R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-18-2004, 05:52 PM   #1651
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Yo Brandon Melton give me a call when you get a chance! We have a pretty sweet track here in Nashville. You can come up an stay at my house and race one weekend. Bean You know one of the Waffle house employees.
beanster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 05:56 PM   #1652
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,337
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

I had no problems with my TC4 shocks either. . .

Of course, a bladder-based shock is going to be easier. . .but still - aE's shocks are no surprise, they've been making them this way for a long time.
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 05:58 PM   #1653
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bath/Bristol Area, UK
Posts: 203
Default

I've just bought 2 pairs of Yokomo caps with bleed screws, apparently they work pretty well with the AE shocks.
Andy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 06:33 PM   #1654
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: IN MY OWN HAPPY PLACE
Posts: 1,600
Send a message via AIM to Javen13 Send a message via Yahoo to Javen13
Default

yeah i had a set of yok caps on the tc3 and they worked well
Javen13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 06:35 PM   #1655
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bath/Bristol Area, UK
Posts: 203
Default

Cool, I'll try them out on Sunday. Currently got my hands full prepping my L4 for a 12th National at the weekend.

Whats the best way to use them? Fill the shock up with as much oil as poss, leave to stand then bleed out the air?
Andy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 08:40 PM   #1656
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

The replacement diff gears from AE came in the mail last week. I finally got around to measuring them today.

For reference: 3/32" diff ball - .0935"

Diff gears that came with car - .0930"

Replacement diff gears - .0870"

Re-built diffs with new diff gears, and they went together so much smoother. With the gears included in the kit, if I built the diffs by tightening them down all the way, then backing off 1/2 turn, they would barely move. However if I loosened them, they would slip. Building the diffs with the new gears using this same method, they assemble perfectly, and are much more free and smooth.

Josh
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 01:04 AM   #1657
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

I have been running AE shocks with Yoke bladder caps on my son's TC3 for over a year. In fact I ran the same arrangement on my own Yoke SD. 40 oil and number 2 pistons all round and unobtanium shock shafts. Other than that, everything stock.

They are simple to bleed and comeup right straight away.

Oh, and I use Yokomo silicone seals instead of the red AE ones too. Never had any problems.
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 08:59 AM   #1658
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,515
Default

Johnbull..
do you have any part #'s for the bladders etc. Feeling a bit lazy and I don't want to look them up... plus I dont want to get the wrong numbers

Thanks,
E
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 09:01 AM   #1659
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,515
Default

51, you out there?

is there a setup sheet available yet? also, what setup did you run on you car at the SRS TC race (did you go)?

Thanks,
E
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 09:50 AM   #1660
Tech Adept
 
diskostew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lakewood, CA
Posts: 182
Send a message via Yahoo to diskostew
Default

well I drove the car last night and the shocks held up fine. They didn't blow out and held up just like my old TC3 shocks.

Also i put swaybars on the car last night. WOW what a differnce. now my car is DIALED!

johnbull: do you have the part number for the yokomo seals? I want to give them a try...
diskostew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 10:10 AM   #1661
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bath/Bristol Area, UK
Posts: 203
Default

The ones I ordered (black plastic with tiny screws to bleed air with) were part YS8Y

Andy
Andy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 01:37 PM   #1662
Tech Elite
 
Brandon Melton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,506
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Melton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beanster
Yo Brandon Melton give me a call when you get a chance! We have a pretty sweet track here in Nashville. You can come up an stay at my house and race one weekend. Bean You know one of the Waffle house employees.
Unfortunatly I know too many WH employees, lol. Seems to always be the same ones at 3am, haha. Schedule's pretty packed up through early Feb. but I will try and make it over.
__________________
Team Associated~Reedy~Werks Racing~Pro-Line~Competition Suspension Inc.~Schelle Racing Innovations
Brandon Melton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 01:51 PM   #1663
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Diskostew....

where did you get your swaybars? Still none at my HS.

Running stock and foams, is anyone running shims under their camber link ball studs?

I'm going to get me a set of those new Losi JRX-S shocks when they come out. They look very nice and I think the are a cartrige, bladder type system. Very Nice.

Last edited by RCknight; 11-19-2004 at 01:56 PM.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 02:11 PM   #1664
Tech Adept
 
diskostew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lakewood, CA
Posts: 182
Send a message via Yahoo to diskostew
Default Re: Diskostew....

Quote:
Originally posted by RCknight
where did you get your swaybars? Still none at my HS.

I got them at my home track (socal). they have a bunch of them in stock. and yes they make a huge differance. you can go to www.socalrc.com. there number is listed on their site.
diskostew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 02:20 PM   #1665
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Diskcostew are...you racing on carpet?

I'm racing stock, foam on ozite, tight track. Any of the guys using a front and back or just front?
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:14 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0