R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 03-29-2013, 08:43 AM   #5386
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmah View Post
I haven't gone through and read all 359 pages on this thread obviously, so sorry if this has been covered.

Has anyone had any experience with the Serpent 411 rtr?

http://www.serpent.com/product/400007

Im fairly new to the whole touring car thing, and this looks like a fairly cheap way to get involved. Is this thing going to be even close to competitive if i was to race it on a fast outdoor track?

Any thoughts/opinions would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Tim.
For starting out, that it's a pretty good package. Don't know too much about the Dragon electrics, but by all accounts, seem pretty decent and robust enough. The car itself will be more than competitive for someone just starting out (not to mention tough too) with enough tuning options so you can grow with the car as well.
The only thing, IMO, that is a negative, is that if you intend to go racing with the car, it's unlikely that the motor and esc will be legal... but there are enough cheap motor/esc combo's out there that can be used for racing, that I wouldn't worry too much. Although that is dependent on what you want to do with it.

HiH
Ed
Old 03-29-2013, 09:32 AM   #5387
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmah View Post
I haven't gone through and read all 359 pages on this thread obviously, so sorry if this has been covered.

Has anyone had any experience with the Serpent 411 rtr?

http://www.serpent.com/product/400007

Im fairly new to the whole touring car thing, and this looks like a fairly cheap way to get involved. Is this thing going to be even close to competitive if i was to race it on a fast outdoor track?

Any thoughts/opinions would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Tim.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post