R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2014, 09:52 AM   #1651
Tech Addict
 
Cadman1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 548
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by libra26th View Post
Excuse me I have a question. I have servo savox sc1258tg. Can I use it without cutting servo mount.
You have to cut the mount for it to fit, no choice...
__________________
Awesomatix A700L
Tamiya Exotek F104v2
HPI Vorza HP 2.4ghz
1990s Futaba FXT stadium racer - Mint condition!
And a bunch of other RC kits for me and my kids...yeah...my kids...
Cadman1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 04:43 PM   #1652
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 135
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rnelias Send a message via Skype™ to rnelias
Default

...

Last edited by rnelias; 06-05-2014 at 04:48 AM.
rnelias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 06:56 PM   #1653
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 566
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadman1981 View Post
You have to cut the mount for it to fit, no choice...
You don't need to cut the tabs if mounting the servo horizontally
J-PaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 08:48 PM   #1654
Tech Addict
 
Cadman1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 548
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-PaP View Post
You don't need to cut the tabs if mounting the servo horizontally
When i put my servo horizontally, the tabs were in the way of the servo arm and ballstuds
__________________
Awesomatix A700L
Tamiya Exotek F104v2
HPI Vorza HP 2.4ghz
1990s Futaba FXT stadium racer - Mint condition!
And a bunch of other RC kits for me and my kids...yeah...my kids...
Cadman1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 09:34 PM   #1655
Tech Initiate
 
kzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: nor-cal
Posts: 36
Default F-1 model id

i have an older F-1 rc car . but it is huge . how do i tell what model it is ?

pic attached . the car is 4' long .......... thanks .. steve
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya F104 Version 2-race-car2.jpg  
kzsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 09:44 PM   #1656
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 566
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadman1981 View Post
When i put my servo horizontally, the tabs were in the way of the servo arm and ballstuds
Wasn't an issue when using the savox 1251mg. I do remember using some spacers on the steering hub to make the arms sit horizontal.
J-PaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 01:44 PM   #1657
Tech Regular
 
bagged69chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Visalia CA
Posts: 396
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

If anyone is interested. I have a very nice f104v2 for sale

For sale link: Tamiya F104 V2 *Pristine* LOTS of PICTURES
__________________
Nick George

www.localrcracing.com
bagged69chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 11:12 AM   #1658
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 210
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Looking for a good baseline setup for a loose asphalt track any input will help

Thanks Travis
Trav515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 10:40 PM   #1659
Tech Fanatic
 
Photocycler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 973
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Just bought the F104 v2 kit, wondering what servo would be good for a new F1 driver? Would prefer to not spend a lot of $$
Photocycler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 11:56 PM   #1660
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,137
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Go for the Savox SC-1252MG; good price and perfect size.


@ Trav515: try silver springs in front and the soft pig skin coloured springs in the rear for the big damper and the side springs together with the kit oil. If its still loose try harder springs in front and tire additive for the rear tires only.
__________________
AE / Reedy / RSD
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 10:40 PM   #1661
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kzsteve View Post
i have an older F-1 rc car . but it is huge . how do i tell what model it is ?

pic attached . the car is 4' long .......... thanks .. steve
Do a search for 1/5 scale f1 or post a picture of the chassis
ic-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 03:31 PM   #1662
Tech Master
 
Fran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 1,410
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default

I just bought and built a F104V2 last month and I'm getting back into r/c racing after a 4 year absence. What a blast! I've gone back and read all 110 previous pages to read up on my new ride, and I have a few questions that I hope haven't been answered. Our club, The Roadrunners have a outside asphalt track, and the grip is medium plus, as long as the wind doesn't blow the dirt from the farm fields that surround the track.
When installing the thrust bearing in the diff, is it run dry, or do you put a little grease in it? When installing the optional metal uprights, I know to push them up against the spacers and tighten set screw. What front droop do I then want to set for our track? I put the optional TRF damper in the rear and spaced the piston shaft for 3.5 rear droop.
From what I've read, the less the traction, the "softer you make your car", right?
We've got some really good racers that come up and race with us, and they've been helpful. It's just 2 weeks between races, and I want to be ready on race day (next Sunday) Many thanks to those who support this thread and contribute!
Fran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 01:30 AM   #1663
Tech Fanatic
 
Photocycler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 973
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

QUestion: Is the stock spur gear that comes with the kit a 64p? If not can I replace it with any spur gear or do I need an adapter or special spur
Photocycler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 02:06 AM   #1664
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fran View Post
I just bought and built a F104V2 last month and I'm getting back into r/c racing after a 4 year absence. What a blast! I've gone back and read all 110 previous pages to read up on my new ride, and I have a few questions that I hope haven't been answered. Our club, The Roadrunners have a outside asphalt track, and the grip is medium plus, as long as the wind doesn't blow the dirt from the farm fields that surround the track.
When installing the thrust bearing in the diff, is it run dry, or do you put a little grease in it? When installing the optional metal uprights, I know to push them up against the spacers and tighten set screw. What front droop do I then want to set for our track? I put the optional TRF damper in the rear and spaced the piston shaft for 3.5 rear droop.
From what I've read, the less the traction, the "softer you make your car", right?
We've got some really good racers that come up and race with us, and they've been helpful. It's just 2 weeks between races, and I want to be ready on race day (next Sunday) Many thanks to those who support this thread and contribute!
The thrust bearing needs some grease.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photocycler View Post
QUestion: Is the stock spur gear that comes with the kit a 64p? If not can I replace it with any spur gear or do I need an adapter or special spur
Tamiya typically has a metric pitch spur. You need a small adapter ring for 64p spur gears. So, either run Tamiya-size spurs and pinions, or run a 64p spur and pinion with an adapter.
__________________
Tamiya TRF101, Corally F1 SL, 3Racing F1-09, Kyosho Mini-Z MR03, Corally SP12M, Tamiya SuperShot, Kyosho Optima Pro, Duratrax Vendetta.
Home track: http://www.amcaracing.nl

Last edited by ijdod; 07-19-2014 at 04:02 AM.
ijdod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 04:56 AM   #1665
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photocycler View Post
QUestion: Is the stock spur gear that comes with the kit a 64p? If not can I replace it with any spur gear or do I need an adapter or special spur
The kit spur is 0.4 module, not 64dp. To fit a standard spur gear you need the Tamiya spur gear spacer http://www.tqrcracing.com/shop/produ...w.asp?p_id=881
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya F104 Pro! NT Electric On-Road 9319 05-03-2016 07:22 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:36 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0