R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2009, 12:42 PM   #17821
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmo1974 View Post
Hi Korey,
I am suitably confused, and need some more of your expert education.

(1) A ways back in this thread there was the following dialog with yourself.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally Posted by Hi-LowBlow
I think the cut middle deck also works great on "Super" high bite to free up the rear.
May be we should have tried?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally Posted by jag88
Would you suggest that this be tried with rubber on carpet ? I've been running the car all summer on mid to high grip carpet ( Jaco blues, Jack, 13.5, spool ). What's happening to me is that the car has no corner speed. It basically stops mid corner. I just switched to the lipo top deck and the overall chassis seems to have too much flex. I thought that the chassis was giving up in the corners and that's why it was stopping mid corner. If I cut the middle deck wouldn't that make the problem worse ?
I realize that you guys run mostly on asphault but maybe you may have a thought.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
I would leave it uncut... and run ATC posts up front if you have them (using 2mm shims instead of the orings). If you are running the chassis that came in the TC kit, it tends to:
-- flex a little too much in the front just under the diff, and
-- just about right in the rear.
You might even want to try a normal graphite rear plate as well if you can find them.

I would also suggest raising the roll center by adding shims under the suspension and toe blocks. If grip is good enough, you might be able to run as much as 2-3 mm under the suspension blocks. Just be careful though, I've noticed if you're not careful and raise the roll center too much on carpet, it can traction roll really easy when the grip gets high. I think it just makes the car transfer weight too fast side to side and makes the car grab really weird. You'll have to play with it to find a happy medium.
-Korey

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

(2) I need some of your expert guidance on when to use (and *not* to use) the:
-- ATC posts
-- cut rear (middle) deck
-- cut top deck

(3) I am particularly confused about the bolded text above ("flex a little too much in the front just under the diff"), and the fact that your are running a cut top deck. Doesn't this make the front end way too flexible ??

Thanks in advance
I believe the bolded statement refers to the fact that the Cyclone TC chassis has larger cut outs below the diff than the Moore or earlier editions.
__________________
Team Powers, SMC ( www.smc-racing.com the only place to order your batteries online.), Awesomatix, Gonzo Paints, BN Racing
www.TeamPowersUSA.com

"Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery."
Advil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 03:28 PM   #17822
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default gearing on cyclone

hi fellow hotbodies racer how would you gear a 17.5 rubber on carpet where to start out at im planning on going to the snowbird never ran rubber since their no 17.5 foam and a better understanding on gearing like when some one say go dwn on gearing or go up could some one explain like for example 100/50 plse help thxs reggie
__________________
hotbodies cyclone, hotbodies tcxx orca v3 esc
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 03:56 PM   #17823
Tech Regular
 
cosmo1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide AUSTRALIA (5.754 mins SE of The Parks)
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Advil View Post
I believe the bolded statement refers to the fact that the Cyclone TC chassis has larger cut outs below the diff than the Moore or earlier editions.
Thanks for the background info.

I'm not all that surprised about the front flex (because of the cut-out); What I was alluding to was the fact that the front flex AND the cut top deck would give a lot of extra flex up front, and wasn't sure why the HB team drivers would want to do this ??

Cheers
__________________
"I'm either retired or unemployed, depending on when the money runs out !" > AERCCC_#25 > LargeOutdoorAsphaltTrack > CycloneTC + TekinRS_HWXerun_ESCs + Duo2_17.5 + SMC_Fantom_LiPos + BLS551 + MX3FG + TC1030 + MM >> =======TRACK_VIEW_FROM_SPACE========> http://www.nearmap.com/?q=@-34.857766,138.560313&ll=-34.857766,138.560313&z=19&t=h&nmd=20100614
cosmo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 08:58 PM   #17824
Tech Regular
 
cosmo1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide AUSTRALIA (5.754 mins SE of The Parks)
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmo1974 View Post
Hi,

(1) Since I posted the previous item, I have cut the top deck and placed in my TC. What I have noticed is that the cut is in line with the servo position (a couple of inches back from the front spool).

(2) So I'm guessing that I could run the ATC posts to firm up the front, and the cut top deck will provide some flex just forward of the middle of the car. Does this sound plausible ??

Cheers
Hi,

(1) At present, there is a practice day at the new outdoor asphalt track only once every two weeks; fortunately today was a practice day. Ambient temperatures were high at 37 degs C, with a track temp of 60 degs C.

(2) I'm glad to report that the TC behaved like a new car.

