Wiki Posts
Search

new HPI Sprint 2 Flux starting issue

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2011, 10:14 PM
Tech Rookie

Default new HPI Sprint 2 Flux starting issue

Hello all,

I am new to this and so bought a RTR HPI Sprint 2 Flux. Besides it taking me 3 hours to set it up due to an obsolete manual, there may an issue with the car's electronics/drivetrain...

When I am starting from a stopped position the car hesitates. It seems to twitch while accelerating from 0 to 3-5mph. After this it's smooth, but every time I try to start the electric motor seems to hesitate for a bit. Also, during every twitch/hesitation the light on the ESC blips yellow. On something like a thick carpet the twitching/hesitation is at its worst, while on asphalt it's a bit better but still there. I have calibrated the remote (as far as I know), so not sure what the problem is.

I expect a smooth take off from a stopped position, but like I said I am new to this so not sure what is normal and what isn't. Any ideas?

Is this to be expected from a RTR and would I need to upgrade something?

Thanks.
Old 10-10-2011, 08:14 AM
Tech Initiate

I had bought one of these as well this past saturday and it took me a bit of time to set up as well. I had to look up instructions on the web since the manual is obsolete. I just wanted to confirm that this doesn't have a off and on switch, correct? I believe I have a defective battery as well since my car only runs for less than 5 minutes. I tried the battery in a friends car and it only ran for 3-4 minutes. my car hesitates too in the beginning? I hope some experts can chime in on this.
Old 10-10-2011, 08:31 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Originally Posted by chamade
Hello all,

I am new to this and so bought a RTR HPI Sprint 2 Flux. Besides it taking me 3 hours to set it up due to an obsolete manual, there may an issue with the car's electronics/drivetrain...