R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2004, 06:15 AM   #1
Tech Master
koabich's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,360
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default Belts...how tight or how loose?

Hey guys. I have been running a TC3 for the last 3 years or so. For this race season, I have switched to a 415.
Just wanted to know how tight or how loose most people run their belts.
I have been running my belts tighter for stock that I do for mod.
What do you guys think?
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 06:24 AM   #2
Tech Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440

You want to run your belts loser for stock than modified as stock isn't as powerful so it needs as less drag to get a better top speed

Chazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 06:26 AM   #3
Tech Elite
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,302
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball

typically, they are run tighter for mod than stock. the common method of finding your setting is to go loose until it just skips, and then go tighter one click/notch.

you're gonna get mixed opinions, as there is a point of diminishing returns when going excessively loose. too tight obviously robs power, but too loose allows play or resonance on the loose leg, and you can risk rolling the belt over in an impact as well.
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 11:32 AM   #4
Tech Elite
Cole Trickle's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571

I'm running them as loose as possible, without skipping. This is for stock. I've never had any problems with my belts.
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 02:09 PM   #5
Tech Master
Speedie's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844

Schumacher says they have been getting better lap times with the belts normally set rather than really loose.
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tight track RKeasler Electric On-Road 2 04-16-2008 08:32 AM
Pinch too TIGHT! rcfoolz Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 28 03-18-2008 04:41 AM
Tight or loose TC4 DIFF NUCRPTRACER Oval, Larger Scales and More 1 02-12-2007 10:08 PM
tight xxx-s Electric On-Road 6 12-27-2006 11:40 PM
Loose belts ceraf Rookie Zone 4 01-15-2005 09:30 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:29 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0