Wiki Posts
Search

Ansmann ARE-2 kit

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2011, 09:27 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Ansmann ARE-2 kit

Hello there,

After recently converting my Missus in to an r/c fan I am considering getting her a new 1/10 touring car for xmas. I have looked around at what's available and in terms of value for money the Ansmann ARE-2 seems a pretty good deal.... plus its all I can afford at the moment!

We are both club racers and are not planning to go any further at this time. A lot of people will say that it is better to start with a used, decent spec car, and I agree entirely. However, with her being a total novice I wanted to get her a KIT car so that she can learn the basics about all the different components, tuning etc. Also from looking around the parts are dirt cheap to replace!

To that end, I wanted to ask people about their experiences with this model (especially on carpet tracks). With the lack of anti-roll bars does it suffer much from grip roll? Are the noisy diffs that much different than say an old tamiya (TL01...?) Any information you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Obviously, as I'm not able to afford much else, I'm looking for as many good reviews as possible, but I'd also like to hear of any "challenges" this kit has given people.

Thank you for any replies posted!

Aidan
Old 11-26-2011, 11:02 AM
Tech Champion

Never heard of the brand...might want to be careful there as it may be difficult to find parts for. I would suggest checking into what parts your local shop stocks and get a car they stock parts for. That way when it breaks you can be back on the road quickly.
Old 11-26-2011, 11:50 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)

Ansmen have been making off-road cars that I'm firmilar with. Basicly there a sticker company to my knowledge, there off-road car was just the team C buggy, just like the TQ car. The last onroad ansmen I saw seemed to me like a TC3, but its been a while since I looked.