R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2012, 03:34 PM   #106
Tech Adept
 
rcsuicide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 208
Default

Is there any place in the US where I can get one of these ARC R10 kits?
rcsuicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 02:04 AM   #107
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,978
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ariander View Post
Hi, I have rebuilt the shocks on the R10 a couple of times now, but Im having a hard time getting anything else than 100% rebound, and I also find it a bit hard to get even rebound between the shocks.
Does anyone have some advice for building this type of shock?
I only have earlier experience with the 3Racing Sakura Zero Shocks, witch your first put the bladder on top of the fluid, then screw down the upper part of the shock.

Any help would be appreciated
Agree, the first time i rebuilt them i put a vent hole in the platic top.
The bladders need to be full seated into the caps before you build them.
I put the caps partially on with the shock fully extended, and at the same time push in the shock shaft, and tighten the cap, letting excess oil escape from the std vent hole in the alloy ring.
Tighten fully and check the rebound, if still too much, at full extension loosen the cap, and push the shaft back in slowly, letting more oil escape from the vent.
I still couldnt get minimal rebound, but was far less with the vent in the cap.
I was in a rush, will try and devise a better method next time.
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 02:15 AM   #108
Tech Fanatic
 
Kail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe View Post
Agree, the first time i rebuilt them i put a vent hole in the platic top.
The bladders need to be full seated into the caps before you build them.
I put the caps partially on with the shock fully extended, and at the same time push in the shock shaft, and tighten the cap, letting excess oil escape from the std vent hole in the alloy ring.
Tighten fully and check the rebound, if still too much, at full extension loosen the cap, and push the shaft back in slowly, letting more oil escape from the vent.
I still couldnt get minimal rebound, but was far less with the vent in the cap.
I was in a rush, will try and devise a better method next time.
Drilling the upper cap helps a lot. I also tried to tighten slowly but as smoothly as possible so as to allow the oil to flow out from the vent. Doing so allowed me to get minimal rebound.

Another thing I did to the shocks was drilling each piston hole to 1.5mm instead of the stock 1mm. That does not really affect the rebound but rather something I did so as to allow my damping to be lighter.
Kail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 03:13 AM   #109
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,978
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kail View Post
Drilling the upper cap helps a lot. I also tried to tighten slowly but as smoothly as possible so as to allow the oil to flow out from the vent. Doing so allowed me to get minimal rebound.

Another thing I did to the shocks was drilling each piston hole to 1.5mm instead of the stock 1mm. That does not really affect the rebound but rather something I did so as to allow my damping to be lighter.
1.5mm is a massive jump.
The associated guys often use a 3 hole 1.0 mm piston, and drill one hole to 1.5mm.
Most shocks are between 1.0 and 1.2mm, with the most common being 1.1mm but this is generally a difficult drill bit size to get hold of.

The kit 3 x 1.0mm and kit 500wt oil ends up with quite a heavy dampening, kit pistons and 350-400 oil feels quite nice.

I have not drilled my pistons to 1.1 yet.
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 03:19 AM   #110
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 5
Default

Besercoe & Kail: Thanks! Ill try your advice.
Im a bit sceptical of drilling the top cap, although i have never tried it. Ill give it a shot when I get a extra set of shocks.

I see xray have a method in the manual of setting the rebound, like this:
Attached Thumbnails
Team Titan ARC R10 190mm EP Touring Car-xray-shocks-rebound.jpg  
ariander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 03:41 AM   #111
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,978
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ariander View Post
Besercoe & Kail: Thanks! Ill try your advice.
Im a bit sceptical of drilling the top cap, although i have never tried it. Ill give it a shot when I get a extra set of shocks.

I see xray have a method in the manual of setting the rebound, like this:
I have done it that way before, just be careful to not pull the shaft out once you have pushed it in with the end cap loose, this will dray ainr into the shock.

Dont be afraid to drill the shock cap, vented caps are basically the standard nowadays in all brands.
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 04:15 AM   #112
Tech Fanatic
 
Kail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe View Post
1.5mm is a massive jump.
The associated guys often use a 3 hole 1.0 mm piston, and drill one hole to 1.5mm.
Most shocks are between 1.0 and 1.2mm, with the most common being 1.1mm but this is generally a difficult drill bit size to get hold of.

The kit 3 x 1.0mm and kit 500wt oil ends up with quite a heavy dampening, kit pistons and 350-400 oil feels quite nice.

I have not drilled my pistons to 1.1 yet.
Yup I was a bit skeptical too at first.
However, upon testing, the 1.5mm pistons with 500 wt oil feels good
Kail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 10:44 AM   #113
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,856
Default

Just had my first run with the R10. Very happy.

First time ever running 17.5 blinky so I don't have a marker to compare to, but the balance of the car on kit settings was very, very good, a little tail happy when the track was cool and green in practice, but once the temps rose a bit the car was very balanced, very precise, and entirely neutral.

Tried a front gear diff with 500K oil in it in later rounds, this took some of the snappiness away from the initial turn-in and corner exit, just the way I like it. I've got the flex chassis set to hand but felt no need to try it.

It helps that conditions were good by UK standards; 25C ambient, track (www.cotswoldmodelcarclub.co.uk) pushing 40C as the day went on, so the BRCA Sorex 32RY control tyres were working well.

The build was very good, only issues were a burr on a spool outdrive which stopped the bearing going on correctly, and a bad batch of button-head screws with undersized hexes - cheap and easy to replace. No issues with the car on the day.

Only disappointment is that it is a shade heavy - 1440gm with regular weight Blitz XFR shell and fairly average electrics (Team Torke 6500 LiPO, HW Extreme Stock ESC, Futaba S9550 servo, Futaba R133F receiver, HPI Flux Pro motor). BRCA limit is 1350gm. Any tips on getting the weight down other than running a shorty LiPo? The car is very well balanced with these electrics, L/R within about 15gm, corner weights very even with no additional tweaking of the shock collars, would like to leave it like that!
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 10:49 AM   #114
Tech Elite
 
wwddww34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,560
Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcsuicide View Post
Is there any place in the US where I can get one of these ARC R10 kits?
From what I can search on Google, you can't buy the ARC R10 kit in the USA. If you want one you will have to order it through a distributor in Europe.
wwddww34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 04:10 PM   #115
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,856
Default

If anyone is interested, I have blogged the build of my R10...
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 04:22 PM   #116
Tech Rookie
 
jp_666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Default

thank you +1
jp_666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:48 AM   #117
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 5
Default Spring rates and suspension bracket combination chart

This was posted on the ARC driver group on Facebook.
Maybe someone here will find it useful.
Attached Thumbnails
Team Titan ARC R10 190mm EP Touring Car-arc-r10-spring-rates.jpg   Team Titan ARC R10 190mm EP Touring Car-arc-r10-suspension-bracket-chart.png  
ariander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:53 AM   #118
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,856
Default

Do you have a link to the ARC driver group? It's the second time I've seen it mentioned but I can't find it on Facebook.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:20 AM   #119
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
Do you have a link to the ARC driver group? It's the second time I've seen it mentioned but I can't find it on Facebook.
Its a secret group - dont know why. Jones Chu invited me. Maybe you can contact him.
ariander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 05:01 AM   #120
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Shorty pack

Have reset up my car to use shorty packs
The car in its last set up was a little fat but now well have a look







With a different tyres and body comes in just over 1380g the car has a better balance than before, was a little heavy on the electronics side.
The car feels a lot more stable to. The car has improved just need for the driver to do the same
Madmaxaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
arc r10, rc-world, team titan


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:08 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net