Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Just bought my first TT-01D Type E

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2011, 09:53 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Just bought my first TT-01D Type E

Hi, I just purchased this ready to go kit with the GT-R body. The guy working there told me it would be a lot cheaper to start this way rather than buying each of the pieces separately.

So anyways, my question here is where is a good place to read up on and start expanding my knowledge on this car? I'm still learning to drift and I'm very gentle with driving my new expensive toy. I don't even know how long my tires will last driving it around on the road. LOL. I'm looking to upgrade it as well and was wondering what I should do first with this kit.

So if you guys have any informative pages that could help me, please post them here. I've been reading through the tt-01 post already.

Thanks!
Old 04-18-2011, 10:27 PM
Tech Rookie

Also, are the hop ups on ebay real? They look just like the ones sold at the local hobby store near me except waaay cheaper.
Old 04-19-2011, 06:55 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

Welcome! Your drift wheels should last you a while, I bought a set with my first car when i got it, and have spent a while drifting with it on a few different surfaces, but the wheels haven't really worn that much so should last you ages. Rubber tires on the other hand, depending on the compound (soft/hard etc) can wear out very quickly especially if you do burnouts and what not with them .

As for the hop ups, I think a lot of the stuff for the tt01's isnt legit tamiya, but will still fit the car and are more then likely the same quality.

A nice low turn motor should help your drifting, but make sure you esc can take it. A cheap upgrade could be a 15 turn brushed motor. An expensive way of doing the same thing would be a brushless setup but that will cost you a minimum of $150 for the motor and esc, and if you add lipo to that it'll cost another $100 on top.