R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-19-2012, 02:33 PM   #706
Tech Rookie
 
Kappe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Padova - Italy
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Black-Hard
Gold-Med
Silver-Soft
Pink-Extra Soft
Same combination as front springs, but with an extra soft spring
Thanks RedBullFiXX!
But... Why Tamiya writes on Pitch Damper and Roll Spring Set Soft, Medium, Hard and Super Hard?????

I don't understund....
Kappe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 07:35 PM   #707
Tech Master
 
Autocratic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autocratic View Post
Is there any to make this car 200mm with the kit wheels?
Anyone? I have the RSector kit at 190 now, but would like to move out more but don't want to buy different wheels.
__________________
Thanks to my sponsors for 2015!
XFactory RC | Proline Racing | Fantom Racing | Avid RC | Speed Passion USA | Factory1 | Hy-Traction Juice | Mike's Hobby Shop
Autocratic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:05 PM   #708
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,400
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autocratic View Post
Anyone? I have the RSector kit at 190 now, but would like to move out more but don't want to buy different wheels.
The wheels have the offset which determines the width of the car. You could space the axle, but then your pinion might not reach.

So nobody has a turn key solution for you...you might have to get creative.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:44 PM   #709
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: invercargill,new zealand
Posts: 30
Default

does anybody know where to get f104 foams in 32rear and 35 compounds online???
tamiya-2012nz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 06:18 AM   #710
Tech Regular
 
Mechintosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 329
Default Set-Up Stations

Does anyone use a setup sation for the F104v2? If so, is it the Pan Car type or touring car type? I have a touring car one now, picking up a Pan Car station for my 1/12th car, just curious which is best to use with the F1 cars.
__________________
Xray T4-14,T4-15, X1
Pro Mini Truggy Mid Motor Mafia Xfactory
Serpent SRX4, 811 TE-e
Kyosho RB6, MP9e TKi
Mechintosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:51 AM   #711
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechintosh View Post
Does anyone use a setup sation for the F104v2? If so, is it the Pan Car type or touring car type? I have a touring car one now, picking up a Pan Car station for my 1/12th car, just curious which is best to use with the F1 cars.
I was curious also and since I have both the Hudy TC and Pan car stations I thought I would try it.

To my surprise the 1/10 TC car station worked perfectly. The Pan Car one is set up to use different axles and wouldn't work.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 10:53 AM   #712
Tech Regular
 
Mechintosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 329
Default

My TC version seemed to work but I was concerned over the height of the front versus the rear while adjusting the settings. I didn't even think of putting screwing up the rear axles onto the gauges.
__________________
Xray T4-14,T4-15, X1
Pro Mini Truggy Mid Motor Mafia Xfactory
Serpent SRX4, 811 TE-e
Kyosho RB6, MP9e TKi
Mechintosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 11:07 AM   #713
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechintosh View Post
My TC version seemed to work but I was concerned over the height of the front versus the rear while adjusting the settings. I didn't even think of putting screwing up the rear axles onto the gauges.
The only thing I used the set up station for was the steering centering, toe and throw. The camber is set by the camber plate and caster is set by the kingpin holders so I didn't even look at those.

As far as the height of the rear goes, just leave the tires on.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 11:44 AM   #714
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lake Forest, Ca
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
I was curious also and since I have both the Hudy TC and Pan car stations I thought I would try it.

To my surprise the 1/10 TC car station worked perfectly. The Pan Car one is set up to use different axles and wouldn't work.
Is it possible to get the Hudy pan car setup system to work at all?
r450racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 12:25 PM   #715
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r450racer View Post
Is it possible to get the Hudy pan car setup system to work at all?
If you can get 5x10 bearing holders to fit in the Hudy uprights then it could work. However it's set up to use the 1/8x5/16x9/64" flanged bearings of 1/12 and 1/10 pan cars front axles at the correct height.

I have both so it didn't cost anything to try it. The station isn't as useful with the F104 as it is for pan cars since the camber is set by which holes and side you use on the camber plate.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:13 PM   #716
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 977
Default

A setup station is pretty pointless for an F104. The only setting that needs measurement is toe in, everything else has fixed links that can't be adjusted and ride height is changed by moving/replacing spacers.
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:28 PM   #717
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry.sc View Post
A setup station is pretty pointless for an F104. The only setting that needs measurement is toe in, everything else has fixed links that can't be adjusted and ride height is changed by moving/replacing spacers.
I guess you must have missed the part in my comment that I used it for setting the STEERING center, toe and throw.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:43 PM   #718
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Send a message via ICQ to JiuHaWong
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry.sc View Post
A setup station is pretty pointless for an F104. The only setting that needs measurement is toe in, everything else has fixed links that can't be adjusted and ride height is changed by moving/replacing spacers.
Unless you have the Exotek Front end, and you want to make sure your adjustments are the same side to side.
JiuHaWong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:49 PM   #719
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,770
Default

even for steering, straight on the setup doesn't always mean the car will go straight on the track due to slight variation in tires diameter, ride height inserts etc. I adjust my radio it so it goes down the straight, straight, simple and cheap
I adjust my exotek upper arms using digital calipers so they are equal
__________________
A800 HW XR10Pro HW G2 4.5T|||B5MFL HW StockSpec Team Powers 17.5|||VTA: Awesomatix EVO 1.1 Orca VX3 |||F1:
Xray X1 2016, HW V3.1, Ride XR Tires, D4SS 21.5|||Futaba 4PX|||iCharger 308Duo
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:33 AM   #720
Tech Regular
 
Mechintosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 329
Default

My car was turning great going right, but turning left the car would spin out. I thought that the tweak was out a bit. Check it and all seemed to be OK. I thought I would adjust the servo throw, EPA, to be equal. Using a setup station for a touring car this is easy to do, I was curious if I could do the same for the F1. Since I have both a touring car version and a Pan Car one, I wanted to know what the concensus was on their use with a F1. I realize that their are limitations on what can be adjusted on the F1. I was concerned with setting toe and servo throw. I would not suggest the expense of purchasing one if a fellow racer didn't have one as it not needed but since I already have one, it did help fine tune the toe and throw.
I made the adjustments and volia, car turns equal now.
__________________
Xray T4-14,T4-15, X1
Pro Mini Truggy Mid Motor Mafia Xfactory
Serpent SRX4, 811 TE-e
Kyosho RB6, MP9e TKi
Mechintosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya F104 Pro! NT Electric On-Road 9319 05-03-2016 07:22 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:50 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0