R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2013, 11:44 PM   #1201
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I buy stainless screw set from TQ racing for $12.
They are hex head and supplied by f1paintlab, iirc.
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 10:10 AM   #1202
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [RC10TC] View Post
Anyone know if the tamiya f104v2 titanium version 93033 comes with aluminum hex screws or does it just include Phillips head screws like the regular v2?
Neither.
Like all Tamiyas it uses JIS (Japanese Industrial Standard) screws which is why Phillips drivers don't fit properly and chew up the heads. Having built hundreds of Tamiya kits over the years (I used to build them for a hobby shop) having the right JIS screwdriver meant no stripped screw heads, and a JIS screwdriver is also useful for removing stripped Phillips head screws as well.
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 02:26 AM   #1203
Tech Adept
 
rbarciko's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 210
Default

There is an articles on the Rc F1 website which explains the difference between Philips and JIS:

http://www.rcformula1.com.au/index.p...s-strip-easily

I
__________________
-== Robert Barcikowski ==-
TFTR TC6 F104v2 RC Parts Search
rbarciko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 08:13 AM   #1204
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: france
Posts: 35
Default

question: when you look at the F104 chassis Pro II race ready with batteries, from the side, eyes height lower decks front and rear, is that the two plates should form a "V" (exaggerated) points up or down?
pol59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 09:28 AM   #1205
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 2,087
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

It should sit flat with no "V".
PROMODVETTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 08:03 AM   #1206
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 125
Default

hey guys, my club is racing with controlled tires. they have set us to use the HPI potenza tires. my problem is the F104 mesh rims i got are too big..... the tires sort of sink in the middle of the tread.

what rims can i put the HPI tires on that will fit the F104?
brendon.matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 02:57 AM   #1207
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

Last thursday i've run the dark titanium with a cirtix stock club esc with a speedpassion 21.5T V3 motor and i was faster with this combination then when i was running with the F104X1 with a 17.5T motor.
It sure shows the potential of this chassis, very pleased with it
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 10:15 AM   #1208
Tech Master
 
BadSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brendon.matt View Post
hey guys, my club is racing with controlled tires. they have set us to use the HPI potenza tires. my problem is the F104 mesh rims i got are too big..... the tires sort of sink in the middle of the tread.

what rims can i put the HPI tires on that will fit the F104?
Only one real solution: pick another tire.
__________________
This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it- Psalms 118:24

World Champion Turn Marshall
BadSign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 04:16 PM   #1209
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brendon.matt View Post
hey guys, my club is racing with controlled tires. they have set us to use the HPI potenza tires. my problem is the F104 mesh rims i got are too big..... the tires sort of sink in the middle of the tread.

what rims can i put the HPI tires on that will fit the F104?
I'd have to agree with BadSign here.

Your club has managed to pick a tyre that no one else uses and which only fits the one car that no one runs. Even HPI F10 owners who plan to race them will replace the diff with the more standard ball diff, meaning the HPI Potenzas won't even fit on the car they were designed for. The only F1 you are really going to be able to use the Potenzas on is the FGX.
Choosing tyres designed for the F104 such as the Tamiya TCS tyres would mean you would have a tyre that works well and will fit just about every car on the market.
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 04:42 PM   #1210
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Can Ride wheels be used for f104 and Bridgestone tires?

edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 05:05 PM   #1211
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,634
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
Can Ride wheels be used for f104 and Bridgestone tires?

Avoid them, the dont fit the tires that work or the F104 correctly.
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:20 PM   #1212
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

I ran HPI tires on the Ride rims on my F1R (F104 front end) just fine. The only real issue with them is if you need a low ride height for carpet. On a banked asphalt track we run 4.5mm to 5mm and I had no problem making that ride height.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 06:01 AM   #1213
Tech Adept
 
jedx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: ACT, Australia
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,

New F104v2 owner here (and relatively new to RC altogether).

Sorry if this has been spoken about before, I had a quick look and couldnt find anything.

But I am trying to run my 21.5T Speed Passion V3 motors in my new F104v2 (with the full blue alloy motor box) and the 3 Brushless wire connectors on that plug into the back of my motor foul on the alloy motor mount and would short.

Is this motor simply not compatible with the F104v2 or am I doing something wrong?

Is it time to get a Reedy Sonic for example that has the tabs on top of the motor to solder onto.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Regards,
Justin.
__________________
XRAY T4'16 Carbon | T4'16 Alloy | X1 | X12'16 | XB4 4WD | XB4 2WD

Xray | KO PROPO | Nosram | PROTOform | Proline
jedx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 08:23 AM   #1214
TRG
Tech Initiate
 
TRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Club:- LCRCCC ;
Posts: 43
Default SP V3 21.5t

Quote:
Originally Posted by jedx View Post
Hi Guys,

New F104v2 owner here (and relatively new to RC altogether).

Sorry if this has been spoken about before, I had a quick look and couldnt find anything.

But I am trying to run my 21.5T Speed Passion V3 motors in my new F104v2 (with the full blue alloy motor box) and the 3 Brushless wire connectors on that plug into the back of my motor foul on the alloy motor mount and would short.

Is this motor simply not compatible with the F104v2 or am I doing something wrong?

Is it time to get a Reedy Sonic for example that has the tabs on top of the motor to solder onto.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Regards,
Justin.
Hi Justin

I'm was running the same motor on the weekend. It does fit. You'll need to be tidy with your soldering, and I'm not using the motor plate (BA9 in the manual) between the motor and motor mount. I hope the pic help. Sorry I haven't cleaned the car yet.
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya F104 Version 2-img_0805.jpg   Tamiya F104 Version 2-img_0806.jpg  
__________________
TrevorG
-----------------------------------------------------------
OnRoad - TRF417V5; TRF417X; F104V2; M05 Pro;
OffRoad - TRF201
Drift - TRF415MS; TB Evolution III (Surikarn Limited)
TRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:03 AM   #1215
Tech Adept
 
jedx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: ACT, Australia
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for your help Trevor! (and pics)

All I needed was news it was possible, just invested the time doing neat solders and heat shrinking them, got it to work.... It's tight, but it fits.
__________________
XRAY T4'16 Carbon | T4'16 Alloy | X1 | X12'16 | XB4 4WD | XB4 2WD

Xray | KO PROPO | Nosram | PROTOform | Proline
jedx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya F104 Pro! NT Electric On-Road 9319 05-03-2016 07:22 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:31 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0