R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2014, 08:15 AM   #12511
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,362
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

You want to slow the side to side movement without changing your pack characteristics. Slowing the side to side speed helps to keep car from rotating as fast for those sudden changes in direction
__________________
______________________________________________
Jason Deadman

I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
jdeadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 04:48 PM   #12512
Tech Regular
 
gooba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: grimes,ia
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Ahhh ok thats makes sense
gooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 08:09 AM   #12513
Tech Regular
 
gooba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: grimes,ia
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thought id show off my tc4 this morning.


Shes a little battle damaged but shes still wicked fast
gooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 07:35 PM   #12514
Tech Elite
 
Aaron P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas...unfortunately.
Posts: 3,340
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Should the driveshaft on a TC4 be a VERY TIGHT fit into the front drive cup?

I've just picked up a heavily used TC4, and I found this issue while going thru it.

Fit into the rear cup seems perfect...slides right in like it should. It takes quite a bit of effort to get it into the front cup at all. The ball on the end of the shaft is bigger than the drive cup and the cup spreads when you force the shaft in and there's no free movement.

Could someone have put an incorrect replacement cup on at some point?
Aaron P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 08:21 PM   #12515
Tech Regular
 
gooba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: grimes,ia
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yes its sounds like the cup is wrong. However there is an off chance that you have a Hardcore racing shaft and if I remember right you had to use their drive cups. Sadly Hardcore has gone out of the RC buisness so you'd have to swap put all the parts but more than likely you just have a wrong cup.
gooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 08:29 PM   #12516
Tech Elite
 
Aaron P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas...unfortunately.
Posts: 3,340
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thank you.

I'll start with new cups. Is there anything that identifies a stock vs aftermarket shaft?
Aaron P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 08:30 PM   #12517
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,709
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron P View Post
Should the driveshaft on a TC4 be a VERY TIGHT fit into the front drive cup?

I've just picked up a heavily used TC4, and I found this issue while going thru it.

Fit into the rear cup seems perfect...slides right in like it should. It takes quite a bit of effort to get it into the front cup at all. The ball on the end of the shaft is bigger than the drive cup and the cup spreads when you force the shaft in and there's no free movement.

Could someone have put an incorrect replacement cup on at some point?
The TC3 drive shafts have a larger pin on the ends and require a different input cup. This may be your issue. AE sold blue aluminum drive shafts specifically for the TC3 or TC4.

Luckily if that is the case, the input cups are relatively cheap.

Here is a link on Associated's website for manuals in case you want to look up part numbers (http://www.teamassociated.com/manuals/)

TC3 input cup - part #3917 (http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXPA01&P=7)
TC4 input cup - part #31019 (http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXHZZ0&P=7)
__________________
I'm currently racing VTA. Check here for rules/info: http://www.usvintagetransam.com/
IndyRC_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 08:43 PM   #12518
Tech Elite
 
Aaron P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas...unfortunately.
Posts: 3,340
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ah, thank you. After further examination it does appear i have a tc3 drive shaft and rear cup.
Aaron P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 08:21 PM   #12519
Tech Regular
 
RotorTruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 274
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray k View Post
I ran the SpecR R1 metal shocks on mine . They are offered with plastic bodies or metal .They are copy of the Tamiya shock . Not the same quality but work just fine . Price $32 bucks , the plastic ones are $27
Can I use Associated TC4 springs with the SpecR R1 metal shocks Ray? Or do I have to use SpecR or Tamiya springs?

Is there anything special needed to mount these shocks on a TC4 ?
RotorTruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 08:36 AM   #12520
Tech Regular
 
gooba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: grimes,ia
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone mounted a protoform camaro on their tc4? I need a new USGT body and since noone makes a 190mm mustang I'm looking at the camaro but I know it has a huge nose and splitter so I want to know if it fits ok without hacking it to bits(I already have longer body posts btw)
gooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 06:58 PM   #12521
Tech Rookie
 
Invasion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gooba View Post
Has anyone mounted a protoform camaro on their tc4? I need a new USGT body and since noone makes a 190mm mustang I'm looking at the camaro but I know it has a huge nose and splitter so I want to know if it fits ok without hacking it to bits(I already have longer body posts btw)
Did you get the Camaro body to fit, as I was thinking of getting one too !
Invasion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 08:06 AM   #12522
Tech Regular
 
gooba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: grimes,ia
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I havent tried but several guys over in the USGT thread said it should mount just fine. I think i'm going with an HPI viper to be different
__________________
I spend money I don't have on parts I don't need to beat people I don't know
gooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 10:04 AM   #12523
DBM
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RotorTruck View Post
Can I use Associated TC4 springs with the SpecR R1 metal shocks Ray? Or do I have to use SpecR or Tamiya springs?

Is there anything special needed to mount these shocks on a TC4 ?
I briefly test fitted one of my spec-r shocks on my tc4 yesterday. The length is the same as the tc4 stock units, but the ball stud diameter is incorrect. Iirc, the tc4 ball stud diameter is 4.3mm, and the spec-r ball diameter is 4.7mm. My plan is to just use spec-r ball studs.

I didn't compare the spring dimensions between the two, but I'll do that tonight.
DBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 11:16 AM   #12524
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5,638
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Smile

Those are good shocks....
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 11:34 AM   #12525
Tech Elite
 
Ray k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,982
Trader Rating: 46 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RotorTruck View Post
Can I use Associated TC4 springs with the SpecR R1 metal shocks Ray? Or do I have to use SpecR or Tamiya springs?

Is there anything special needed to mount these shocks on a TC4 ?
You can use Tamiya or AE springs they work fine . I used the 3mm hardware that came with the shocks . So I drilled out the shock towers to use a 3mm hardware.
Ray k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:36 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0