R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2013, 07:30 PM   #856
Tech Master
 
Jerz616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.juarez View Post
Ahhh. I did a horrible job with the pits and tamiya rubber wheels, let alone on foam wheels with no lip.

Ever seen any tire like in pics on exotek link I posted?
The pits are not meant to be used on the Tamiya rubber rims. If you do try you need to cut the outer ridge off. Glueing them to the foam rims is a piece of cake. I have to glue my VTA wheels and those can be a pain. The Pits on the foam wheel just slide in very easy.
__________________
Ryan Gracey

XRAY T4'14/ORCA VXX/ORCA TX 5.0
XRAY XB8'14
Jerz616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:43 AM   #857
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerz616 View Post
TQ racing has Pit groved tires. They are not mounted, but easy to mount on the tamiya foam rims.
The grooved tires fit on the F104 Ride rims. They were originally F201 tires. They will not fit on the F104 Tamiya rubber rims as the ID of the grooved tire is much smaller than the OD of the rims.
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 04:24 AM   #858
Tech Regular
 
BigRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cbus,Ohio USA
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BigRon
Default

Hello all,

I'm in the process of building a V2 with the McClaren Mercedes-Benz MP4 body. Is there any benefit to using the optional body pods? Also what is the most common gear combo for the Reedy 21.5 being run?

Thanks
__________________
*Serpent America*
SRX-2 ~ F110 SF2 ~ S100 LTR
Desoto Racing ~ KO Propo
BigRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:41 PM   #859
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,400
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRon View Post
Hello all,

I'm in the process of building a V2 with the McClaren Mercedes-Benz MP4 body. Is there any benefit to using the optional body pods?
Yes the car does not look ugly
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 03:48 PM   #860
Tech Regular
 
GryphunRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Dealing with the optional side pontoons is a pain initially but a much better result in the end. Dont skimp-out, your F1 body will have nicer lines in the end.
__________________
In the Stable: VBC Flash-04, Tamiya F104X1, Tamiya F104v2
GryphunRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 05:51 PM   #861
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRon View Post
Hello all,

I'm in the process of building a V2 with the McClaren Mercedes-Benz MP4 body. Is there any benefit to using the optional body pods? Also what is the most common gear combo for the Reedy 21.5 being run?

Thanks
I am currently running 93/35 with 35 timing.
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 09:20 PM   #862
Tech Master
 
Mr.juarez's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GryphunRacing View Post
Dealing with the optional side pontoons is a pain initially but a much better result in the end. Dont skimp-out, your F1 body will have nicer lines in the end.
I couldn't get myself to hack my first body maybe once its a little bit hack ill cut it. They sure look beautiful with the poontons and mirrors
__________________
TRF-417, KYOSHO SCR-SP
Mr.juarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:04 PM   #863
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

Today was the first race of the belgian tamiyacup races, along with some dutch and japanese drivers we had a great and a super fast day.
My verII was one of the fastest on the track, our track is 30mx12m big and my fastest laptime was faster then some super fast modified drivers.
The car went super quick and was a plesure to drive it, one of the best cars i've been driving for the last few years (along with the TA06 PRO).
My both wining cars for today, very happy now
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:59 PM   #864
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Congrats! How many drivers?
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:06 PM   #865
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
Congrats! How many drivers?
Thx.
There were 20 F1 drivers at the start, an A and B main.
Due to a small crash of a slower driver i wasn't able to TQ today and had to start in 3rd position and managed to win 2 finales (allthough i also should have won all 3 finals, but again due some crashes with slower drivers i wasn't able to win to first final)
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:45 PM   #866
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by addicted2blue View Post
Thx.
There were 20 F1 drivers at the start, an A and B main.
Due to a small crash of a slower driver i wasn't able to TQ today and had to start in 3rd position and managed to win 2 finales (allthough i also should have won all 3 finals, but again due some crashes with slower drivers i wasn't able to win to first final)
nice job...

any change you can post your setup sheet...

what is the motor you using and is it on carpet?

thanks
__________________
Tamiya M05 Pro, Spec-R R1, F104 Pro V2 and AE FT SC10 4x4
Hobbywing V3, Just Stock and SCRT Pro Sanwa MT4
k4mp4q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:19 PM   #867
Tech Adept
 
TCS_FUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 134
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What oil are you guys/gals using for the roll shock?

I'm indoors on carpet with rubber tires. I tired 70wt but it still seems soft. I'm using the kit side springs as well.
TCS_FUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:47 PM   #868
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,539
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCS_FUN View Post
What oil are you guys/gals using for the roll shock?

I'm indoors on carpet with rubber tires. I tired 70wt but it still seems soft. I'm using the kit side springs as well.
10K to 30K
Heavier = more rotation, more tendency to traction roll with high grip conditions
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:49 AM   #869
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k4mp4q View Post
nice job...

any change you can post your setup sheet...

what is the motor you using and is it on carpet?

thanks
I will try to post my setup here.
We did run on carpet with medium grip and we run our cars with a tamiya 18T sensorless brushless motor.
This motor is extremely powerfull, it has a hugh amount of torque.
The fastest laptime of myself yesterday was 12.163s, super fast modified guys with there 6.5T or lower motors don't go faster then 12.4s on a 30mx12m big indoor track.

Last edited by addicted2blue; 01-26-2013 at 11:39 AM.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 10:32 PM   #870
Tech Apprentice
 
pigeonfarmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 74
Default

While using the adjustable tamiya uprights, with spacers, the Ride pre-mounts won't fit on my front end. Anyone else have the same findings? I've got the correct spacing above the upright. The bottom of the kingpin hits the inner wheel.
__________________
Horizon Hobby
pigeonfarmboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya F104 Pro! NT Electric On-Road 9319 05-03-2016 07:22 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0