I was running the following setup:
-- Hara Thailand TITC 2009 setup
......(almost; no wheel spacer on rear, -1 toe, 5.5mm ride height F+R, R(hub)=2.0_0.5)
-- ATC posts on front (actually some metal PCB mounts + shims)
-- Cut top deck
-- Solid rear (middle) deck
-- Sorex 36 A-Firm inserts on Speedmind rims

Big improvement
Cheers
__________________
"I'm either retired or unemployed, depending on when the money runs out !" > AERCCC_#25 > LargeOutdoorAsphaltTrack > CycloneTC + TekinRS_HWXerun_ESCs + Duo2_17.5 + SMC_Fantom_LiPos + BLS551 + MX3FG + TC1030 + MM >> =======TRACK_VIEW_FROM_SPACE========> http://www.nearmap.com/?q=@-34.857766,138.560313&ll=-34.857766,138.560313&z=19&t=h&nmd=20100614
cosmo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 02:50 AM   #17825
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 626
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kriiiss
Default

hey guys I have a cyclone tc and my servo mounts seem like they are too far away from the servo mount holes on the chassis

or it looks like the servo is too long and the servo mount holes are too close together.


check out the servo mounts......they aren't straight



kriiiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 03:32 AM   #17826
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,714
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kriiiss View Post
hey guys I have a cyclone tc and my servo mounts seem like they are too far away from the servo mount holes on the chassis

or it looks like the servo is too long and the servo mount holes are too close together.


check out the servo mounts......they aren't straight



what brand of servo are you running? if you're running a KO Propo, then you'd need to get the aluminum servo mounts which have the mounting holes offset. hths
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 12:38 PM   #17827
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 626
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kriiiss
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VooDooPH View Post
what brand of servo are you running? if you're running a KO Propo, then you'd need to get the aluminum servo mounts which have the mounting holes offset. hths

its a futaba servo so idk why its like that

u think the aluminum servo mounts will fix the prob?
kriiiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:04 PM   #17828
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 626
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kriiiss
Default

looking for a Cyclone Li-Po Battery Upper Deck

(just the upper deck)
kriiiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 09:18 PM   #17829
Tech Addict
 
diozxlive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 625
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

just enlarge the servo mounting holes a bit.
__________________
RC Flight/RC Grift and Drift
GP reactor, Hacker Superzomm XXL, mini funtana, mini ultrastik, bmr-2, e-hawk 1500, trex 450v2SE black, trex 450v2SE silver, Trex 500cf, trex600nsp, Thunder tiger 1/5 Ducati Desmo, revo3.3, HB cyclone ms, cyclone black, Tamiya volkswagen beetle, Mugen MBX6, X2 CRTpro
diozxlive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 09:20 PM   #17830
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 626
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kriiiss
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diozxlive View Post
just enlarge the servo mounting holes a bit.
on the chassis or servo?
kriiiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 06:44 PM   #17831
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

just wondering if anyone else has had cvd's problem as i have broken the front two?
__________________
Hot bodies- fantom-Aka
a.seffrood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 07:10 PM   #17832
Tech Regular
 
SpidarX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 423
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kriiiss View Post
on the chassis or servo?
I would imagine you could enlarge the holes on the servo mounts. The aluminum servo mounts have the holes off center, so you can accomodate wider servos.
__________________
RC America - XRAY USA - Hudy
Maclan Racing
Alamo City Racing Club - San Antonio, TX
SpidarX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 07:33 PM   #17833
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 626
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kriiiss
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpidarX View Post
I would imagine you could enlarge the holes on the servo mounts. The aluminum servo mounts have the holes off center, so you can accomodate wider servos.
IC Ill just wait for my aluminum servo mounts to come in

thanks!
kriiiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 08:22 PM   #17834
Tech Addict
 
diozxlive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 625
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kriiiss View Post
on the chassis or servo?
on the servo.
__________________
RC Flight/RC Grift and Drift
GP reactor, Hacker Superzomm XXL, mini funtana, mini ultrastik, bmr-2, e-hawk 1500, trex 450v2SE black, trex 450v2SE silver, Trex 500cf, trex600nsp, Thunder tiger 1/5 Ducati Desmo, revo3.3, HB cyclone ms, cyclone black, Tamiya volkswagen beetle, Mugen MBX6, X2 CRTpro
diozxlive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 08:50 PM   #17835
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,926
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a.seffrood View Post
just wondering if anyone else has had cvd's problem as i have broken the front two?
nope - had 2 pretty bad 'run-ins' with the boards that cost me 2 knuckles over the weekend and didn't damage a single CVD

what was with 13.5 and being WIDE OPEN when I hit
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:17 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net