R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2005, 09:47 PM   #2386
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default I tried moving the front shocks in one, but

it was softer and gave me more steering that I didn't want.

I went to 1 1/2 degree of rear toe to free it up in stock, but it didn't have enough bite. So I went back to 2 degrees. May be different with d-pinks.

Last edited by RCknight; 01-03-2005 at 09:53 PM.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 09:56 PM   #2387
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default deleted

double post

Last edited by RCknight; 01-04-2005 at 02:11 PM.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 01:22 AM   #2388
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default Re: runingrc10...

Quote:
Originally posted by RCknight
I use a sway bar to help take out some steering and to get some rear bite. I'm using purples on the rear and I seem to need the extra rear traction. Soon as my tires wear out, I'm going to orange/d-pink set.

This car has a lot of steering and I'm running a Mazda 6 on top of that. I'm thinking of running an Alfa next.

Droop? Not sure. I set the droop in the front by adjusting the top of the sping so that it's just touches the shock collar and the rear about 1mm from the shock collar. This seem to be spot on for me.

The car really seems to be hooked up for me now, but I'm always searching for something better. I tried 6 degree caster blocks and I liked it better, but that was without shims. So I'm undecided on which was better. The pros say stick with some anti-dive and some anti-squat. I still somewhat new to tunning and I can't tell much of a difference between the 4 and 6. One thing I do want to expirement with is bump steer. Does this give more steering? If so, I don't need any then.
you what? how the hell can you set droop by the shock collar? all your doing there is affecting the ride height, nothing to do with the droop at all.

i can see your setup being totally f*cked
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 02:29 AM   #2389
Tech Addict
 
fathead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 568
Default Re: Re: runingrc10...

Quote:
Originally posted by raving-monkey
you what? how the hell can you set droop by the shock collar? all your doing there is affecting the ride height, nothing to do with the droop at all.

i can see your setup being totally f*cked
He means he sets his ride height and then with the car off the ground with the suspension fully extended you screw the droop screws in until the top of the spring just touches the top spring seat which is the shock collar.

I do the same thing to set my droop
__________________
Slavich Design
fathead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 02:37 AM   #2390
Tech Master
 
Fatboy Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coming soooooon
Posts: 1,052
Default Re: runingrc10...

RCKnight was pertaining to this type of technique for droop setting. Photo courtesy of CompetitionX

Droop setting

Last edited by Fatboy Joe; 01-04-2005 at 02:48 AM.
Fatboy Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 02:51 AM   #2391
Tech Master
 
Fatboy Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coming soooooon
Posts: 1,052
Default Spool Setup

Fatboy Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 07:16 AM   #2392
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,431
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: runingrc10...

Quote:
Originally posted by fathead
He means he sets his ride height and then with the car off the ground with the suspension fully extended you screw the droop screws in until the top of the spring just touches the top spring seat which is the shock collar.

I do the same thing to set my droop
Yeah, I use this method too. It works out to 2mm uptravel every time I've done it.
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 07:20 AM   #2393
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by runnin rc10
RcKnight,

We are running a setup something like yours but with white and purple springs. But this weeking in Ohio, we got some help from a local and he wasnt running any shims under any of the arm blocks at all. I found this kind of strage but it worked pretty well. I thought the rear end need to free up just a tad more, but all in all it was decent. I just have one question about the front swaybar? Why on the front? O and how much droop did you run on that setup?
iran the eric d set up with no shims the car was balistic and very fast off the corners and planted
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 09:01 AM   #2394
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

does anyone have a alright carpet setup on rubbers?

smallish indoor carpet track with a stock motor (most likely on cs22s)
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 09:05 AM   #2395
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bath/Bristol Area, UK
Posts: 203
Default

Check out the CML site, I've put up Richard Barton's setup for Watford running T27's on Carpet. Might be a good place to start?

Andy
Andy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 09:51 AM   #2396
Tech Addict
 
Wicked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Can someone lmk if there is going to be a rtr tc4 coming out soon. I am mainly a MT guy but would like to get into TC and well I just don't have all the money right now to build up a nice tc4. But I like the support ae gives to there cars in way of al the after market parts you can get. So I would like to start off with an rtr car then build it up to a team car or better.

Thanks
__________________
Baja 5B Flux, Baja 5T, HPI Savage Flux XL, Brushless Erevo, Summit, X Maxx, Arrma Big Rock, Tamiya Bruiser, & Hi lux, Slash, Skully,
Blade 200qx, Inductrix 200, Nano qx2 fpv, Cx, Proto X SLT
Wicked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 10:01 AM   #2397
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Andy M
Check out the CML site, I've put up Richard Barton's setup for Watford running T27's on Carpet. Might be a good place to start?

Andy
ok, ill take a peek....i used to use t27s actually (control tyre) but now its open im trying out diff tyres
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 10:31 AM   #2398
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

got his setup printed out ready for saturday.

one thing Andy, i know you do the cml site so does this mean you sort through all the emails?

if so did you get my email (mhirst@gmail.com) about the the motor clamp?
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 10:34 AM   #2399
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bath/Bristol Area, UK
Posts: 203
Default

Sorry Matt, I'm 100% website so I only get the website related email. Everything else goes to the main office.
Andy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 10:36 AM   #2400
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

Ok, no problem.

hope to hear from them soon

one thing (to the rest of you) have any of you had any problems with motor clamps cracking?

i tightened mine down (not fully) and it cracked accross the lug where the none springy screw goes. i'm not the only person as i know someone else that has had this happen...near same crack line to. i'm thinking its a dodgey batch (we bought our tc4s at a similar time) with a batch of dodgey motor clamps....it still works like, my motor isn't going anywhere but its nice to have a complete motor clamp

anyone?
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:27 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0