R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2009, 02:42 PM   #15586
Tech Master
 
ChristopherKee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCFREAK View Post
tapping boards here and there take a toll on the driveshafts....
Here and there is an understatement, I've seen you drive!
ChristopherKee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 02:46 PM   #15587
Tech Elite
 
RCFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: MEMBER OF THE "MWC" Mimi Wong Clan
Posts: 2,402
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Little_Mike View Post
yeah ill post when iget home from school, i cant remember what weight oil was in the shocks tho! I also ran my BMI/Surikarn foam edition in stock foam class, just missed podium, was tied for points but other guy had better time That is one hella stiff chassis tho, even by the xray guys standards! i should post some pics of my car and the race, my foam car is like a frankencar with the blue aluminum, but purple CVD's .

One thing i did notice while prepping the car before the regionals during teardown was that the BMI chassis does not use the same hinge pins (at least in the rear) because it hase the screw holes for the toe blocks drilled a different distance than the reg. chassis. So i couldnt put Ti-Ni pins in. and I had to use the pins that were with it, they are so worn (but not bent luckily) that on the front ends the pin is worn to a black and gold/brown color. the kind of color of a perfectly roasted marshmellow. I would like to know what pins they are if they are from an xray or something, oh and they have a flat end (sorta half circle) on one end (also the worn end) like they fit into a slot or something.

Did I mention i played the Rick roll song in my pits after i won?
Good job Mike!!

I had to run the BMI chassis on my car also... even for rubber tire!!! traction is crazy at times.
As for the BMI hingepins, yes they are Xray rears... so no big deal in finding them.
__________________
Arv.
RC AMERICA// EA MOTORSPORTS// KO PROPO// ORCA
RCFREAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 02:53 PM   #15588
Tech Elite
 
RCFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: MEMBER OF THE "MWC" Mimi Wong Clan
Posts: 2,402
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristopherKee View Post
Here and there is an understatement, I've seen you drive!

Yeah drive my way into the SHOW!!

Nice Hello Kitty!!!

I gotta race you at the track, now your stalking on the internet??!??!!?
__________________
Arv.
RC AMERICA// EA MOTORSPORTS// KO PROPO// ORCA
RCFREAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:43 PM   #15589
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racenut123 View Post
Hey,give me those bad hubs.I will run them and still put the blue car a lap down!
No you won't because from what I heard you are an epic failure
I gave all those hubs away when I sold my car. You could make a neckless with them Alum rear hubs or the Tamiya hubs solved that problem.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:46 PM   #15590
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Advil View Post
He had some bad hubs back when there was an issue with them.

STLNLST, don't cry when you're lapped traffic with that blue car....
I'm still testing..............and you know what I mean by that
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 05:28 PM   #15591
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 84
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know where I can get a set of aluminium c-hubs? I'm sick of breaking the stock ones.
rogueldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 08:27 PM   #15592
Tech Regular
 
Little_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogueldr View Post
Does anyone know where I can get a set of aluminium c-hubs? I'm sick of breaking the stock ones.
just get the ones made of the hard material. they are super tough, hvnt broke one in almost a year
__________________
R.O.A.R. region 11 stock rubber carpet champion
Sponsored by: Hot Bodies

HB Cyclone Moore Speed WCE Edition - HB/BMI Cyclone(foam)
Team Magic G4RS pwered by EB mods and O.S. engines
Little_Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 08:39 PM   #15593
Tech Elite
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,059
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogueldr View Post
Does anyone know where I can get a set of aluminium c-hubs? I'm sick of breaking the stock ones.
You really do not need or want Aluminum C-Hubs. What you need to do is ensure that the steering blocks do not hit the c-hubs during a side impact. I was really struggling with this car when I first got it, I was breaking C-hubs almost every run. But after I spent some time making sure that the steering blocks do not hit the C-hubs at full lock my issues went away 100%. One of the things that you can do is grind off the steering stop that is on the inside of the arm of the steering block. This will help to decrease breakage a lot.

What I was finding is that during an impact the steering block stop would hit the side of the C-Hub and split the C-hub in half. It is all about steering throw and preventing both pieces from touching during an impact.

I really hope this helps...PM me if you want more info!
__________________
Xray | Hudy | Sanwa | R1 Wurks | Avid | Protoform | Proline | 2mm Designs
artwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 08:42 PM   #15594
Tech Regular
 
Little_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 364
Default

pics
Attached Thumbnails
Hot Bodies Cyclone-imgp0314.jpg   Hot Bodies Cyclone-imgp0313.jpg  
__________________
R.O.A.R. region 11 stock rubber carpet champion
Sponsored by: Hot Bodies

HB Cyclone Moore Speed WCE Edition - HB/BMI Cyclone(foam)
Team Magic G4RS pwered by EB mods and O.S. engines
Little_Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 09:30 PM   #15595
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,046
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

did the surikarn come with a carbon fiber plate for the spur gear hub?
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 09:49 PM   #15596
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,500
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Real talk. EPIC FAIL-
Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
No you won't because from what I heard you are an epic failure
I gave all those hubs away when I sold my car. You could make a neckless with them Alum rear hubs or the Tamiya hubs solved that problem.
__________________
Team I'm Over It
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 10:05 PM   #15597
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,610
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Alum Rear hubs did not fix my rear toe issue at all!!!!!

I believe its a lower deck screw hole position issue.
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 01:29 AM   #15598
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,337
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artwork View Post
You really do not need or want Aluminum C-Hubs. What you need to do is ensure that ...

you stay on the black line
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 04:13 AM   #15599
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 308
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Have any of you guys had any problem with new swaybar system?

I ran my cyclone TC for the first time. I know this sounds silly, but both the swaybar links in the front were disconected by the end of the run. No majors crashes.

I cant figure why this is hapening. As anybody had the same problem?
Itchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 04:56 AM   #15600
Tech Addict
 
Thraex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itchy View Post
Have any of you guys had any problem with new swaybar system?

I ran my cyclone TC for the first time. I know this sounds silly, but both the swaybar links in the front were disconected by the end of the run. No majors crashes.

I cant figure why this is hapening. As anybody had the same problem?
Yes that is a common problem, that's why most of the team drivers are using the old ones. They also seem to bind a little more (even after heating it with a ligther).
__________________
Thijs van M[HPI/HB]
Thraex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:48 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net