R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-08-2004, 08:05 PM   #1
Tech Addict
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to onebeatuptc3
Default Why not 40mhz in the US?

I dont get why we cant run the 40mhz frequency here in the US. They run toy rc cars on the 49mhz dont they? I dont understand why us hobbiests cant use it, if you could explain it, please do.
onebeatuptc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 08:16 PM   #2
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Back That Thang Up!
Posts: 3,468
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

in short: FCC bureaucracy and red tape along with strong lobbying from wireless communications companies.
403forbidden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 08:22 PM   #3
Tech Elite
JimmyMac's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,315

You can if you get a license.
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Ho-B Max
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 09:13 PM   #4
Tech Master
Tek Nickal's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301

Some get a module and recever from somewhere else. You never have to worry about channels though.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 10:13 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 18

I heard that if you get cought, you get a $10K fine and jail time???? I know some friends are using 40 but they don't tell anyone that they are and during big races they switch back to either 27 or 75 to be safe. One time at SWR I saw Billy with some kind of freq-scanner during the Nationals in 2001. I don't know what it was used for.

I think 403forbidden's answer is a good one.
BKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 11:13 PM   #6
Tech Regular
J-P's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London U.K.
Posts: 291

i read in a magazine over here in england that its because the US Coastgaurd operate on that frequency or very near to it and at the world off roads in tampa they had to get permission to run 40 mhz as it would have cost to much to change radio kit for all the european guys

J-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 06:53 AM   #7
Tech Master
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,006

Well J-p got it almost right. In the us 40mhz is reserved for department of defense only. That means all of the US military has the rights to those frequencies(except 49mhz). If you get caught by the fcc you will incur a 10,000 fine and loss of all or your radio equipment on the spot. Dont do it is about all I can say. Get a ham radio license and then run 52 mhz. Noone will ever be on your frequency and you will be legal.
John Malin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 08:06 AM   #8
Tech Addict
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 547
Default 52 Mhz

are there any RC manufacturers that sell equipment that supports 52 (realizing that a ham radio licensed is required, but that is a minor thing to reduce glitching, etc.)
barrys is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XXL, XXTRA, SYNTH, JR RS200 40mhz,75mhz, RS310synth, R1 40mhz mod. R135 /125 OWTKAST cpt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 02-26-2008 07:56 AM
WTB 40MHz rx tkhoo R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 11-24-2007 06:00 AM
JR XS3 40Mhz Thunder racer Australia For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2006 12:55 AM
40mhz nsxshogun Nitro On-Road 5 01-15-2005 11:41 PM
M8 V3 40mhz KREATOR1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 10-22-2004 10:17 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:31 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0