible to used break too??? so what you guys normally tighten the rear diff will it be loosen or tighten it very tight using front spool in order to get good handling?? thanks
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:31 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net