R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-29-2011, 11:35 PM   #10036
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,960
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

And this...





Man if only i could get my hands on a few more Tc3 tubs...
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:06 AM   #10037
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveW View Post
Man if only i could get my hands on a few more Tc3 tubs...
Why? Can you fit all the TC4 parts on a TC3 tub? my question above was, can you fit TC4 chassis braces on TC3, from your pics, it looks like it might fit but the shock tower looks different on TC4 than TC3 (more to the rear/front)
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:07 AM   #10038
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOEADDICT View Post


after the mamba max pro install!
This looks like a plate of spaghetti
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 04:25 AM   #10039
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5,646
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have imageshack, and it says : upload failed due to failure writing temporary file ! What does this mean???
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 06:08 AM   #10040
Tech Master
 
cwoods34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indy-freakin'-ana
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olly986 View Post
Why? Can you fit all the TC4 parts on a TC3 tub? my question above was, can you fit TC4 chassis braces on TC3, from your pics, it looks like it might fit but the shock tower looks different on TC4 than TC3 (more to the rear/front)
I put TC4 chassis braces on my TC3 because I like the roll center mounts better. They bolted up fine! I am still using TC3 shock towers with no issue but you can use either.

With a 6000 Revtech LiPo and standard electronics my car balances side to side within 3 grams without added weight!
__________________
Stop holding bitterness deep in your bum soul.
cwoods34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 08:11 AM   #10041
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,960
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olly986 View Post
Why? Can you fit all the TC4 parts on a TC3 tub? my question above was, can you fit TC4 chassis braces on TC3, from your pics, it looks like it might fit but the shock tower looks different on TC4 than TC3 (more to the rear/front)
If you look above that IS a Tc3 chassis with Tc4 arms/camber mounts (in one pic)/and FT shock tower mounts (although the Tc4 towers fit fine).




This was the best my shaft car ever handled. The Tc3 tub had a rear suspension mount tear out (rear Tc3 hingepin mounts were separated to be able to raise and lower roll center and this left the chassis as a weak point), and i couldnt find another Tc3 tub.



I transferred everything over to a Tc4 tub and it was crap.
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 08:47 AM   #10042
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

@olly

i'm going to my regular model shop next week to upgrade my radio gear and buy a couple of bits, may have a look at the price of brushless bits while i'm there.

will i need to alter the gearing to run brushless?
Olley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 11:34 AM   #10043
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5,646
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Dave, did you ever weigh these tc3's ???? They look to be 1200grams!!!! Although I did not like the battery tape ! The brace is preferable, specially when you need to add weight to the battery side! Is that a carbon fiber shaft I see ????? Any podium finishes with that car????
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:04 PM   #10044
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,337
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
I have imageshack, and it says : upload failed due to failure writing temporary file ! What does this mean???
This is the wrong thread for that. There is a thread dedicated to images, testing, etc. You should go there, this has been answered many times on that thread.
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:04 PM   #10045
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwoods34 View Post
I put TC4 chassis braces on my TC3 because I like the roll center mounts better. They bolted up fine! I am still using TC3 shock towers with no issue but you can use either.

With a 6000 Revtech LiPo and standard electronics my car balances side to side within 3 grams without added weight!
Exactly, it looks like the roll center would be better with these, good I should be able to find some of these cheap to fit, thanks for this guys.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:09 PM   #10046
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olley View Post
@olly

i'm going to my regular model shop next week to upgrade my radio gear and buy a couple of bits, may have a look at the price of brushless bits while i'm there.

will i need to alter the gearing to run brushless?
Yes, gearing will be different, but if you wish to invest just on speedo to start, you can still use your brushed motor, but I would recommend a brushless motor.

If you are interested, I have a brand new Losi xcellorin just wired for TC3 but never run it, just checked that it worked, you can have it relatively cheap if you wish, I have no use for it anymore having 5 other brushless systems in dfferent cars.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:15 PM   #10047
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveW View Post
If you look above that IS a Tc3 chassis with Tc4 arms/camber mounts (in one pic)/and FT shock tower mounts (although the Tc4 towers fit fine).

This was the best my shaft car ever handled. The Tc3 tub had a rear suspension mount tear out (rear Tc3 hingepin mounts were separated to be able to raise and lower roll center and this left the chassis as a weak point), and i couldnt find another Tc3 tub.

That set up is very interesting, easier to work on changing wishbones setup.

Is this a 10.5t X12 in there too, I see an 81 spur but what is your pinion and FDR (if a 10.5t, which is what I run in mine)
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 02:58 PM   #10048
Tech Initiate
 
SHOEADDICT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 42
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SHOEADDICT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olly986 View Post
This looks like a plate of spaghetti
well there isnt much i can shorten. i might be able to take an inch off the power wires. since the esc or motor doesnt have direct soder, no point of shortening them. plus i heard u shouldnt shorten the motor leads?
SHOEADDICT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 03:11 PM   #10049
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOEADDICT View Post
well there isnt much i can shorten. i might be able to take an inch off the power wires. since the esc or motor doesnt have direct soder, no point of shortening them. plus i heard u shouldnt shorten the motor leads?
there is short and short, you can easily shorten the motor cables and put new or reuse connectors, all cables can be shorten, servo, speedo, switch, except!!! receiver but try not to live it that loose outside the tube, a little tubing over to keep it tight is good or heatshrink. Look at DaveW picture on previous post, perfect !!

It is just easier to work on a clean car and no cables can get into moving parts.

I will show you my car soon, waiting on some parts before I put a pic here
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 05:31 PM   #10050
Tech Initiate
 
SHOEADDICT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 42
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SHOEADDICT
Default

question!? this sat a a friend of mine gave me some wheels he could not use. i have been running hard with them since i got them. everyday after work i run threw a battery pack. i noticed that the tires are wearing weird. the front ones are wearing almost shiny bald in the middle of the tread but the out side is fine. and the rear ones are wearing normally. is the front end to light?

front


rear
SHOEADDICT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:16 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0