Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
TC5 with mamba max 7700 running 200+ degrees >

TC5 with mamba max 7700 running 200+ degrees

TC5 with mamba max 7700 running 200+ degrees

Old 07-28-2011, 10:10 PM
Tech Rookie

Cool TC5 with mamba max 7700 running 200+ degrees

Having trouble gearing my TC5. I have a mamba max pro with the 7700KV motor. I am currently using an 18t 48 pitch pinion and 87t spur.
My ESC is running fine at 140 degrees all day long. However i cant seem to get my motor temps down. Do i need to go lower than 18T? Can someone please point me in the right direction.
Old 07-29-2011, 02:24 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Zeus426
Having trouble gearing my TC5. I have a mamba max pro with the 7700KV motor. I am currently using an 18t 48 pitch pinion and 87t spur.
My ESC is running fine at 140 degrees all day long. However i cant seem to get my motor temps down. Do i need to go lower than 18T? Can someone please point me in the right direction.

Im not up with mamba's specs in what temp they can handle but if you want any brushless motor to last you wanna keep it under 180*f max hey....
Even then the motor will last but not a long time like intended.
I know you can go up in spur size more. So yes you need to gear down if going on temps alone.

But is your car free of binding and so on??? Take ur pinion off and roll the car and make sure everything is free. Next would to make sure all your timing and throttle curves are to what you need to be running. Also hard on and off with brake throttling will have a massive part to. So driving style YES does play a big part

More info would help everyone to help u
Fordy
Old 07-29-2011, 04:15 AM
Tech Fanatic

As it is mentionned, check that everything is free.

a 7700 must equal to 4.5t approx, this is hot!

9.67 fdr is maybe a little high, but you could also have the motor turning too much with this gearing.