R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2009, 05:00 PM   #9376
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Go down a little bit. We have a classifieds sections with both a FS and wanted. Unless they are already sold, last I checked there are both RTR and FT rollers in our classies. Good luck finding a car


--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 10:12 AM   #9377
Tech Master
 
tech5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: At the Track
Posts: 1,103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I would like to know if there is any other wheel nuts for the tc4. I am trying to use HPI wheels but the center bore is too small. If you have any suggestions, please help.
__________________
TRACKSTARRC.COM
Track Star Racer Services / DE racing / TKO Bearings / AKA Racing / WRD2 / KO Propo / Fantom Motors and Batteries / M2C Racing / Scale Auto Engineering/EKD designs/STRC
"FROM THE BENCH TO THE TRACK, WE GOT YOUR BACK!"
tech5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 10:22 AM   #9378
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

these are stock :
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/8019

these are low profile :
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/16628

or you can use any 8-32 locknut

The HPI wheels will fit, hpi wheel nuts wont.
Rojna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:58 PM   #9379
Tech Master
 
tech5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: At the Track
Posts: 1,103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thank you for the reply. I have the blue and stock nuts but my associated wheel nut wrench does not allow the nut to tighten down all the way. I have the HPI te-37 wheels 6mm offset and the socket will not fit into the wheel nut area. Any help would be great!
__________________
TRACKSTARRC.COM
Track Star Racer Services / DE racing / TKO Bearings / AKA Racing / WRD2 / KO Propo / Fantom Motors and Batteries / M2C Racing / Scale Auto Engineering/EKD designs/STRC
"FROM THE BENCH TO THE TRACK, WE GOT YOUR BACK!"
tech5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 01:47 PM   #9380
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

As long as you are using the ASC 6943 lock nuts you wont have any problems with those wheels.

Just make sure you use a good 11/32 nut driver :
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/24636

The plastic one from the kit is not to good
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC4-dsn_9801.jpg  
Rojna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:08 PM   #9381
Tech Master
 
tech5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: At the Track
Posts: 1,103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I will try that. Thank you.
__________________
TRACKSTARRC.COM
Track Star Racer Services / DE racing / TKO Bearings / AKA Racing / WRD2 / KO Propo / Fantom Motors and Batteries / M2C Racing / Scale Auto Engineering/EKD designs/STRC
"FROM THE BENCH TO THE TRACK, WE GOT YOUR BACK!"
tech5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 06:21 PM   #9382
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tech5 View Post
I would like to know if there is any other wheel nuts for the tc4. I am trying to use HPI wheels but the center bore is too small. If you have any suggestions, please help.
If the axle thread is too big to fit through the hole on the wheel just drill it our bigger, I've had to do this all 13 sets of wheels I've got oddly enough my one set of hpi wheel hasn't been touch. I think the problem lays with the dish wheels are most likely metric and the tc4 is an imperial car.
__________________
Team Associated B5m | Team Associated T5m | Team Associated TC6 | Team Associated TC5x
Scooter79rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 08:07 PM   #9383
Tech Addict
 
TomTomTuning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Camp Hill, Pa
Posts: 689
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I need a battery strap for my TC4... The stock one isn't working for me...
Came off while riding and my 150.00 lipo when rolling on me.. 8-(

I have a large 5400mah 3s lipo...

I'm thinking of just using velcro to make a strap.. but if anyone has opinions let me know.
TomTomTuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 09:57 PM   #9384
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salinas,CA (831)
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to MKO3jzgte
Default

i use a 3racing battery strap on mine
__________________
Associated TC4 CF
Yokomo CGM
Tamiya tt01 x2
Tamiya TA03
MKO3jzgte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 06:01 PM   #9385
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,960
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just mod the chassis so you can use battery tape...



... old pic but you get the idea.
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 12:00 PM   #9386
Tech Regular
 
Hooligan_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Soldier, Ks.
Posts: 338
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Question for all you TC4 gurus. I bought a team kit from a local who put the kit together but never ran it. I have since put in electronics, set up the shocks with recommended fluids, pistons, and springs that the local racers used last year. I have even used the intergy setup station2 to make sure my camber and toe are evenly setup.

That being said. Under exceleration it will slightly pull to one side and when you let off the throttle it will pull to the other. When driving at a slow speed it tracks perfectly straight. I finally took it into the local hobby shop to have it looked at and after a close inspection it looked like there was just a little bit of slop where the steering rack is fastened to the chassis (if you look at the pic above, the bearing next to the far left battery cell and the bearing just under the turnbuckle coming off of the servo). He is ordering me new bearings and the fasteners that actually sit inside the bearings. But is this problem common? I've tried cranking down the fastener but that "slop" is still there. The only way to be able to tighten it up more would be to bust out the dremel and take just a hair off of the fastener that slides through the bearing.

Has anyone else ever had this issue with the steering? What did you do to fix it?

Thanks in advance for any input.
__________________
Dee & Mee Hobbies Topeka, Ks.
Dee & Mee On Road Racing Club
Hooligan_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 12:10 PM   #9387
Tech Elite
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,197
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

you can try shimming it.

not sure if mine is shimmed or not, but there is always a little torque steer with shaft cars, barely noticable though - try fixing your steering.
__________________
John Tsang 🏁 VBC Racing 🚗 ORCA RC 🚗 GripworksRC 🚗 MotivRC 🚗 GravityRC 🚗 RC America

http://www.facebook.com/VancouverRRR 🏁 http://www.facebook.com/OvergearedRacing
R3VoLuTiOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 12:14 PM   #9388
Tech Master
 
cwoods34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indy-freakin'-ana
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I have 2 FT TC4's, one of them has an aluminum steering assembly and the other has a standard graphite assembly. They both have a slight tick of play in them, but are properly built and fastened to the chassis. So, it will always have just the slightest bit of slop in it.

Thursday I was getting my 17.5 Foam car together, and it would pull on-throttle slightly, and the steering didn't feel consistent. It turns out that the right steering knuckle was binding slightly on the caster block. Check everything else first to ensure that any problems you have are actually in the steering assembly

Anything quick in a shaft-driven car will suffer from torque-steer. What motor and battery combination are you running?
cwoods34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 12:50 PM   #9389
Tech Regular
 
Hooligan_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Soldier, Ks.
Posts: 338
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I'm running a 13.5 brushless venom system and a team orion 4800 mah lipo battery. The guy I had check out my system didn't tear into the the vehicle but he was holding it in his hand giving the drive train a thorough look while playing with the throttle. Then he went outside to drive it. Another local driver came out and drove it around on a fresh paved surface too. He mentioned torque steer but said what is going on isn't torque steer. They both think its somewhere in the steering rack. Tomorrow is race day and I may get some more hands on input. I just wish I had today off so I could tear the front end apart and check out all the components one by one.
__________________
Dee & Mee Hobbies Topeka, Ks.
Dee & Mee On Road Racing Club
Hooligan_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 01:21 PM   #9390
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

The steering is a little loose. You can't eliminate all of the slop, but by putting some shims under the steering bellcranks. You can take out some of it.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:00 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0