R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2014, 03:55 AM   #8326
Suspended
 
rcpaintinpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PALMBAY FLORIDA
Posts: 2,739
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Thumbs up Game changer

Coming soon from GForce is the Rev Limiter module to limit the maximum RPM of electric brushless motors. Looped between the motor, controller and receiver the device limits the maximum RPM of sensored brushless motors in four steps between 10,000 and 17,000 RPM. Micro switches and status LEDs help to check the setting, making the module ideal to equalise the performance of brushless motors for entry level and stock racing classes. The 2S LiPo-compatible Rev Limiter comes in a lightweight case, it measures 22x15x10mm and comes pre-wired with universal connectors and including a sensor wire.
Attached Thumbnails
U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing Part 2-image.jpg  
__________________
TEAM ARC USA --- TEAM POWERS USA ---- TEAM VALKARIA RC ----
rcpaintinpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 07:18 AM   #8327
Tech Fanatic
 
Rodarbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Rodarbal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpaintinpete View Post
Coming soon from GForce is the Rev Limiter module to limit the maximum RPM of electric brushless motors. Looped between the motor, controller and receiver the device limits the maximum RPM of sensored brushless motors in four steps between 10,000 and 17,000 RPM. Micro switches and status LEDs help to check the setting, making the module ideal to equalise the performance of brushless motors for entry level and stock racing classes. The 2S LiPo-compatible Rev Limiter comes in a lightweight case, it measures 22x15x10mm and comes pre-wired with universal connectors and including a sensor wire.
Veddddy interesting.... I wonder if the Tamiya TCS Mini guys know about this little thing yet.
__________________
RJ Labrador
On Road: ABC, Tamiya & XRay
Off Road: Losi, Mugen, RC4wd & XRay
Rodarbal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 08:05 AM   #8328
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,422
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

I think this would be a great thing for a "Novice/sportsman" VTA or TC class. But I definately would not want it as part of the current VTA class.

However this could be the crack in the door for which all that want an open motor in USVTA. Because with that little gem added into the mix... well I think you get the idea.

My question is how does it work? Does it limit voltage, or does it cut throttle input at a set RPM. If it limits voltage, then that will affect acceration and thats not good. If it cuts throttle input back, thats nots so bad. But again for the time being USVTA is doing great the way it is. This thing would be just another added cost.
__________________
Tamiya EVO 6 with EXOSIX conversion
Tamiya TA07
tamiya box stock Mini (M05)
SMC - Motiv motors - Savox - Spectrum - Exotek.
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 08:09 AM   #8329
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indianapolis give or take...
Posts: 659
Default

Here ya go: You can run the Novak motor without a rev limiter or you can run any other 25.5 with the rev limited set to x rpm...

Of course, x would be below Novaks max.
.crispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 08:27 AM   #8330
Tech Regular
 
scirocco14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theproffesor View Post
I think this would be a great thing for a "Novice/sportsman" VTA or TC class. But I definately would not want it as part of the current VTA class.

However this could be the crack in the door for which all that want an open motor in USVTA. Because with that little gem added into the mix... well I think you get the idea.

My question is how does it work? Does it limit voltage, or does it cut throttle input at a set RPM. If it limits voltage, then that will affect acceration and thats not good. If it cuts throttle input back, thats nots so bad. But again for the time being USVTA is doing great the way it is. This thing would be just another added cost.
Then the "motor of the week" race will focus on torque at the max RPM limit.

If you add an FDR limit to the RPM limiter, then it would work.

But the same guys will still win; they're better at setting up their cars and driving.
Mark
__________________
Mark C. USVTA #115 TC4 & TC5, USGT #115 Xray T4 '13
USVTA-F1 #115 F1R & F1R3
Bush River RC, The RUG at King, Ho B Max Raceway
scirocco14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 09:03 AM   #8331
Tech Fanatic
 
Rodarbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Rodarbal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scirocco14 View Post
But the same guys will still win; they're better at setting up their cars and driving.
Amen.

My letter to Santa: Please bring me that setup station I've been wanting for the past year along with that bag of skill I desperately need.
__________________
RJ Labrador
On Road: ABC, Tamiya & XRay
Off Road: Losi, Mugen, RC4wd & XRay
Rodarbal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 09:15 AM   #8332
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 148
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scirocco14 View Post
If you add an FDR limit to the RPM limiter, then it would work.
Then people would have to learn how to setup and drive a car ..... nah lets just keep trying to slow them down to the speed of paint drying.
Robbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 11:26 AM   #8333
Tech Elite
 
British Menace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,224
Default first VTA race.

Hey,...

