R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Gear damage question (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/542227-gear-damage-question.html)

ep10 08-15-2011 05:04 PM

Gear damage question

Hello, I have a question but hope this is not stupid to ask...:lol:

I found out that the spur gear and pinion gear has damaged very easily on my Tamiya TA05. I only ran with SPX and 17.5 (sometime 13.5).

Well, the parking lot that I practiced was like a normal park lot. Looks very clean, but definitely has some little chip rocks.

I didn't put the spur gear and pinion gear too tight together, maybe only around 1 paper thickness. Do you guys put any oil after you installed the gears? Or what should I do to prevent damage of the gears?

Thank you for helping me. I'm a rookie driver.

Thanks.

RogerDaShrubber 08-15-2011 05:21 PM

Spur is usually plastic and pinion is metal, the spur is considered to be a consumable item, it is meant to wear out, just like your tires. I sometimes use a little graphite powder on the spur as lube if i have a tight mesh and cannot for some reason get it right. The only time i use grease of any sort is if i have an enclosed gearbox that contains the pinion and spur, like on my rock crawler, in this case, i use silicon grease as all the gears are metal to metal.

ep10 08-15-2011 05:51 PM

My problem is both spur (plastic) and pinion (metal) are damaged.

I'll try to post a photo tonight...

VooDooPH 08-15-2011 05:52 PM

try to cover the hole under the chassis and spur gear with some tape

HarryLeach 08-15-2011 06:16 PM

Originally Posted by VooDooPH (Post 9530241)

+1

I keep some aluminum tape in my box for just this reason. Thin, sticky, strong, replace when needed. I run tape over the chassis spur hole if I see any kind of loose stone that can't or won't be swept clean of the track before running.

rc_square24 08-15-2011 06:39 PM