Like Tree16Likes

Serpent S411

Old 05-03-2013, 05:15 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)

I have a 2.0 want to pick up some pinions. I think it comes with a 48P 84T spur. Im going to run a 10.5 boosted. On ashfault about a 180ft straight, LH track in Joliet, IL. What handful of pinions should I pick up to start with?

Thanks
Old 05-03-2013, 06:41 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Benzaah
Can anyone share there experiences on carpet when starting with a new carpet and then progressing up to high traction as the event wears on. We have a brand new CRC rug coming for AOC and i have zero experience on carpet. By the sounds of it there could be up to 200 racers attending the event which will have Ride as the spec tyre. Any advice on goop as well would be appreciated. Unfortunately some of the more readily available treatments in the US are a bit hard to come by down here. I have not been able to find SXT or sticky fingers down here.
Since no-one else has answered you, I'll throw out some debatably useful stuff.

Grip will probably come up pretty quick. I'd guess by the end of the first full day of running. I've gone through new carpet once and new layouts a few times at the club level, but never something like snowbirds or IIC with totally virgin carpet getting mobbed by a ton of people, so I could be off. In any case, new carpet that hasn't gripped up feels more like asphalt: very low grip, but very consistent regardless of line. It's kinda fun. Don't tune your car during this phase. Just keep a base setup and concentrate on learning the layout. You'll probably want/need to sauce the living crap out of your tires during this stage.