R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-30-2011, 08:39 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Worcester UK
Posts: 5
Default Speed passion 13.5 timing board

Hi Guys,

Sorry if this has been covered but my search skills have failed me.

Rebuilt my 13.5t today and when putting it back together the timing board (the black circuit board) can move freely even with it all done up.

What has caused this and how can I fix it?

p.s. I have swapped the circuit board and the rubber spacers to no avail.

TOP Photon (Soon to be a T3 2011)

Last edited by matthab; 12-30-2011 at 08:56 AM.
matthab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 08:55 AM   #2
Tech Elite
sosidge's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,809

Perhaps you have got some lubricant on the silicone seal? Or perhaps the endbell is not fully seated in the can?

Assuming neither is the cause, all I can think of is that if you put something sticky on the seal (like a thick grease), or cut out a thin paper shim, it might hold the board in place once tightened.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 06:49 AM   #3
Tech Master
Drillit's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oreganastan Pacific Wonderland home to Indoor Farming
Posts: 1,059

I'll bet that the stator is loose in the can........I have seen a couple now with this problem, nice actually because now you can adjust the tension you prefer on the sensor adjustment tension. Carefully tap the complete motor on the bench, towards the sensor/bullet end if you want tight, towards the pinion shaft end if you want loose. Of course do not hit shaft or sensor plug! When set to your liking, VERY Carefullly wick ca glue into the vents as to glue the fiber boards to the can. Tip the motor so the ca runs down and around to the fiber board, just don't get stupid with the ca, a little is all you need.

The newest motors are so tight in this area you have to damn near take them apart to adjust timing. Yes I have banged the snot out of some newer ones, and they do not move, so I guess "they" solved the loose stator issue.

Good Luck!
Mark Tilley
Got T-Bar ? ......... Oregons No ZigZag rule sucks
Bias the weight to the end you want to hit the wall with first!
Searchin fer answers in the Fog.......that's what I found
Drillit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 03:03 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Worcester UK
Posts: 5

Thanks everybody,

I hit the stator gently towards the end and it moved back to where is was. The sensor port now doesnt move at all.

Thanks Drillit that has put a end to me pulling my hair out.
TOP Photon (Soon to be a T3 2011)
matthab is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Speed Passion Thread memix Electric On-Road 13131 09-20-2016 06:59 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:12 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0