R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2014, 08:53 PM   #2626
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnage9270 View Post
You can keep the battery stop on there if you want, but what I think Cristian is trying to say is, if you use tape and put it through the cutout areas, your battery wont budge and there's no real reason to have a battery stop.

Edit: Sorry Cristian...ewe got dis
do me a favor and do that, because ive lost a belt that way and had to toss the battery, almost caused a fire... so take the chance I suppose... in the OP i said theres about 1/8 of play.... where it fit snuggly in my 6.2 chassis. Even if i pushed the battery against the stop, theres maybe 4-5mm of space for a 3mm belt traveling at high speeds.... so definetly not enough space...
thecaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:59 PM   #2627
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 871
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
At the Fore-and-aft positions, so long as you file your tape slots (You should always chamfer tape slots regardless of stops or battery cradles when using tape) you should not need any other parts to use the chassis. Tape is more than sufficient to hold your battery securely even at the highest modified speeds. All the other items are optional.
Just make sure you are using ACTUAL battery tape, as it doesn't stretch or break on impact. Hudy battery tape ftw!
__________________
-Mike B.
Carnage9270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:59 PM   #2628
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

even I tape down the battery as tightly as I can... then it still moves, not a whole bunch, but it that means id have to put new tape in each run... if i dont put the battery in correctly that means i just lost another belt and another battery, if i dont catch it right away, or if the battery shifts during a crash
thecaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:02 PM   #2629
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

while im at it ill take the bumper off as well, the wheels are more than sufficient to take the impact of a crash. its really optional and extra weight.
thecaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:02 PM   #2630
Tech Fanatic
 
erchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnage9270 View Post
Just make sure you are using ACTUAL battery tape, as it doesn't stretch or break on impact. Hudy battery tape ftw!
Battery, or strapping tape, won't give. Racers have used it for years.
__________________
RCAmerica ; Team Powers USA ; Reflex Racing ; RC≥ RC Crew Chief ; Bezerk RC
erchn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:03 PM   #2631
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 871
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecaptain View Post
even I tape down the battery as tightly as I can... then it still moves, not a whole bunch, but it that means id have to put new tape in each run... if i dont put the battery in correctly that means i just lost another belt and another battery, if i dont catch it right away, or if the battery shifts during a crash
The battery stop you were using on the CF chassis will still mount on the aluminum chassis correct? If so, throw it back in there, that should stop the battery from hitting the belt if it gets loose.
__________________
-Mike B.
Carnage9270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:06 PM   #2632
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnage9270 View Post
The battery stop you were using on the CF chassis will still mount on the aluminum chassis correct? If so, throw it back in there, that should stop the battery from hitting the belt if it gets loose.
as stated for the THIRD time it moves 1/8 of an inch from side to side
thecaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:13 PM   #2633
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 871
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecaptain View Post
as stated for the THIRD time it moves 1/8 of an inch from side to side
Look, I'm not trying to be an asshole or anything, I actually am trying to help. But the slots that are cut into the chassis are there to replace needing battery mounts. Many manufacturers are doing this, it's much more effective at keeping your battery from moving even fractions of a millimeter. Battery tape will not let that battery move at all and is much more effective. Battery braces break, the holes in the chassis do not. You can space your battery as far from the belt as you desire. One piece of battery tape can be used for weeks as long as your not exposing it to chemicals or something.

Honestly, if you are not happy with it, contact Cristian, I'm sure he can work out a refund for you. If not, I'll buy the damn thing from you for my other car.
__________________
-Mike B.
Carnage9270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:19 PM   #2634
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Changing the balance of the car 10-15 grams plus adding tension to one side of the car and having the battery position change every run doesn't affect your car? It's fine I will be sure to fix the parts that were suppose to work like I do with the rest of the stuff I buy....
thecaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:26 PM   #2635
Tech Fanatic
 
erchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Sometimes people really don't want help, or to help themselves. Weird.
__________________
RCAmerica ; Team Powers USA ; Reflex Racing ; RC≥ RC Crew Chief ; Bezerk RC
erchn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:31 PM   #2636
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,676
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I am not sure if you have seen the Tamiya and Yokomo cars and how they come now. They come exactly as the aluminum chassis does. No "Battery holder" just a stop to keep the battery from getting into the belt.

