R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2005, 12:09 PM   #376
Tech Fanatic
 
primusblowsgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pingree Grove, IL
Posts: 987
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to primusblowsgoat Send a message via Yahoo to primusblowsgoat
Default

im about to place a fat order with speedmerchants website, side springs, front springs, washers, diff parts, lots of stuff.

one thing id like to to is only have to order from one spot, i was hopping i could get a clamping hub for my rev 3 but i dont see it on the website, am i blind or is it not there?
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Schumacher Cat SX2
Schumacher Cougar SV
primusblowsgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 12:24 PM   #377
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,603
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by primusblowsgoat
im about to place a fat order with speedmerchants website, side springs, front springs, washers, diff parts, lots of stuff.

one thing id like to to is only have to order from one spot, i was hopping i could get a clamping hub for my rev 3 but i dont see it on the website, am i blind or is it not there?
E-mail him and ask. I know he's including big ring diffs with all the Rev.4 kits, but I'm not sure if he sells the hubs separately or not.
__________________
Team CRC, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 06:25 PM   #378
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,500
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtveten
Anybody know where I can order a Rev.4 that offer 2 or 3 day shipping?

Mark
mark mark
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 06:29 PM   #379
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,500
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtveten
So if milling the block arms causes problems would I be correct in assuming that I should shim the steering block and not under the arm to adjust for larger size wheels?

Mark
I'm wondering about milling the block..Hmmmmmmmmmmm got a mill
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 07:12 PM   #380
Tech Addict
 
eforer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 607
Send a message via AIM to eforer
Default

Bruce, if you have some purple/grey's for the car tomorrow I'll gladly buy them off you. Todd doesn't have any in the shop and I didn't have a chance to order any yet. My servo is on the way but won't be here till the weekend, so if I can take you up on the loaner JR that would be great to.

See you tomorrow, I'm really excited about running a rev 4.
__________________
Speed Merchant/Corally USA/Specialized RC/Team Kwik/Tekin/Sweep/Parma PSE/Team Pickles Performance
eforer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 06:10 PM   #381
Tech Regular
 
Pro Models's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 356
Default

HI Bruce,

I sent you an email.

Bye for now.

Gustav
Pro Models is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 05:59 AM   #382
Tech Addict
 
eforer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 607
Send a message via AIM to eforer
Default

Bruce, thanks for all your help last night. The car was super dialed. I cannot beleive how good the car was for the first time out with it.
__________________
Speed Merchant/Corally USA/Specialized RC/Team Kwik/Tekin/Sweep/Parma PSE/Team Pickles Performance
eforer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 05:04 PM   #383
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 338
Default ESC on the Mike Dumas car

On the pic of the Mike Dumas car on the Speed Merchant website - What is being used to replace the original Novak cap that comes with the GTX???????????????? (the "blue" cap)
DLM2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 05:22 PM   #384
Tech Master
 
JamesArluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,232
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JamesArluck
Default

Looks like the smaller of the two caps that comes with the LRP Quantum world's upgrade kit.

-James
JamesArluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 09:41 AM   #385
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,634
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Can someone tell me how to shave my steering knuckles and how much to take off?

Also is there a good way to attach my servo without having to drill and countersink the servo mounts?

Mark
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 09:47 AM   #386
Tech Addict
 
RichChang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 587
Default

I used a mill and took off .30. Others use dremels, but I'm not awesome enough to do it that way. Darn shaky hands. LOL!

For your servo, you can attach is using super thin servo tape to make sure it is in the correct location, and then shoo-goo it to make it semi-permanent.

-Rich
RichChang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 09:48 AM   #387
Tech Fanatic
 
primusblowsgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pingree Grove, IL
Posts: 987
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to primusblowsgoat Send a message via Yahoo to primusblowsgoat
Default

I shoe gooed my servo in my rev 3, but kept popping it off(im the second worst driver in the world), so this is what i did

put a piece of servo tape on the chassis, put a bead of shoe goo round the servo tape and put some CA on the servo case, probably some over kill there but oh well its still on there.


ps. im drilling holes before the next race tho. lol
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Schumacher Cat SX2
Schumacher Cougar SV
primusblowsgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 09:51 AM   #388
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,634
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

When you shoe goo the servo directly to the chassis do you have to use a special servo saver? I tried gooing the servo directly to the chassis and it stuck down good but the saver didn't fit so I put it back on the mounts and gooed to whole thing in but I am a bit woried about the gap I filled between the bottom of the servo and the chassis.

Mark
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 10:12 AM   #389
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtveten
When you shoe goo the servo directly to the chassis do you have to use a special servo saver? I tried gooing the servo directly to the chassis and it stuck down good but the saver didn't fit so I put it back on the mounts and gooed to whole thing in but I am a bit woried about the gap I filled between the bottom of the servo and the chassis.

Mark
You have to grind a relief/divot in the chassis before you can mount the servo flat against the chassis. Find a circular Dremel grinding stone that has a little bigger diameter of the servo saver. Mark your chassis where the relief/divot needs to be and just grind out enough material to clear the servo. Remember that the servo saver does flex some so you need to make sure you have enough clearance to accommodate that flex.

As for servo tape, Use the MIP white, thin servo tape. I have had some horrendous crashes and never, ever have the servo come loose. Over time, it will start to dry up and allow the servo to squirm under loads. When that happens and you will be able to tell because the steering will not center, just pop off the servo, peal off the tape, and reattach the servo. That is the other good thing about the MIP tape. It comes off in one piece!! No more scratching to get the servo tape off.
Crashby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 07:53 AM   #390
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 338
Default

You can also servo tape and surround with a bead of shu glue - the servo tape should raise the servo enough to clear - and if you have some rubbing - take a piece of sand paper and wedge between the servo and chassis and take a little material off the bottom of the servo - I have mounted z5550 and z5650 servos this way without any problems...............
DLM2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedmerchant REV 4.0 rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 10-12-2007 07:29 PM
*** 1/12 Speedmerchant 4.0 *** rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 28 09-29-2007 06:46 AM
WTB CRC Gen X or Speedmerchant 4.5 rraden R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 7 06-05-2007 06:56 PM
Speedmerchant v4, Speedmerchant replica....and more BlackKat R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 07-25-2006 06:47 AM
Speedmerchant rev 4 BritRacer R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-28-2006 08:41 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:58 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0