R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2014, 10:21 PM   #7231
Tech Champion
 
DARKSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nashville-Memphis
Posts: 7,670
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

hi
__________________
Myron "BATTMAN" Kinnard
Team Associated/Reedy Powered/PROTOform/RockStar Paint, LLC
THUNDER JAM IX Snowbirds Warm-up
January 21, 2017 Thunder RC Raceway
http://events.rcsignup.com/events/displayEvent.cfm?id=5313
DARKSIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 06:49 AM   #7232
Tech Elite
 
nashrcracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: LA - Lower Antioch
Posts: 4,849
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can i run my black diamond in usvta?
__________________
RC50 As you come into this world, something else is also born. You begin your life, and it begins a journey towards you. It moves slowly, but it never stops. Wherever you go, whatever path you take, it will follow never faster, never slower, always coming. You will run, it will walk. You will rest, it will not. One day, you will linger in the same place too long you will sit too still, or sleep too deep. And when, too late, you rise to go, you will notice a second shadow next to yours. Your life will then be over.
nashrcracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 08:20 AM   #7233
Tech Elite
 
mkiiina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 2,316
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashrcracer View Post
Can i run my black diamond in usvta?
Going to bet no on that as it can have timing added....
mkiiina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 10:07 AM   #7234
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,043
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashrcracer View Post
Can i run my black diamond in usvta?
Suuuuuurrrrrrreeeeee. No problem. We don't like dem stinky rules no how.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 10:08 AM   #7235
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,043
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkiiina View Post
Going to bet no on that as it can have timing added....
Don't take him seriously. He is just rustling the bushes to see what runs out.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 10:17 AM   #7236
Tech Elite
 
nf_ekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22 Acacia Avenue
Posts: 4,631
Trader Rating: 113 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopyrc View Post
Don't take him seriously. He is just rustling the bushes to see what runs out.
It was a fairly quick setting of the hook, I must say...
__________________
Up the Irons \m/

Powered by Hotwings, Rolling Rock, and the urge to race toy cars...
nf_ekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 10:34 AM   #7237
Tech Elite
 
CraigMBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valley of the Dirt, CA
Posts: 2,832
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

__________________
* Cee Lo Dizzle, the Secizzle * Red Bull * Team Homies * Pintura de Negro Mate * USVTA #152
CraigMBA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 03:26 PM   #7238
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,811
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashrcracer View Post
Can i run my black diamond in usvta?
I thought you already were. lol
fermanracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 07:37 PM   #7239
Tech Master
 
mikel33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,377
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashrcracer View Post
Can i run my black diamond in usvta?
As long as you don't connect it to the motor, have at it.
__________________
Michael Larson.

yeah. i know.
mikel33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 07:39 PM   #7240
Tech Master
 
mikel33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,377
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonesy112 View Post
The potential of that speedo is surprising. In my the car I ran at the 2014 ROAR carpet nats in 13.5 was the hobby wing justock. No fan, it was equipped as it was in my VTA car, it never faded or got soft and I ended up 6th in the A overall there. That speedo is plenty good for 25.5-13.5. Hard to argue with performance like that and a price tag under 60$
I was pretty sure that was what you used but I didn't want to say so and be wrong.
__________________
Michael Larson.

yeah. i know.

Last edited by mikel33; 05-24-2014 at 06:44 PM.
mikel33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 12:48 PM   #7241
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,709
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I'm already running a TC4 in VTA, but I decided to setup my spare TC4 for VTA to see if I could get the same performance/results. After doing a rebuild to make sure the car was good, I got a chance to race it last night/Friday. I'm happy to say that I turned the fastest lap in qualifying using a Parma Cuda and a 3 year old 5000 mah battery.

I will say that the Parma body is a bit tall, so I do need to tweak my setup a bit more, but overall it was a good night of racing VTA.

Here is a video of our race. 9 cars on this layout created challenging starts, but was fun once you got going. Fast laps for all the cars in the main ranged from 9.3-9.7 (Top 5 cars were all within a tenth on fast laps)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OZR5v...eNajpQ&index=5


+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
__________________
I'm currently racing VTA. Check here for rules/info: http://www.usvintagetransam.com/

Last edited by IndyRC_Racer; 05-24-2014 at 09:10 PM.
IndyRC_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 12:48 PM   #7242
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,709
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Oops, just saw the double post.

In response to the comment about imperial hardware below, you probably could build a TC4 using metric screws on 99% of the car. You can modify metric wheel nuts to work on the imperial threads on the stub axles.

The only place that you might have an issue is the mount mount heat sink that holds the motor cam in place. Also if you are using the aluminum upper shock mounts, you might have to switch out to the parts from a TC5/6. Finally if you are using the aluminum a-arms mounts you might have an issue as well.

Okay maybe it wouldn't be practical, but it might be possible.
__________________
I'm currently racing VTA. Check here for rules/info: http://www.usvintagetransam.com/

Last edited by IndyRC_Racer; 05-24-2014 at 09:09 PM.
IndyRC_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 07:39 PM   #7243
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,043
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

This might seem like an odd complaint to have about a car but I just don't like using the imperial wheel nuts.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 07:53 PM   #7244
Tech Elite
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,422
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

I concure. When I got back into on-road, I had soooooo much metric hardware, bearings and tools, I had to get a metric csr. That threw my personnal favorite Losi JRXS-R out the window along with the xxxs, and TC4. So I can some Pro-4's that were great, but parts were getting impossible to find. So thats how I ended up with a couple awesome VBC's.
__________________
Tamiya EVO 6 with EXOSIX conversion
Tamiya TA07
tamiya box stock Mini (M05)
SMC - Motiv motors - Savox - Spectrum - Exotek.
The brighter the picture, the darker the negative. USVTA member #112
theproffesor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 11:09 PM   #7245
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,043
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It's funny because I got out of my Yokomo SD, which was comparable to the TC4 in a lot of ways, but it seemed like I would enjoy something that would handle better and have a broader setup envelope. So I bought a Serpent S400. That lasted about a day since you couldn't get parts for it. So I moved back to the old Yokomo and ran it for several more years. I had to wait for parts to come from Japan, but at least I could get them. I've been wanting to pull the trigger on a new chassis but money has been so tight. So I am going to try to run the unsupported snake using Tamiya 417 and TA05 suspension components.

Wish me luck.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
U.S. Vintage Trans-Am [PICS & PAINT Discussion ONLY!!!] speedsterblade Electric On-Road 5821 11-21-2016 11:39 AM
TeamNovak (U.S Vintage Trans-Am) NovakTwo Electric On-Road 329 12-07-2013 08:48 PM
U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing squarehead Electric On-Road 14187 03-21-2012 02:43 PM
U.S. Vintage Trans Am Nationals: April 12th, 2008 squarehead Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 308 05-14-2008 08:56 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:01 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0