I am not sure what concern you have with the battery as a lot has been lost through all the posts. If you use Tape correctly, the battery should never leave the car and it should also never get into the belt.

As for the balance, this is something everyone does with their car. All chassis are balanced differently and it is entirely dependent on electronics, batteries, motors, etc. Installing a new deck on your car and not expecting to have to re-balance it is a little bit unreasonable. The car is now heavier, so balancing it will be a little bit easier if you do not use battery holders, especially if you are running heavy, high capacity batteries.

Lastly, if you really are not satisfied with the product, please send it back before you use it and I will gladly refund the money for your purchase. I am down to only 1 more chassis from the first production run and I should not have trouble moving it. I understand you are frustrated, but believe me, we are not in the business of ripping people off. You should not have to "fix" anything to use the chassis. You can make custom adaptations to suit your preferences, but let me be clear and say that the item is perfectly operational as is.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 01:36 AM   #2637
Tech Addict
 
Geberit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 744
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
I am not sure if you have seen the Tamiya and Yokomo cars and how they come now. They come exactly as the aluminum chassis does. No "Battery holder" just a stop to keep the battery from getting into the belt.

I am not sure what concern you have with the battery as a lot has been lost through all the posts. If you use Tape correctly, the battery should never leave the car and it should also never get into the belt.

As for the balance, this is something everyone does with their car. All chassis are balanced differently and it is entirely dependent on electronics, batteries, motors, etc. Installing a new deck on your car and not expecting to have to re-balance it is a little bit unreasonable. The car is now heavier, so balancing it will be a little bit easier if you do not use battery holders, especially if you are running heavy, high capacity batteries.

Lastly, if you really are not satisfied with the product, please send it back before you use it and I will gladly refund the money for your purchase. I am down to only 1 more chassis from the first production run and I should not have trouble moving it. I understand you are frustrated, but believe me, we are not in the business of ripping people off. You should not have to "fix" anything to use the chassis. You can make custom adaptations to suit your preferences, but let me be clear and say that the item is perfectly operational as is.
It would be easier to make an instruction video then trying to explain it in words! Sometimes itís just hard to do it yourself for the first time if you never seen how it should be done properly.

I have a BD7 2014 with no holders and using Hudy tape. The battery is absolutely tight with no movement at all if done correctly. Also had few heavy crashes and the battery didnít move a bit! More or less all Yokomoís at the ETS races donít use battery holders and never seen anything fell off.
Geberit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 03:03 AM   #2638
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
I am not sure if you have seen the Tamiya and Yokomo cars and how they come now. They come exactly as the aluminum chassis does. No "Battery holder" just a stop to keep the battery from getting into the belt.

I am not sure what concern you have with the battery as a lot has been lost through all the posts. If you use Tape correctly, the battery should never leave the car and it should also never get into the belt.

As for the balance, this is something everyone does with their car. All chassis are balanced differently and it is entirely dependent on electronics, batteries, motors, etc. Installing a new deck on your car and not expecting to have to re-balance it is a little bit unreasonable. The car is now heavier, so balancing it will be a little bit easier if you do not use battery holders, especially if you are running heavy, high capacity batteries.

Lastly, if you really are not satisfied with the product, please send it back before you use it and I will gladly refund the money for your purchase. I am down to only 1 more chassis from the first production run and I should not have trouble moving it. I understand you are frustrated, but believe me, we are not in the business of ripping people off. You should not have to "fix" anything to use the chassis. You can make custom adaptations to suit your preferences, but let me be clear and say that the item is perfectly operational as is.
That's fine people can use tape as for me I will make some battery holders that work. I say the balance and battery placement because I have 100+ ways to throw that thing I there and not have it the same spot.
thecaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 04:48 AM   #2639
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rockhampton, QLD
Posts: 48
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi Cristian,

How'd we go for numbers on the re-run chassis??
__________________
RSD Spec TC6.1, Tekin RS, MMM, SavŲx, Sorex.
Steve89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 05:12 AM   #2640
Bar
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 343
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

remember to file your tape slots it can cut through the tape otherwise. I also agree that battery retainers are better, which is why I have some super light ones on my bd7 that only weigh about 2grams including the screws
__________________
Luke Burr
Bar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0