R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-25-2004, 04:52 PM   #1
Tech Elite
ChadCapece's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Orion V2 Question

I've been dyno testing my mod motors, and I have a question about efficiency. I have a Fantom Facts dyno, and with my Orion V2 12x1 motor. When I turn up the timing, the effency increases, up until about 24degrees. The efficiency went from 40percent an 0 to 65 percent at 18. Does this mean that the higher the efficiency is worse than a lower percentage?

Does anybody have a good starting setup for this motor?
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 05:01 PM   #2
Tech Master
raving-monkey's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey

i heard the fantom dyno can give dodgey readings, so i wouldn't trust it that much...

i haven't used a dyno my self (but looking to get a basic one, like the much more motor master etc)
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 05:59 PM   #3
Tech Elite
ChadCapece's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315

The Fantom can't compare numbers with the CE or Robo dyno's, but the numbers are supposed to be consistant between other fantoms.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 06:11 PM   #4
Tech Adept
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 195

Its hard to say a lot changes in a motor from run to run. I wont ever test any mod on a dyno becasue you can never get accurate readings from one run to the next. There are too many things that happen from one run to the next especially if you let it sit and cool like you should. Ideally you should cut and re-brush from one run to the next but that in itself can change a motor even if everything is the same.

Generally what happens is that from the first run up the 3 on a normal Ti-based motor is the numbers keep getting better as the brushes seat up to the comm better, but then after that the numbers start to drop back down due to heat and the motor being worked too hard by spinning 42,000+ rpms. Its just sucks the lube out of the brushed and they start to burn. The one time I tried to spin a 7 on a fantom it cooked the brushes and comm in one spin. Having that little load being placed on a motor for that ammount of time is torture. If I raced stock or 19 more I would probably use it all the time, but for mod I have found them to be utterly useless. Even if you can get consistant readings what the motor see's on the dyno is nothing like what it see's in the car.
JPHRacer is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question regarding Orion V2 SP version Wing Chun Electric On-Road 5 11-03-2006 12:23 AM
ORION V2 MOTOR QUESTION HELLOkitty Electric On-Road 5 11-01-2005 08:49 AM
Orion V2 Tuning question rcnewb2004 Electric On-Road 6 08-29-2005 08:43 AM
orion equalizer question SalvadoriRacing Electric On-Road 5 08-16-2005 11:21 AM
Simple Orion V2 Question Cain Electric On-Road 38 08-06-2004 07:12 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:10 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0