R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2009, 08:21 PM   #15061
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,921
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
I will PM you once I take all my electrics out and get the parts together.
Sounds good!
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 08:50 PM   #15062
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,769
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team STPN View Post
Will it fit a TC5??
No but you can get a TC5 one from the company. The plate just sold though. Art swooped on it I saved on shipping
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 01:59 AM   #15063
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
The track was high grip. Try the set up out first before you make changes.
Ok , i will try the setup , thank .
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 03:20 AM   #15064
Tech Adept
 
RC=Realy_Costly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ADELAIDE
Posts: 180
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hi!

just recently bought the bottom of the range cyclone (u no the full plastic pre built kit) just as a thrasher for when im not at the track and for some reason cant get any gear mesh wat so ever

the motor is a 540 the spur is that which came with the car and i first tried a 33 tooth pinion.... no mesh now just bought a bigger pinion....NO MESH and no matter how i position twist and turn the motor im still mm's away

ive also dremeled the housing to move the motor a lil closer and still NO MESH!!!!!!

can anyone please help
__________________
Mugen mtx4R, powered by Ninja, Directed by JR, driven by Remo Siciliano....

HB Cyclone, powered by Komodo dragon 19T, run by LRP, Directed by JR, driven by Remo Siciliano....
RC=Realy_Costly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 04:52 AM   #15065
Tech Adept
 
Coldn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: So Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 115
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Coldn
Default

Hello!!

Please, were I find tha body to buy



i search in a lot off stores but i dont find.

is that a subaru body??
__________________
Cyclone TC - Futaba 3PM Fasst
Speed Passio GT2.0 - MMM 10.5t
Nanotech 6000mah
Coldn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 08:19 AM   #15066
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,271
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC=Realy_Costly View Post
hi!

just recently bought the bottom of the range cyclone (u no the full plastic pre built kit) just as a thrasher for when im not at the track and for some reason cant get any gear mesh wat so ever

the motor is a 540 the spur is that which came with the car and i first tried a 33 tooth pinion.... no mesh now just bought a bigger pinion....NO MESH and no matter how i position twist and turn the motor im still mm's away

ive also dremeled the housing to move the motor a lil closer and still NO MESH!!!!!!

can anyone please help

Hi there

the internal ratio of the cyclone S is 2.44 if I aint mistaken.... that should help you reach anywhere between more or less 5.0 (yes I've done it) to 10-ish+ fdr if you use the proper spur/pinion combo. For my 10.5-powered hara Ed (same architecture as your S) I run 6.8 fdr, which if I remember well is obtained thru a 28 pinion and a 78 spur (yes I'm an old fart who runs 48DP because I absolutely HATE adjusting mesh with 64DP)... and there is a lot of space to mesh tighter or disconnect the pinion from the spur.

Check your spur's size. maybe you got like an 85 or something as a mistake... But I'm more enclined to think you use the wrong holes in the motor can. You should use diametrally opposed holes (there are two sets of them). This is likely the source of your problem (on top of using a relatively small pinion).

Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 01:12 PM   #15067
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,135
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coldn View Post
Hello!!

Please, were I find tha body to buy



i search in a lot off stores but i dont find.

is that a subaru body??
this race was lose so don't release !
no selling point !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 07:23 PM   #15068
Tech Adept
 
d1nzfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
this race was lose so don't release !
no selling point !
What? you need to win a race in order to release a new body?!??
d1nzfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 08:30 PM   #15069
Tech Addict
 
trickd122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 509
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korey Harbke View Post
Lonestar has the right idea. The closer the upper arm (camber link in our case) gets to being equal length with the lower arm, the less camber regression (going more negative) there will be. When the upper and lower arms are of equal length it gives pretty much zero camber change. When you go shorter, it increases camber change (it goes more negative) as the suspension is compressed.

How does this effect the car? Longer will typically create more overall traction in the middle and exit of the corner, but it makes the car react slower intially. When you make the links shorter it increases initial grip and has less traction in the middle and exit of a corner. Higher traction tracks with a twisty layout will favor shorter camber links and lower traction tracks with a longer sweeping layout will favor longer links.

