Search
Like Tree1Likes

Barracuda from Alex racing

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2003, 08:20 AM
Regional Moderator

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Thanks Steve,

OK everybody....I want to say that Steve did a great job explaining to me what I did. I think there are 2 levels of RC cars out there....one would be the AE/Losi type where you can have a mediocre build and run fine. And then there are another type of car like the 'cuda/Atlas/X-Ray where the build of the car is critical. I can actually say that I have run a X-ray, but it was never up to par with other top drivers in the area. That being said, I learned ALOT in building a car from Steve...keep in mind I have been racing for about 2 1/2 years and was always in that 2nd tier of drivers...some is my driving... and some is the car....

Again, from gas racing...I have kung foo grip and thread lock addiction!!!!!

Anyway, don't flame me....I am just a poor soul with a sweet car...

Thanks again Steve!!

His email to me:

Good Morning Mike,

I finished rebuilding your Cuda last night, and right now, the car is a lot smoother now then when I first got it (a lot smoother!). Here's a couple things I noticed and took care of for you :

1. The first thing I started with were the bearings. typically, brand new bearings in the kits are packed with heavy grease. This is just standard industry procedure from bearing manufactures, however, for our purpose, the thick grease really slows down the car and attract a lot of dirt. So I used an Integy sparkle cleaner (Part number E2006) which you fill with motor spray, dump in the bearings and it'll vibrate out all the grease. This is a little trick that every fast drivers do. For future kits you purchase, you should always do this to your bearings. After a good 30 minutes of shaking, all the grease should be out of the bearings, then you place a drop of light oil (ex. Trinity royal oil) to lube it.