R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-22-2004, 11:59 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 74
Default Power supply for lathe?

I am just getting a lathe and I guess I need a power supply and I suppose I cant use a spare 1800 ni-cd 7.2v stick pack.

Suggestions for a cheap easy power supply?
Galactik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 12:19 PM   #2
Tech Master
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738

I have always used a pack of 2000 nicads with only four cells fully charged, but be carefull as copper is a very soft material and can get to hot when useing the lathe.
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 12:19 PM   #3
Tech Champion
rc-zombies's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

that will work...except you'll need to convert to 4cell instead of 6.
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 12:22 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
Charlie O's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 741

I use an old dynamite dial charger, you set the time & the amp rate with a dial, works good, i can vary the rpm by the anount of amps with the dial, the six cell battery will work but you will be turning a lot of rpm, try using just four cells.
Charlie O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 12:41 PM   #5
Tech Master
Speedie's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844

I also use a 4cell pack for my lathe. What I did was turn a 6 cell pact into 1 4 cell and 1 2 cell. I use the 4 cell for the lathe and the 2 cell for breaking in the motor.

The lathe spins a little fast when the pack is full. Just remember to always use cutting fluid on the comm and you will be able to get perfect cuts easily. Alot of shops sell an rc cutting fluid or you can get some at your local hardware store.
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 05:11 AM   #6
Tech Addict
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588

You can use the "Good Olde" AT PC power supply, the standard power supply in almost all computers made in the last century. I have one and I've accidentally jumpered the output wires many times and it still lives.
You ususally get 5 volts between the black and the red wires and 12 volts between the yellow and black wires. The lathe would turn a bit too fast with the 5 volts, nothing you can't live with, but if you connect discharging bulb in series with the lathe motor you get just about perfect speed and the bulb acts as a load indicator, it glows brighter the more load you put on the lathe. The 12 volts are of course fine for your charger.
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 07:51 AM   #7
Tech Master
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ft. Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,523

you can use 6 cells if you get the Integy 55t lathe motor
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 09:31 AM   #8
Tech Apprentice
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 74

I ended up getting a smoking deal on a Team Cobra Pro Com lathe with the power base. They also made up a 4 cell 3300 set for me. Thanx for all the help.

Now I just gotta set up a connection on my Superbrain 969 to accept the batteries since I have only even used stick packs with Tamiya plugs.
Galactik is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DTX Ice, Power supply, Integy Comm Lathe GrandeGixxer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 06-10-2007 10:02 PM
Chargers, lathe, power supply, tire truer RBLove R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 05-08-2007 04:11 PM
FS: Fantom Lathe and River Gate 20 amp power supply RayWarner R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-31-2006 04:29 AM
WTB: BullDog Power Supply & Hudy Lathe jamescam R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-18-2005 06:01 AM
Great idea for lathe/break-in power supply JusBox Electric On-Road 9 12-15-2003 09:42 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:00 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0