R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 07-04-2002, 12:26 PM   #1
Tech Elite
Default HPI Sport2 - die hard, mega hard !

Last monday, my Sport2 celebrated it's 2 year birthday. Much has happen in these two years, most of the time, it's been fun and joy. But it has also been much work with experimenting with the setup, then more experimenting, and final, even more experimenting. This part has sometimes been hard and frustrating, but it has definately been instructive.

Okay, this will probably be a long post, but I believe that most newcomers can learn something from it. Maybe some of the oldtimers too.

The scene: I'm a casual club level driver, which regularly race. I'm a kind of budget guy, that want to get the most for my money. Meaning that most of the time, I'm going for best buy / value for money. In a few cases, I've bought the best stuff avaible. I'm driving once per week and do take brakes sometimes. All in all I drive around 40-45 evenings pr. year.

Now, yeaterday, I tried a Pro3 and the Pro3 driver tried my car. We are both at our clubs top 5 and drive almost even. I didnt liked the way his car was setup, way too much understeering for my taste/style. But the other guy, it was amazing to see/hear his reaction. After less than one lap, he said: What the h... have you done to make the Sport2 drive that good? Some laps later, he said: I cant get it, why do you want another car, this Sport2 goes like a dream? Well, I was happy and proud.

My own conclusion is that by now, I have reached a point, where I can concentrate on driving.

Maybe you've found my headline a little provocative. But that's not the point, the point is, that most of todays cars from wellknown producers, can be setup to drive really good.