R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-10-2011, 09:10 AM   #676
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 329
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Default HELP

guys I need some help,I am totaly new to lrp ss and i am using in 1/12.My problam is that my speedo is flat on the bottom.My friends speedo(same 1) is much much faster before the boost hits than mine is.I have tried 2 brand new units to the same result.when testing between my friends and mine we used the exact same settings,rollout,wiring,sensor wiring etc. The only diff between mine and his is hes using ko radio and i use futaba,me a D3 motor(tried many diff endbell timing) and his a old orca/1stgen speedpasion no timing.his hauls but!!Ive check updates with bridge and its current 4.4. Ive re-calibrated many times, nothing. Please any help or suggestion would be great,thanks
traitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 10:22 AM   #677
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by traitor View Post
guys I need some help,I am totaly new to lrp ss and i am using in 1/12.My problam is that my speedo is flat on the bottom.My friends speedo(same 1) is much much faster before the boost hits than mine is.I have tried 2 brand new units to the same result.when testing between my friends and mine we used the exact same settings,rollout,wiring,sensor wiring etc. The only diff between mine and his is hes using ko radio and i use futaba,me a D3 motor(tried many diff endbell timing) and his a old orca/1stgen speedpasion no timing.his hauls but!!Ive check updates with bridge and its current 4.4. Ive re-calibrated many times, nothing. Please any help or suggestion would be great,thanks
Can we assume you have and LRP SXXSS ? v1 or v2 ?
To find the proper rollout for your motor I would suggest the baseline as listed in the instructions included with your esc, and work from there.
No endbell timing to start with.
LRP in general need a lot of rpm to work in the range they are designed for.
Gearing up or down a few teeth from the baseline should point you in the right direction for your track.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 10:28 AM   #678
Tech Regular
 
masterhit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by traitor View Post
his hauls but!!Ive check updates with bridge and its current 4.4. Ive re-calibrated many times, nothing. Please any help or suggestion would be great,thanks
Did you check his firmware version? In my experience, and lawdy I done did put allot of time into the lrp, the older firmware was better for spec boosted in 12th.

The timing ramped in much quicker on 4.2 which is key for 12th.

Mike
masterhit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 11:40 AM   #679
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 329
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Default

hey thanks alot i didnt think too check his out to see what he has.Yes mine is the stock spec version 2 running 17.5 boosted,would i be able too download 4.2 and install if it is better for stock classes?Thanks again
traitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 12:07 PM   #680
Tech Regular
 
masterhit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by traitor View Post
hey thanks alot i didnt think too check his out to see what he has.Yes mine is the stock spec version 2 running 17.5 boosted,would i be able too download 4.2 and install if it is better for stock classes?Thanks again
I could not find it on the LRP website. I do have it on my computer. PM me an email address and I will send it.

isn't it fun trying to tune with blinking lights having no clue what they represent for degrees or ramp rate, let alone across the different revisions?

Mike Slaughter
masterhit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 12:21 PM   #681
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 329
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Default

pm sent thanks
traitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:25 PM   #682
Tech Adept
 
Tommy mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ogden, IL
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy mac
Default Problem with Tc Ver 2

I have a tc that is shutting down after 39% on the transmitter. I fact I can't Get it to program it in Blinky mode. Anyone have a thought on whats going on...

Btw, I am trying to use it in a 1 cell wgt car.

Thanks, Tom
Tommy mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:29 PM   #683
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,155
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy mac View Post
I have a tc that is shutting down after 39% on the transmitter. I fact I can't Get it to program it in Blinky mode. Anyone have a thought on whats going on...

Btw, I am trying to use it in a 1 cell wgt car.

Thanks, Tom
I believe the Tc is not a 1s esc. Its hitting voltage cut off.
__________________
https://www.gofundme.com/ncontrol
Joe Maxey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:47 PM   #684
Tech Adept
 
Tommy mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ogden, IL
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy mac
Default

.....

