R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2012, 05:41 PM   #2311
Tech Fanatic
 
stro3579's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chicago/Alabama
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
I think the new design that is coming out is great. I think more will be doing something similar too.

To me the serpent one sucks because you cant even use a servo saver for those that want one. Just my opinion.

The new Yokomo only comes with one servo mount for the inside and servo tape as your using. So there is nothing wrong with that method either as it allows flex too.

EA

Why wouldn't you use both mounting post on servo? What happens when using servo tape and just using one post?
stro3579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:57 PM   #2312
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,082
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The nub drags on the ground and makes cars unstable in the sweeper if you don't take a perfect line. I cut mine off after arguing against this for a while and it was true. The car is better without it. I'm using shoe goo and the inside mount until XRay releases the new piece.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:57 PM   #2313
Tech Elite
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,059
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stro3579 View Post
Why wouldn't you use both mounting post on servo? What happens when using servo tape and just using one post?
If you cut off the nub you cannot use the other post. Servo tape works well to keep the servo from twisting.
__________________
Xray | Hudy | Sanwa | R1 Wurks | Avid | Protoform | Proline | 2mm Designs
artwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:38 PM   #2314
Tech Fanatic
 
stro3579's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chicago/Alabama
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
The nub drags on the ground and makes cars unstable in the sweeper if you don't take a perfect line. I cut mine off after arguing against this for a while and it was true. The car is better without it. I'm using shoe goo and the inside mount until XRay releases the new piece.
Thanks, after observing my car really good. I can see where it has touch the carpet. I will cut mines as well. How are you gonna get the shoe goo off your chassis?
stro3579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:45 PM   #2315
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,082
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stro3579 View Post
Thanks, after observing my car really good. I can see where it has touch the carpet. I will cut mines as well. How are you gonna get the shoe goo off your chassis?
Kung-fu grip.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:46 PM   #2316
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,082
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I wouldn't say cutting it is crucial, it's not a life changing difference, and it may very well not be a big deal on your track.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:50 PM   #2317
Tech Champion
 
hanulec's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,206
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
I wouldn't say cutting it is crucial, it's not a life changing difference, and it may very well not be a big deal on your track.
BUT you won't know until you try
__________________
FJ / ROAR #2-122945 / Shop@ Awesomatix USA / Wild Turbo Fan / Mon-Tech Racing / RocheRC USA / Side Piece /
LRP / John's BSR Tires / TeamEAM / TQ Wire / R1 / Team Scream / PCR / MIX
RacerLog wiki Awesomatix A700 / 2wd offroad 4 life
hanulec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:06 PM   #2318
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,448
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Can someone post some pics of their anti-tuck solutions? Rebuilding my T3 '12 after the season here ended and have changed a few things around. Want to make sure I put something in place to prevent tuckage...Lost a TON of time in my last main with a body tuck (and a marshall that wasn't paying attention).
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:55 PM   #2319
Tech Elite
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,261
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

cut the wheel wells so there's 3-5 mm body clearance to the left and right of the tire.

then put your body clips 1 hole above where they would be snug on the body.

lastly, don't hit anything
__________________
John Tsang 🏁 VBC Racing 🚗 ORCA RC 🚗 GripworksRC 🚗 MotivRC 🚗 GravityRC 🚗 RC America

http://www.facebook.com/VancouverRRR 🏁 http://www.facebook.com/OvergearedRacing
R3VoLuTiOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 07:44 PM   #2320
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,448
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R3VoLuTiOn View Post
cut the wheel wells so there's 3-5 mm body clearance to the left and right of the tire.

then put your body clips 1 hole above where they would be snug on the body.

lastly, don't hit anything
I have the wheel wells trimmed properly. Will try the loose body posts. I didn't hit anything. Got tagged in the rear by another racer.
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 03:45 AM   #2321
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,460
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Will the 50mm ecs driveshafts work on the stock spool? Or do I need to shim the outdrives? I have read people buying different outdrives and using a shim.
Jamison R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 06:13 AM   #2322
Tech Addict
 
Bigz84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 603
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamison R View Post
Will the 50mm ecs driveshafts work on the stock spool? Or do I need to shim the outdrives? I have read people buying different outdrives and using a shim.
Yes it will work, but w/ the composite outdrives, they tend to break in a heavy hit because the shaft is not far enough in the outdrive. I did shim the outdrive 1mm out and that helped solve that issue. Hope that helps.
__________________
Radiopost : EA Motorsports : Orca : Reflex Racing/RSD : Wild Turbo Fans : Franchise Racing Products : RCAmerica : Hudy : Xray : Diggity Designs:
Bigz84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 06:15 AM   #2323
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,135
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamison R View Post
Will the 50mm ecs driveshafts work on the stock spool? Or do I need to shim the outdrives? I have read people buying different outdrives and using a shim.
You need to shim out the plastic outdrives, or you can get aftermarket ones that are a direct replacement i.e Nikita Outdrives.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 07:07 AM   #2324
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,460
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
You need to shim out the plastic outdrives, or you can get aftermarket ones that are a direct replacement i.e Nikita Outdrives.
You have to use the plastic driveshaft pieces when you switch to aftermarket correct?
Jamison R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:00 AM   #2325
Tech Elite
 
R Dodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamison R View Post
You have to use the plastic driveshaft pieces when you switch to aftermarket correct?
Correct
__________________
★RCAmerica •Xray •Hudy •Motiv •PROTOform •Gravity •Avid •TQ Wire •Sanwa •BSR •ProLevelRC •2mmDesigns •Timmy★
R Dodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xray T3 2011 entitymugenmtx Electric On-Road 4150 05-19-2014 12:53 PM
Xray T3 2011 New in Box olhipster1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 08-04-2011 05:27 AM
XRAY T3 2012 bila nk keluar? bravolous Malaysian R/C Racers 8 06-16-2011 11:58 PM
Xray T3 nitro rat Australia For Sale/Trade 22 09-19-2010 03:11 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:12 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net