R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2012, 05:07 AM   #361
Tech Master
 
chrisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,089
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

After reading some good reports for the 21.5 motor in blinky, I have just picked up one, so we will see if it gives that little edge.

What timing and temps are you looking at with the 21.5 in blinky
__________________
TAMIYA - SMOKEM - REEDY
smaracing.org
chrisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 08:21 AM   #362
Tech Adept
 
Nico''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by narcotiks View Post
If you read the page before there is a post with information to your question.
Hi,

my question was badly written, sorry, I know stator, sensor, rotor are different, but I mean, on the tracks, what are the difference between Sonic 10,5 et Thunder power 10,5 please?
Nico' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:25 PM   #363
Tech Adept
 
Monsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canberra
Posts: 122
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
After reading some good reports for the 21.5 motor in blinky, I have just picked up one, so we will see if it gives that little edge.

What timing and temps are you looking at with the 21.5 in blinky
im running 40deg timing with 2.9-3.1fdr and am sitting on 40-45c at the moment. air temp is around 15c as well.
__________________
BD7 '14 / Trinity / LRP / SANWA
F1R2 / Reedy / Hobbywing / SANWA
1:1 racer
HR31 Skyline - 350Kw RB30DET, 1130kg and 255 wide R comp tyres... needs more traction!
Monsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:18 PM   #364
Tech Master
 
chrisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,089
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

thanks Monsta

It has been colder than that of a Tuesday night in Sydney of late

I had been running 2.8 with an Orion sitting on about 60 c motor temp

so i will look at yours to start with
__________________
TAMIYA - SMOKEM - REEDY
smaracing.org
chrisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 08:23 PM   #365
Tech Adept
 
Monsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canberra
Posts: 122
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

No worries.

Yeah, thats middle of the day. Nights are in the minus' down here
__________________
BD7 '14 / Trinity / LRP / SANWA
F1R2 / Reedy / Hobbywing / SANWA
1:1 racer
HR31 Skyline - 350Kw RB30DET, 1130kg and 255 wide R comp tyres... needs more traction!
Monsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 06:54 AM   #366
Tech Adept
 
Paul.Spencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monsta View Post
im running 40deg timing with 2.9-3.1fdr and am sitting on 40-45c at the moment. air temp is around 15c as well.
Go to an FDR of 2.6 55/42 timing backed back to around 35
__________________
Mild to Wild RC | DeadStarRC.com |ACE Hobby Australia |
TEAM Associated TC6.1WC |Team Orion | Reedy| Sweep
TEAM Associated 12R5.2 |Team Orion| Reedy| Matrix
TEAM Associated B44.1.5 |Team Orion| Reedy| Sweep
TEAM Associated B8.2eFT |Team Orion | Reedy| Sweep
Paul.Spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:17 AM   #367
Tech Adept
 
SlideMasteR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 173
Default

anyone have a base fdr for boosted setup Reedy 13.5 with HW V3 / SP on mid size track 40m x 20m
__________________
Xray T4 15' - Hobbywing V3.1 ESC - Reedy Modified Motors - Thunder Power Batteries - Protoform - Much More
SlideMasteR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:40 AM   #368
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlideMasteR View Post
anyone have a base fdr for boosted setup Reedy 13.5 with HW V3 / SP on mid size track 40m x 20m
6.8 with the ESC on max boost/turbo should be about right.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 12:12 AM   #369
Tech Regular
 
svndayNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Auckland
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I just picked up a sonic 13.5 and I'm really happy with it, only I can't advance the timing above 20 deg which is stock. It's running really cool with a mid 5 fdr, is it common for these things to be jamming like this?
svndayNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 12:20 AM   #370
Tech Regular
 
narcotiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 447
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svndayNZ View Post
I just picked up a sonic 13.5 and I'm really happy with it, only I can't advance the timing above 20 deg which is stock. It's running really cool with a mid 5 fdr, is it common for these things to be jamming like this?
Have you loosened the three screws on the rear cap that the sensor cable goes into? if you have and it isn't moving, undo the screws, take the cap off, blow out the inside of the motor with compressed air, check for any debris, re assemble and try again.
narcotiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 12:41 AM   #371
Tech Regular
 
svndayNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Auckland
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by narcotiks View Post
Have you loosened the three screws on the rear cap that the sensor cable goes into? if you have and it isn't moving, undo the screws, take the cap off, blow out the inside of the motor with compressed air, check for any debris, re assemble and try again.
Yea if done all that, I'll give that a try. If only used it two three times
svndayNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:38 AM   #372
Tech Regular
 
narcotiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 447
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svndayNZ View Post
Yea if done all that, I'll give that a try. If only used it two three times
Check if the actual sensor assembly itself is free moving aswel.
narcotiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:06 PM   #373
Tech Regular
 
svndayNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Auckland
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

The sensor isn't moving at all. The motor works absolutely fine I just cannot adjust the timing on is thing. When I next get near ann air compressor I'll give it a clean out. Another question I removed the can too see if it wasnt an issue here, however the re are two shims, a narrow and a slightly fuller that sit on the end shaft, which one goes on first?
svndayNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:37 PM   #374
Super Moderator
 
Slo_E4's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svndayNZ View Post
The sensor isn't moving at all. The motor works absolutely fine I just cannot adjust the timing on is thing. When I next get near ann air compressor I'll give it a clean out. Another question I removed the can too see if it wasnt an issue here, however the re are two shims, a narrow and a slightly fuller that sit on the end shaft, which one goes on first?
That's pretty crazy you can't adjust timing. Something is binding. Take a look at this post in regards to shim's placement.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/10572820-post290.html
__________________
.
Slo_E4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 12:25 AM   #375
Tech Regular
 
narcotiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 447
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Wait so at the back of the rotor there is a gold shim, a thick one, but is there another thin metal shim? Because I was cleaning out my sonic the other day and one of these appeared on my work bench, I had some thicker ones aswell laying around, so I thought it was just from them, but now looking at that picture I'm abit confused ! If there is a shim before the gold one at the back, can someone measure the thickness for me so I know which one to put in. Thanks.
narcotiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:50 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0