It does depend a little on where you are making the change though. What I just outlined is specifically when you change the camber link length from the bulkhead. The outer mounting position will have some different overall results when changed. On the HB Cyclone we have two different camber link mounting positions on the rear hub carrier. The inner one will make the rear end react really quick initially and have more overall grip through the turn. The outer mounting position makes the rear end of the car react a little slower, but it also reduces grip in the middle and exit of the corner. I use the inner position in most conditions, but with my foam tire carpet racing I've been testing a lot of, I have been liking the outer position a lot.

The angle of camber links also messes with camber change as well. Flatter links will give less overall camber change. They produce a little bit more initial grip, but for the most part they produce less overall grip through the middle and exit of a corner. More angled links will produce slightly less initial grip, but more grip in the middle and exit of a corner.

Hope that helps!!!

-Korey

Yes Korey it does help!

Now next question is the swaybar action or lack there of. I generally set my car up using the 1.2mm in the rear, the thin copper one. Now lifting one arm up almost has no effect on the other. Isn't this swaybar the pointless or am I missing something?

-Tino
trickd122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 08:49 PM   #15070
Tech Elite
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trickd122 View Post
Yes Korey it does help!

Now next question is the swaybar action or lack there of. I generally set my car up using the 1.2mm in the rear, the thin copper one. Now lifting one arm up almost has no effect on the other. Isn't this swaybar the pointless or am I missing something?

-Tino
Are you testing it with shocks and tires off?
__________________
Xray | Hudy | Sanwa | R1 Wurks | Avid | Protoform | Proline | 2mm Designs
artwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 04:49 PM   #15071
Tech Addict
 
trickd122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 509
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artwork View Post
Are you testing it with shocks and tires off?
off and on, same issue
trickd122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 06:59 PM   #15072
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default droop setting on carpet for cyclone

what a good setting to start on carpet for droop setting, for just starting on a fresh track to a well groove carpet track such as snow birds etc thxs let hear info
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 08:32 PM   #15073
Tech Fanatic
 
vlozity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 785
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC=Realy_Costly View Post
hi!

just recently bought the bottom of the range cyclone (u no the full plastic pre built kit) just as a thrasher for when im not at the track and for some reason cant get any gear mesh wat so ever

the motor is a 540 the spur is that which came with the car and i first tried a 33 tooth pinion.... no mesh now just bought a bigger pinion....NO MESH and no matter how i position twist and turn the motor im still mm's away

ive also dremeled the housing to move the motor a lil closer and still NO MESH!!!!!!

can anyone please help
dremeled the housing ... thats extreme!

i'm guessing the Cyclone S came with the standard 64p 100T spur, according to the Cyclone manual i have, you should be able to get it meshed properly if you use 34T to 40T pinions. i think to get smaller pinions installed get the BL motor mount, it also allows you to use larger 110T spurs.
__________________
3Racing Sakura D4 RWD & AWD converted to RWD
Tekin RS ESC Tekin Redline 13.5T BL Sensored Savox 1257TG Sanwa MT4
vlozity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 03:08 PM   #15074
Tech Elite
 
RaceAce701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carbondale, Pa
Posts: 2,841
Trader Rating: 83 (99%+)
Default

anyone have a good low bite carpet setup and i mean low grip

we have a spec tire of jaco greens also
__________________
The Skid Marks -- 24 Heures Du Jackson 9/22-23/2011
"Go for broke or go home broke"
"If it ant broke your not trying"
Alex "ACE" Kubilus
ACE design works
RaceAce701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 05:11 PM   #15075
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

We're on greens too and this is my starting setup upcoming race, i had trouble finding enough steering at the practice today but this works ok.
Attached Thumbnails
Hot Bodies Cyclone-low-grip.jpg  
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Savx - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 08:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 08:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 08:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 03:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 06:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:25 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0