R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2006, 10:17 PM   #8866
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Milwaukee Wisconsin
Posts: 80
Default

Acer sells bearings individually.

Associated uses "standard" bearing sizes for all of its kits. For instance, the wheel/hub bearings are all the same in the TC4 and B4/T4. The Differential outdrive bearings are also the same. I'm not sure, but I would not bet against it, the bearings inside of the diffs are probably the same as well. In all three kits, these bearings populate nearly the entire list of bearings in the kits.

The only different bearings in the cars are the steering rack bearings, and frankly, ceramic bearings are a complete waste for a steering rack. If I bought a kit, I would ask for extra wheel/hub bearings instead of the rack bearings (they charge the same price for all their bearings).
Section 8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 05:10 AM   #8867
Tech Addict
 
rcdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Agusan del Norte
Posts: 547
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Maim
rcfordummies: F.Y.I. TC4 front steering blocks and rear hub carriers also fit on the TC3. The TC4 front steering blocks give you a second steering link mount location for more agressive ackermann settnigs, something that the TC3 steering blocks don't offer. The TC4 rear hub carriers don't have the hole for the grub screw that locks the hub carrier pivot bar, but a 1/2 drop of CA on the front and rear of the rear arm where the pivot enters and exits the axle is more than enough to keep it in place.

I run a TC3 and these parts and tricks work for me daily.

Best of luck! Mr.Maim

any other tc3 parts that may fit in the tc4?
__________________
TeamXray, TeamAssociated, Esky, Tamiya
rcdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 05:34 AM   #8868
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Mr Maim & S_Fender..

Thanks! Ive tried fitting it just now it works great! particularly the front steering blocks and the braces.

I think apart from those parts.. the TC4 CVDs, diffs can also fit into the TC3 as well.
rcfordummies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 07:07 AM   #8869
PW
Tech Elite
 
PW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 4,277
Send a message via AIM to PW
Default



http://www.racing-cars.com/usa/main.asp
__________________
Paul Wynn

JConcepts - Team Associated - Reedy - XP - TSR Products - MIP - Stickit1
P1 Brand - "If it's only for fun; then take out the transponder?!"
PW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 02:02 PM   #8870
Tech Regular
 
tc4kid191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: What is OUR world is coming to??
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to tc4kid191
Default

ive been out of this hobby for about a year and im comming back in. ill get new tires, rebuild the shocks. anything else before i start driving?
tc4kid191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 09:09 PM   #8871
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,276
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default Closing our doors

Hey gang, all of our remaining TC4 items are 40% off our everyday low prices. Just click here to check them out.

Kraig
KT Hobbies
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 06:38 PM   #8872
Tech Fanatic
 
B4Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia. St Ives RC Club.
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Dall
By the way, any of you guys got any photos of a TC4FT chassis set up with the factory team ducted cooling fans?

Regards,
Hey Matt,

I use the cooling fans, not only to cool the motor but it gives a larger surface area to mount your esc on... I had a GTB fall off during a race once. No good man. Almost wrecked it!!
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC4-img_2047.jpg   Team Associated TC4-img_2048.jpg   Team Associated TC4-img_2050.jpg  
B4Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 09:24 PM   #8873
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 108
Default

Thanks B4Bandit,
It looks like it fits well, I have ordered one a while ago so should be at the shop to pick up soon I hope.
Do you have the VCS2 shock upgrade fitted? I've had troubles with the top O-ring seals lately (just old) so got the shock re-build kit and the O-rings that came in the kit were a bit de-formed and didn't fit correctly, so the shocks still leak!

Regards,
Matt Dall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 10:36 AM   #8874
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,960
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Dall
Thanks B4Bandit,
It looks like it fits well, I have ordered one a while ago so should be at the shop to pick up soon I hope.
Do you have the VCS2 shock upgrade fitted? I've had troubles with the top O-ring seals lately (just old) so got the shock re-build kit and the O-rings that came in the kit were a bit de-formed and didn't fit correctly, so the shocks still leak!

Regards,

The VCS2 kit requires you to remove the oring at the top of the shock body... the oring that sits at the bottom of the threads that hold on the shock cap. The inner bladder is what seals the cap to the shock body, not the outer oring. If you still have the outer oring on the shock body, then the VCS2 cap will not go all the way down and will be prone to leakage. Check it out and let us know.

DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 03:19 PM   #8875
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 108
Default

DaveW, I still have the original VCS shocks. I am thinking about getting the VCS2, I'm sure they are much easier to get right. Similar to the Tamiya system?

Regards,
Matt Dall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 04:01 PM   #8876
Tech Master
 
AM03GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

the VCS2is much easier to put together and results in faster and better "matched" shocks...
__________________
Associated // Reedy // Radiopost // XP Digital // Parma PSE // Integy
AM03GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 04:09 PM   #8877
Tech Fanatic
 
B4Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia. St Ives RC Club.
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I only just replaced the old shock system with the new and haven't had a chance to run it in race conditions or otherwise. Hopefully I built them right!!!

Happy Christmas to all
B4Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 07:12 PM   #8878
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,960
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Dall
DaveW, I still have the original VCS shocks. I am thinking about getting the VCS2, I'm sure they are much easier to get right. Similar to the Tamiya system?

Regards,

Like AMO3GT said, they are easier to build and more consistent from build to build. I tend to use lighter oil/springs with the VCS2 setup versus a non-bladder shock setup... the VCS2 bladders are thicker than what tamiya offers, not to mention piston hole differences and piston to shock wall clearances. I still use the bleeder screw style cap that Yokomo put out years ago, with the VCS2 "bobbin" in the bottom of the shock, no bladder. The higher grip surface you run on, the more likely you will use a bladder setup. I included a pic that shows the bleeder screw on the shock cap... its not the greatest shot but you get the idea.
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC4-ftc4-1.jpg  
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 07:50 PM   #8879
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 105
Send a message via Yahoo to LaxRacer
Default

DaveW
How many washers are you running with those losi hubs ??? and which hubs are they ?

C
LaxRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 07:52 PM   #8880
Tech Regular
 
RCpurplecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey DaveW, where'd you get those CVD's? How much do they affect performance?
__________________
TEAM SRU
FT TC5
NoVak
rematch batteries
RCpurplecow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0