R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 01-11-2005, 07:38 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
Default (same thread in rookie zone) Setting up a car for vehicle dynamics research

Hi, everyone. Sorry to repost, but this forum seems to get more traffic than the rookie zone.

I am a mechanical engineering student and am specing some components for a car to be used in research at my university. I am totally new to RC cars and would like some advice. I know what I want to achieve, but having no experience with these motors, I do not know how much of a difference in performance I could expect to receive from different motors.

The car we are using is an HPI Super RS4. It's big, but it has to be because it will be loaded with some sensors (and an extra battery pack to power them) as well as a relatively large weight which may be adjusted to give us control of the location of the vehicle's center of gravity. The guys who used the old car last year complained that it accelerated too slowly. The new car will be just as big and heavy, so I need to improve its acceleration performance. Here's the old setup:
Trinity Midnight 2 27-turn motor (can't find torque numbers or dyno charts for it anywhere)
Sanyo 2400 6-cell Ni-Cad battery packs (2)
Futaba MC230CR ESC

I'm not sure what the output gear ratio is. I didn't have time to count the pinion teeth, although I imagine the spur gear is an 81 since that seems to be the most common size.