R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2012, 11:34 AM   #1861
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Thanks
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 11:45 AM   #1862
Tech Elite
 
entitymugenmtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northridge ca
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to entitymugenmtx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOTMAN View Post
speedtechrc sells it and servo connectors and pins
If you can't wait there is always ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hobby-Connec...item20ba67bd47
__________________
SPONSORS.....MY CHECKBOOK....
entitymugenmtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 01:43 PM   #1863
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default Drive shaft replacement plastic caps #305241

On page 17 of the manual it says:"DO NOT use the plastic caps with composite solid axle included in the kit. The new #305241 3.5mm plastic caps are for use ONLY with GEAR diffs, ALU ball diffs, or the XRAY Multi-Diff."

How weard is that?! So in the kit are plastic caps that you can't use!
So which plastic caps do you have to use, what is the partnumber and why are they not in the kit?!
Kensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 01:49 PM   #1864
Tech Master
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dirt sucks!
Posts: 1,601
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kensei View Post
On page 17 of the manual it says:"DO NOT use the plastic caps with composite solid axle included in the kit. The new #305241 3.5mm plastic caps are for use ONLY with GEAR diffs, ALU ball diffs, or the XRAY Multi-Diff."

How weard is that?! So in the kit are plastic caps that you can't use!
So which plastic caps do you have to use, what is the partnumber and why are they not in the kit?!
The factory spool cups accept the axle drive pin without a blade.
__________________
"Desire is the key to motivation, but it's the determination and commitment to an unrelenting pursuit of laying it down - a commitment to excellence - that will enable you to attain the success you seek to beat ass."

-Espo
Xpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 02:09 PM   #1865
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default

Another question:
is "308019 Set of Shock Shims & Nuts" in the kit?

Any preferences as to what servo to use in T3'12 in combo with Sanwa MT-4?
Was thinking of Futaba BLS551.
Kensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 02:12 PM   #1866
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
The factory spool cups accept the axle drive pin without a blade.
Okidoki.

Also when using optional ECS Drive Shafts?
Kensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 02:34 PM   #1867
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wollongong Australia
Posts: 204
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by Team_Krusty; 03-16-2012 at 03:59 PM. Reason: misunderstood the question being asked
Team_Krusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 02:44 PM   #1868
Tech Master
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dirt sucks!
Posts: 1,601
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kensei View Post
Okidoki.

Also when using optional ECS Drive Shafts?
Yes. With the stock spool outdrives you do not use driveshaft "blades." If you would prefer to use blades on the front driveshafts you will need to purchase the optional alloy or steel spool outdrives.
__________________
"Desire is the key to motivation, but it's the determination and commitment to an unrelenting pursuit of laying it down - a commitment to excellence - that will enable you to attain the success you seek to beat ass."

-Espo
Xpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:53 PM   #1869
Tech Addict
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
Yes. With the stock spool outdrives you do not use driveshaft "blades." If you would prefer to use blades on the front driveshafts you will need to purchase the optional alloy or steel spool outdrives.
Do blades have to be used with alloy outdrive spool?
__________________
JQRacing - eu.jqracing.com
Blue Bird - www.blue-bird-model.com
RW mods - www.rw-mods.com
Boca Bearings - www.bocabearings.com
UrabusDenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 05:24 PM   #1870
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UrabusDenis View Post
Do blades have to be used with alloy outdrive spool?
Yes, all the other outdrives use the blades.
__________________
Xray T4'17, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2017
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 05:25 PM   #1871
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kensei View Post
How weard is that?! So in the kit are plastic caps that you can't use!
The same blades are used on the rear driveshafts for the gear diff
__________________
Xray T4'17, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2017
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 01:29 AM   #1872
Tech Elite
 
entitymugenmtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northridge ca
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to entitymugenmtx
Default

New wire job
__________________
SPONSORS.....MY CHECKBOOK....

Last edited by entitymugenmtx; 03-18-2012 at 09:39 PM.
entitymugenmtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 11:16 AM   #1873
Tech Addict
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Yes, all the other outdrives use the blades.
I have my shafts without blades on alloy R1wurks spool outdrives and they are working without problems. However I respect you very much as a poster on this thread so I will put blades (I received a replacement set today) . My question is, why do they have to be used? Is it because of metal/metal contact or too much play?

Also, I'd like some simple set up changes to increase on-throttle control? Softer springs maybe?
__________________
JQRacing - eu.jqracing.com
Blue Bird - www.blue-bird-model.com
RW mods - www.rw-mods.com
Boca Bearings - www.bocabearings.com
UrabusDenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 12:06 PM   #1874
Tech Master
 
Essnowyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere Strange Wisconsin!
Posts: 1,656
Send a message via AIM to Essnowyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UrabusDenis View Post
My question is, why do they have to be used? Is it because of metal/metal contact or too much play?
The blades are used to protect the expensive turned steel/aluminum parts. You can drive with out them, but you are slowing going to wear the metal out drive cups. The plastic blade acts as shock/buffer in the drive line. They are, "Consumable" as they do wear. Replacing a $5.00 set of plastic blades is much better then sloppy worn out steel/aluminum drive cups.

In the past I had a hot bodies cyclone hara edition and it had the V2 steel front out drives on the one way. The cyclone did not use blades. After a year of racing they were shoot. You would hear honorable noises from the front of the car. This was not the CVDs, but the drive cups. Handling was significantly effected too. When I tried to replace the drive cups, no US distributor had the V2 drives in their inventory or even their parts id. No body knew about the V2 drives parts.

Moral of my story; If you can use blades, do so!

Snowy.
__________________
Team XRay, RCAmerica, Motiv, Gravity RC, Schacht Design Works.

Drive it, Dont slide it!
Essnowyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 05:07 PM   #1875
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

How often do you guys rebuild your ECS shafts?
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xray T3 2011 entitymugenmtx Electric On-Road 4150 05-19-2014 12:53 PM
Xray T3 2011 New in Box olhipster1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 08-04-2011 05:27 AM
XRAY T3 2012 bila nk keluar? bravolous Malaysian R/C Racers 8 06-16-2011 11:58 PM
Xray T3 nitro rat Australia For Sale/Trade 22 09-19-2010 03:11 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:20 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net