R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 09-15-2004, 10:00 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
Default False peaking after using Novak discharger...

I'm totally new to RC and some things just don't seam right.

Ok, I got good matched GP3300 packs and one Sanyo 3600.

My charger is a MRC 969 with a 25amp Radioshack power supply, the stock one blew up after 1 month (this saturday).

They would charger up fine using the 969 discharge. Now that I'm using the Novak tray to discharge to .9 they false peak all the time! Usually they get about 600-1700 mah before stopping. What I do is restart the charger and all is well.

If I take the false peak mah and then the other charge they fill up to where they should, about 3900 for the 3300 packs and 4100 for the 3600 packs.
EVOIIIM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 10:10 AM   #2
Tech Master

If the packs sit for almost any amount of time between charges many matchers recommend putting about 100 seconds of charge back into the pack before storage after traying the packs, then traying the packs again just before charging for the next race. From what I hear it's not good to leave the 3300's with very little charge between races, it seems as though they lose voltage when they sit, and there in lies the problem.
wagonman72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 11:41 AM   #3
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

I discharge my practice packs to .9 on my Novak and I dead short my race packs... dead shorted packs will false peak (I use "long lockout" on my GFX to eliminate this) but my .9 packs never false peak. I would have to think your charger is the problem... but as long as you know you have to keep a eye on them there really isnt a problem.
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 02:44 PM   #4
Tech Adept
Send a message via Yahoo to lastplace