R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2014, 08:46 PM   #2611
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Christian, with the bones. they just lower your rotational mass?

how is wear on them?
jonston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 09:01 PM   #2612
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,676
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Yes, lower rotational mass and also gets your car lower to min weight when you are shaving weight with an Aluminum chassis.

The wear is pretty good so long as you clean them and grease them every couple of track days. The rear bones undergo very little stress and angles so they last a long time.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 09:41 PM   #2613
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,140
Default

Looking good!
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- P1 BRAND -- TUNING HAUS -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 10:09 PM   #2614
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,676
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Steve, i finally have some goodies otw to you...
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 07:05 AM   #2615
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Rsd 20mm spring kits

Hi all,

I've just purchased 2sets of the carpet and asphalt springs and would like to know a good starting point for carpet and asphalt tracks for my xray t4'14.
Carpet track is high grip tight and twisty running sores 28JB rubber and the outdoor track is low grip, and flows well with a couple of low speed technical sections
Thanks in advance
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 07:35 AM   #2616
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutley001 View Post
Hi all,

I've just purchased 2sets of the carpet and asphalt springs and would like to know a good starting point for carpet and asphalt tracks for my xray t4'14.
Carpet track is high grip tight and twisty running sores 28JB rubber and the outdoor track is low grip, and flows well with a couple of low speed technical sections
Thanks in advance
Carpet: Pink, Blue
Asphalt: SilverF, Pink or Blue Rear

Are we talking about Eastbourne?
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RD Disco
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 07:49 AM   #2617
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Carpet: Pink, Blue
Asphalt: SilverF, Pink or Blue Rear

Are we talking about Eastbourne?
Good guess! I don't get down there very often but like the track. Would you recommend the same for west London? I hope to make it over there soon.
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 09:10 AM   #2618
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
Steve, i finally have some goodies otw to you...
Sounds great Christian, very much looking forward to it!
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- P1 BRAND -- TUNING HAUS -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:26 PM   #2619
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

So Christian switching my car over to the new aluminum chassis. Get the battery section HOLY CRAP. How do you FORGET TO MENTION that you need to purchase the rsd battery holds and battery stop! There is legitimately 3/16 of an inch if not 1/4 of an inch of play inbetween the stock battery holders... you cant even put two screws in the battery holders because theres not room because the chassis is so narrow. Then I finally get the battery in the car. I use a buggy foam spacer and some two way tape to make it fit properly. REALLY JANKY but it works, fine no biggy what ever ill send christian a private message about it. But I look at the battery stop now and its not close to that either theres a good 1/8 of play between the battery and the battery stop, free to slam into the belt as it likes. So now not only do I get the privelage to fix more of your products. I have to spent more of my time to do so... brilliant please explain to me why this was not mention in the chassis description. Or on any forum. I am looking forward to the reason. Its a marketing ploy, I get it. You want people to buy your other products. Generally those companies mention that their parts are the ones that work with the new what ever they release... HIGHLY UNSATISFIED...
thecaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:35 PM   #2620
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,676
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

The chassis is meant to be used with tape, much like the Yokomo and all of our previous chassis versions. There is no need for battery holders on a chassis like this. It is an option, but not necessary.

Making the stock battery holders work is not an option, as the shape of the chassis necessitates a different bolt pattern.

I am sorry for the confusion, it is not something we do intentionally. However, I can tell you that using just tape you will be fine.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:41 PM   #2621
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,676
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

To add, personally I don't use a holder on the Aluminum version because it adds unwanted weight to an already heavier car. If I use the CF version, I do use them for extra safety, but they really are just something that some people may want or may not want to use on their car. That's why we sell it as an option part and don't advertise it as a "Necessity".
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:43 PM   #2622
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
To add, personally I don't use a holder on the Aluminum version because it adds unwanted weight to an already heavier car. If I use the CF version, I do use them for extra safety, but they really are just something that some people may want or may not want to use on their car. That's why we sell it as an option part and don't advertise it as a "Necessity".
that only addresses part of a problem viewed as a matter of opinion... what about the battery stop...
thecaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:47 PM   #2623
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,676
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

You should be able to use the standard battery stop at the inside without any issue. Are you having fitment issues?
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:48 PM   #2624
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 871
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

You can keep the battery stop on there if you want, but what I think Cristian is trying to say is, if you use tape and put it through the cutout areas, your battery wont budge and there's no real reason to have a battery stop.

Edit: Sorry Cristian...ewe got dis
__________________
-Mike B.
Carnage9270 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:50 PM   #2625
Tech Elite
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,676
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Correct^^^ Thanks for verbalizing in a different manner.

Basically, at the center, the stock TC6 battery stop should keep the battery from hitting the belt, much like on the original car.

At the Fore-and-aft positions, so long as you file your tape slots (You should always chamfer tape slots regardless of stops or battery cradles when using tape) you should not need any other parts to use the chassis. Tape is more than sufficient to hold your battery securely even at the highest modified speeds. All the other items are optional.
__________________
REFLEX RACING/ RSD/ GIZMO RACING USA/ HOBBYWING/ AXON/ QTEQ/ TEAM PRIME
CristianTabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0