Community
Wiki Posts
Search

looking for a new chassis

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2011, 01:31 PM
Tech Rookie

Default looking for a new chassis

they guys i am new to the forum but not new to the scene, anyways i have been operating xrays for 3 years now and i would like to try a different chassis for onroad carpet. can anyone recomend me a chassis i should look in too.

a friend told me to look into tamiya 417 but i heard that they break easy.
Old 09-19-2011, 01:49 PM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 87 (99%+)

all pro level cars are on the same level as far as durability is concerned

pick a car with good parts support and that someone else at ur track has so u can work on setups together

the 417 is a good cas and so is the Hb TCX
Old 09-19-2011, 02:19 PM
Tech Master

All the cars are same in performance . Durability concerned , some are a little better than others , Xray being the strongest and best engineered car .

Your first step should be parts availability . It's the wisest choice , if you're not dedicated to one brand , to simply buy the one that has the best parts availability . Internationally looking , Yokomo and Tamiya are the fastest cars at the moment , although to you and me that means very little . Asso TC6 is the cheapest and the best buy , Xray is the best in quality . You decide
Old 09-19-2011, 02:45 PM
Tech Master

wait for new xray hence you got spares if not tcx
Old 09-19-2011, 02:53 PM
Tech Master

As already mentioned, parts availability should be a primary concern if you're not a parts pack-rat.

Also as already mentioned, all the current cars are fast and competitive, with roughly the same durability.

I'd suggest getting a car that has design features you agree with.

For example, the TC6, and the T3'11 use plastic holders and shims on the lower suspension arms to set track width, rear toe, and front arm sweep, which I like, others find them difficult to tighten so that they stay put.