Last edited by Tommy mac; 10-10-2011 at 08:47 PM.
Tommy mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 11:28 PM   #685
Tech Elite
 
DesertRat's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sniffin the 'Sauce Fumes
Posts: 2,648
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I've got a problem here, I took my Stock Spec which has performed great with no faults since I bought it and swapped a X12 7.5 turn motor onto it just for kicks, turned all of the settings back to blinky and was testing it for the first time with a fresh battery and it putted around just fine while I set the steering trim but when I gave it the first real rip of throttle and suddenly it just turned off. Didn't give a thermal warning or anything just off, darkness. I tried turning it off and back on, and nothing. No smoke, the speed control was cold, and I am very confused. I unpluged it and stuck a receiver pack in it to see if it twitched, and a red light came on, then nothing. Is there an email I can contact LRP at and get some answers? Its out of warranty and I wanted to use it in an upcoming race this next week.
__________________
I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
Current rides: Diggity DC4 Chassis #10. Losi JRX-S Type R. CRC Xi (retired), CRC Altered Ego Aluminum Chassis. Associated B4 based dirt oval late model.
WTB: Carpet racing in Arizona.
DesertRat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:22 AM   #686
Tech Elite
 
mike ivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Comin at ya from a distant galaxy
Posts: 2,792
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Any one have a 1c 1/12th setup for a D3 13.5 and a Revtech 13.5 running indoor carpet 84 spur 1.70" rear tire 100'x40'ish track
__________________
[-eXpress motorsports-] [-TQ Wire-]

1/12th Fo' Life!!! R.I.P Mike Reedy, R.I.P John Williams

[-Horsham RC-] [-Jackson RC-] [-RC Car World-] [ Black Out Free 2015 ]
mike ivy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 09:42 AM   #687
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertRat View Post
I've got a problem here, I took my Stock Spec which has performed great with no faults since I bought it and swapped a X12 7.5 turn motor onto it just for kicks, turned all of the settings back to blinky and was testing it for the first time with a fresh battery and it putted around just fine while I set the steering trim but when I gave it the first real rip of throttle and suddenly it just turned off. Didn't give a thermal warning or anything just off, darkness. I tried turning it off and back on, and nothing. No smoke, the speed control was cold, and I am very confused. I unpluged it and stuck a receiver pack in it to see if it twitched, and a red light came on, then nothing. Is there an email I can contact LRP at and get some answers? Its out of warranty and I wanted to use it in an upcoming race this next week.
Here in the USA, you deal with Team Associated, not LRP.
They have been awesome to deal with on my end.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 09:45 AM   #688
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Anaheim Ca.
Posts: 3,924
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Had mine do the shut off. Sent it in and got a brand new one a week later. AEs support is top notch.
__________________
TLR 22T 3.0, 2X Yokomo YZ-2 DTM, B64D (Temporqary 4 wheel), Mugen MBX7R Eco, Hobbywing, Futaba, LRH Hobbies, Amain Hobbies, iCharger.
jpcopeland1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 11:14 PM   #689
Tech Elite
 
entitymugenmtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northridge ca
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to entitymugenmtx
Default

I need some help guys. I've been going back and forth on what speed control to buy. Tekin RS PRO or a LRP SXX V2 is there any perks with the LRP vs the Tekin?

Thanks once again.
__________________
SPONSORS.....MY CHECKBOOK....
entitymugenmtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 11:24 PM   #690
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy mac View Post
I have a tc that is shutting down after 39% on the transmitter. I fact I can't Get it to program it in Blinky mode. Anyone have a thought on whats going on...

Btw, I am trying to use it in a 1 cell wgt car.

Thanks, Tom
The Version 2 TC speedo does have a built in booster, so it should be fine with 1 cell, but just make sure you have the voltage cut off set right. You want to have the first setting, set to either 0 (no cut off) or 1 (3 volts cut off). If this is set any other number, then the speedo will shut down as the 1 cell will not be giving it enough voltage to stop the speed thinking it has reached it's minium voltage
AGLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP SXX StockSpec ESC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 1241 06-08-2012 08:52 AM
TEKIN RS VS LRP SXX V2 What's your VOTE! RC-ZOMBIE Electric Off-Road 125 12-03-2011 08:16 PM
Tekin RS vs LRP SXX Stock Spec vs Mamba Max Pro Chris Gierse Electric Off-Road 30 08-10-2011 10:50 AM
Best ESC for MOD and 17.5? JayL Electric On-Road 29 08-06-2010 04:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:05 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net