R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-25-2004, 12:37 PM   #961
Tech Elite
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by raving-monkey
just a quick Q....where you peeps getting your TC4's from?

cheapest place i found is pacific coast hobbies at $220 with $40 shipping to the UK...

thanks
Matt
http://search.ebay.com/tc4_Radio-Con...sortpropertyZ1
wannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 12:40 PM   #962
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nebraska USA
Posts: 614
Default Chazz, yes the IRS gear...

adapter works and the input shafts. Just heads up with the gear adapter you will need to add a shim between the IRS diff adapter and the e-clip. Too much play without it. One shim snugs it up perfect and it runs true. Keep the flat side of the shim next to the IRS gear adp. Just my 2- cents
Nightbreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 12:52 PM   #963
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nebraska USA
Posts: 614
Default Brandon Melton, are you using the

stock ballstud shims? I don't know where to start on carpet for low rollcenter. So far the stock setup is working good, so I guess I stick with that. Other than I need less rear toe and better on power steering into the corners. I put a 1mm shim in each wheel and I used a buttonhead screw for the shock mount instead of the ballstuds. This way I could still use the outside hole on the front arm. I'm using 26mm foams. It works without grinding anything.

RPM ballcup? I'm using them all around with no rubbing anywhere.

I need front arms before I'm back in the game.

The drivetrain is great out of the box. Other than the front input shaft nag. I wonder why people are having problems with that? No degreasing for me and it's as free as any well worn in TC3.

Nightbreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:03 PM   #964
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: IN MY OWN HAPPY PLACE
Posts: 1,600
Send a message via AIM to Javen13 Send a message via Yahoo to Javen13
Default

night breed you may not be having rubbing cause the size tire i run 28mm jacos. as far as how free the drivetrain is i think i may have to work on the shimming of the input shafts. btw has anyone broken any thing other than front arms
Javen13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:14 PM   #965
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wannabee
http://search.ebay.com/tc4_Radio-Con...sortpropertyZ1
but some of them don't ship to the UK..the only people that ship to the UK there are pacific coast hobbies and rcboyz.

thanks anyway...and ultimatehobbies.com...i will drop them ane mail about shipping.
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:21 PM   #966
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bath/Bristol Area, UK
Posts: 203
Default

Why not order it from a UK shop and support the UK industry? You can pick them up for 189.99.
Andy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:25 PM   #967
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,549
Default

the car i built has 28 mm jaco foams on it, and the drive is free...i just put some wheel spacers from tamiya behind the wheels, and they just clear by a hair....no rubbing in corners or nothing
punkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:47 PM   #968
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

speedtechrc ship to the UK raving-monkey, the tc4 including shipping is about 150 pound (that's were i might get my tc4 if i decide to get one )

Chazz
Chazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:48 PM   #969
Tech Adept
 
DJM75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Washougal, Wa
Posts: 118
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default TC4 or TC3????

Hello,
I'm pretty new to the TC scene and I want to get into it and I have a question. Should I get a used TC3 now for cheap on ebay and then get a new FT TC4 when they come out some time next year? I know I'm not good enough to drive the old TC3 to it's limits let alone the TC4. So I thought I'd get a used TC3 get my skills up then move on to the TC4. What do you guys think?
Thanks,
Don
DJM75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:50 PM   #970
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,181
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Roberto Falcon
Default

buy a tc4 and build your skills from there. my opinion!
__________________
Awesomatix USA - Speed Passion - Superior Hobbies
Roberto Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:50 PM   #971
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bath/Bristol Area, UK
Posts: 203
Default

Sounds like a great idea to me. The TC3 is a great car. If you can get one cheap and learn to use it well you will fly when you upgrade to your TC4 and you will be familiar with setting it up (TC4 and TC3 setups are similar).

HTH

Andy
Andy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:54 PM   #972
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dallas,Texas
Posts: 459
Default

go with the tc4. It has been beefed up so it doesnt break, drive train has been upgraded, and is overall better which will make it easier to drive.
mtc3od is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 02:06 PM   #973
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

Tc3 is good but the Tc4 is better as it's beefed up and it's newer

Chazz
Chazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 02:09 PM   #974
Tech Master
 
Paul_TC4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,015
Send a message via AIM to Paul_TC4
Default Re: Brandon Melton, are you using the

Quote:
Originally posted by Nightbreed

I need front arms before I'm back in the game.

Youre not the only one

I also broke an arm when I first ran the tc4. The bumper provides no protection to the wheels.
Paul_TC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 02:14 PM   #975
Tech Master
 
Peter Busch's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,491
Default

The TC3 was the same way untill the RPM bumper came out, hopefully the new one will be here soon or you could probably fabricate something for now.
Peter Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0