I just wanted to say I had a great day yesterday running VTA for the first time! Had an absolute blast!
Took my old MI4LP up to Makokuda, Iowa. Nice club. Nice track and nice people. Was nice to just go and have fun.
Thanks to all there (Fasttracksrc)

Had some trouble getting the car to the min' weight of 1550g ! Managed it by adding an 150g plate to the chassis.
Great fun driving these cars.

Regards
BM
__________________
So enjoying building cars I sometimes forget to save some "man-time" to race them!?
British Menace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 03:30 PM   #8334
Tech Regular
 
mojo 309's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinios
Posts: 319
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

where in makokuda iowa is vta racing being held at I to live in the qca but didn't know of any carpet track in makokuda
__________________
Schumacher MI3.5 us/vta,
Spektrum.
Speed Passion ESC.
Savox Servo's.
Midwest Kustomz.
mojo 309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 05:25 PM   #8335
Tech Elite
 
British Menace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,224
Default

They run at the old fairgrounds just off highway 20. About an hour or so from QC. The magority who turned up Sunday ran VTA and the other similar class ....USGT is it? Excuse my ignorance of electric racing, not done it very often at all!!
The next race is in two weeks time...... They also run Oval on Wednesdays. They are talking about having an on road day on 1st of the 1st too.
I wont be able to go to either of them unfortunately.

Regards
BM
__________________
So enjoying building cars I sometimes forget to save some "man-time" to race them!?
British Menace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 09:03 PM   #8336
Tech Regular
 
mojo 309's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinios
Posts: 319
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

british menace I believe I know you we raced at twin bridges together we both run Schumacher's along with chris and Bernie. twin bridges back in the good ole days of qc racing I am sorry its long sence past.
__________________
Schumacher MI3.5 us/vta,
Spektrum.
Speed Passion ESC.
Savox Servo's.
Midwest Kustomz.
mojo 309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 02:20 AM   #8337
Tech Addict
 
alloyslash's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I have the GForce Motor Analyzer. While testing all of my motors I remembered I had an old 25.5 Ballistic that I used to run USVTA with. It was always lacking compared to my son's ( and most other ) motors at Thunder. Upon checking the total timing I found that with the bell set at 45* the meter showed an actual timing of 39*. It took moving the bell sticker all the way past the notch to achieve 45*. I finally figured out why it alwats took a higher FDR for me to keep up.
__________________
Pemberton SJ27 / Tekin RS / Cooper D4SS 17.5 / EAM 5000 / Futaba 9551 / 17.5lm
Pemberton SJ27 / Tekin RS / Bullet 13.5 / EAM 5000 / Savox 1251 / 13.5 Pro EDM

TLR22 / Tekin RS / D4SS 6.5 / Futaba 9551 / ORCA 6000 /SCMOD,
F14 carpet Oval Chassis too!
alloyslash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 11:37 AM   #8338
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 31
Default

BM........You were not racing in makokuda iowa (Maquoketa, IA), you were in Dubuque, IA.
But I am glad you had fun and hope to see you there in the future.

http://www.dfrcr.com/
user1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 11:48 AM   #8339
Tech Elite
 
British Menace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
BM........You were not racing in makokuda iowa (Maquoketa, IA), you were in Dubuque, IA.
But I am glad you had fun and hope to see you there in the future.

http://www.dfrcr.com/
oh crap. Your right. Getting my towns mixed up. Sorry. Poor spelling too ....

Anyway. I do hope to come down again in the new year.

Regards
BM
__________________
So enjoying building cars I sometimes forget to save some "man-time" to race them!?
British Menace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 11:51 AM   #8340
Tech Elite
 
British Menace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojo 309 View Post
british menace I believe I know you we raced at twin bridges together we both run Schumacher's along with chris and Bernie. twin bridges back in the good ole days of qc racing I am sorry its long sence past.
Sorry. Not sure who you are but I do remember racing at Twin Bridges some time ago.
Chris still has his Schumacher too.

I guess I got the town wrong. It was in Dubuque, IA. At the Fairgrounds there.

Regards
BM
__________________
So enjoying building cars I sometimes forget to save some "man-time" to race them!?
British Menace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
U.S. Vintage Trans-Am [PICS & PAINT Discussion ONLY!!!] speedsterblade Electric On-Road 5821 11-21-2016 11:39 AM
TeamNovak (U.S Vintage Trans-Am) NovakTwo Electric On-Road 329 12-07-2013 08:48 PM
U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing squarehead Electric On-Road 14187 03-21-2012 02:43 PM
U.S. Vintage Trans Am Nationals: April 12th, 2008 squarehead Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 308 05-14-2008 08:56 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:30 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0