Search

Electric Motor MAGNET ZAPPING Questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2004, 08:12 PM
JKA
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Electric Motor MAGNET ZAPPING Questions

I've recently stumble upon an A/C Electric motor Magnet zapper and gauss meter.

I'm looking for tips/tricks to zapping cans to get the best performance. Also I'd like to know what kind of numbers to expect on the Gauss meter.

Any help would be VERY appreciated.
Old 09-14-2004, 08:18 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Magnet strength will vary on different motors. You should measure a NIB motor before running so you have a basis on their strength.
Old 09-15-2004, 08:06 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

I have no experience with such an expensive toy, but I would say that you really need to play with motors for yourself to see how you can tune them to get better performance. I have also heard that if you improve the performance of the magnets too much, that it CAN hinder the performance because it can slow down the RPM of the armature. Like I said before, I haven't got one, but I'd have a play and see how you go, but do as Dan says, make sure you check its ability NIB and go from there.
Old 09-16-2004, 04:11 AM
JKA
Tech Master

Thanks guys.

The NIB stuff I tried didn't really show any performance gain on the dyno.

I now have a few old motors that I'm going to dyno, rebuild, dyno again, zap magnets, then dyno again.

Hopefully this way I'll be able to see the gain. I've been told that any motor that has gotten too hot will need to have the magnets zapped.

We'll see.
Old 09-16-2004, 04:52 AM
Tech Fanatic

JKA,

With the newer magnets out these days, zapping the magnets won't do much unless you have a custom made high powered zapper. Think of the magnets as a glass of water... you can only fill it so full. Magnets are getting so good, that they are fully zapped when you get them.