R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2011, 01:24 PM   #226
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,814
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Funny stuff right there
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 07:34 PM   #227
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,470
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
Why the f*#% isn't this esc available in the STATES; I can't find one any where?! What gives!!?
i got one with the usb bridge pm me i might sell it
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-BITTYDESIGN-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 05:53 PM   #228
Tech Elite
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I installed the software on my computer today and using the USB bridge it was very easy to update the ESC to 4.4 software.

Now to hit the track to test it out.

Later,

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 11:28 PM   #229
Tech Master
 
mikecatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,274
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default What version software.

Hi all..Ive recieved my replacement SXX v2...
One question..I dont have the USB bridge..How can I tell whats the firmware?
Ive noticed on the LRP site there is an upgrade, dated 14/03/2011..
Anyone?
Looking forward to using this..

The kinetic is way too hard! I dont want to carry around a computer...
mikecatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 11:40 PM   #230
Tech Elite
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Mike,

You need the USB bridge to get the serial number and software version of the ESC. I purchased mine from Frontline in Newcastle. It was $50 and comes with the USB cable, bridge and a long sensor hall wire.

I have just updated my ESC from 4.2 to 4.4. I downloaded the software from LRP and it was easily done. They have 4.4 and 4.2 on the LRP website. You have to run the USB bridge software before the PC interface and ESC can connect.

Hope that helps.

Regards,

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 02:46 AM   #231
Tech Elite
 
B4james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Also Northern Beaches hobby centre has the Nosram USB bridges and all leads for $36.50, exactly the same as LRP just with a red header tag.
__________________
Follow me on Facebook - James Ainslie Designs or on Instagram - JA_Designs

*HEI International for Protoform/Proline/Spaz Stix
*Bitty Design Australia for Bodies and Liquid Mask
* Airbrushmegastore.com for all paint and airbrush supplies
B4james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 01:16 PM   #232
Tech Fanatic
 
Tron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 887
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Speedtech RC has them in stock...

http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...d=918&id=11202
__________________
Brett H - M03, TRF417, RM01x
"Slow Sportsman"
Tron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 01:22 PM   #233
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,814
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

THANKS GUYS!!!
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 12:05 AM   #234
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,125
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

That second setting, "torque" or "feel" or whatever it is now is interesting. I was running 0,7,7,1 on an X12 17.5 (rubber sedan) with the 4 dot insert geared around a 6.4. It had decent speed, but the motor sounded like it was struggling in the infield, and took a while to start ramping up on the straight. It also faded BAD before the 3 minute mark.

I kept the gearing the same and went to 0,5,9,1 and the car really started coming alive. The temps came down and the fade went away. I'm going to experiment with this some more, but it seems like there's a lot more to that second setting than I thought.

It's pretty crazy how different the power delivery is with this setup compared to the traditional Tekin boosted gear. The car doesn't look fast, but the lap times are undeniable.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:34 AM   #235
Tech Elite
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

syndr0me,

For the Mode 2 setting when using the X12 motors I have not exceeded setting 5 as per the recommendations in the instructions. From 6-10 is for all other types of motors. Not sure if the torque timing would work correctly above 6.

For boosted 21.5 I used 3,5,5,4 with the X12. I haven't tried applying more boost,(Mode 3) as I used the Team recommendations. I will have to test with a higher setting than 3,4,5,6 for TC 17.5 which I was using as my guide for 21.5 and temp testing the motor every minute.

Thanks for the feedback.

Regards,

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 05:58 PM   #236
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,470
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

here is a great setup i ran at the east coast champs 0,10,12,4 with fdr of 5.0 on a fantom ion 3 0 timing on motor.
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-BITTYDESIGN-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 06:19 PM   #237
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,125
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

SXX-SSv2 is in stock at tower. Hopefully that means other places will have them soon.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 08:54 PM   #238
Tech Master
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
Hi all..Ive recieved my replacement SXX v2...
One question..I dont have the USB bridge..How can I tell whats the firmware?
Ive noticed on the LRP site there is an upgrade, dated 14/03/2011..
Anyone?
Looking forward to using this..

The kinetic is way too hard! I dont want to carry around a computer...
how do you get a replacement.mine crapped out on me today.transponder wasnt working, then some dude plucked all my plugs from the reciever when my car was plugged in an on and running (warm up) then after the malay my sxx wont turn on. no smoke show no stinkies.
__________________
SCTE, DESC 410, XRAY XB4, MBX6 ECO
I hate feeling bad about feeling good about that!
Hand D Flooring
BDRMBULLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 12:39 AM   #239
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Ran mine for the first time friday night with a X12 (13.5t) and really liked it. I had the earlier Stock Spec but this V2 is much better and alot faster !

I started with the recommended setting 6.0fdr 3,2,3,0 but was to slow on the straight, then tried 3,3,5,0 and it was alot better on the staight but still a bit slow infield. Ended up gearing at 6.5 and 3,2,5,0 and was great.

It did feel like it was starting to fade later on through the night but I don't run a fan and I think this was because the motor may of still been a bit warm before the next heat, going to put a fan on between heats and I might even drop 'Feel' down to 1.

Great speedo easy to use with no need to have a laptop. I'll be getting another for my other car
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 12:44 AM   #240
Tech Elite
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

So far with my testing, if you are not using a X12 motor then you need to gear the car higher than normal. ie use a larger pinion, as the ESC has good torque.

On Mode 2, I have found that setting the throttle setting closer to max gives better grunt as well as adjusting Mode 3. It depends on which motor you use whether the boost should be slow or fast.

In testing yesterday I found my car came alive with higher values in Mode 2 and 3, however so did the heat. I need to do some more testing before I will be happy with the results.

My observations are similar to Warren Weavers, with his settings, however since I am running 21.5 my FDR was way different.

I will be trying less Boost next time and checking the motor temps, so I can be safe for a six minute run.

I also need to test with some of the fast 21.5 guys' who are using other brand ESC's.

Later,

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP SXX StockSpec ESC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 1241 06-08-2012 08:52 AM
TEKIN RS VS LRP SXX V2 What's your VOTE! RC-ZOMBIE Electric Off-Road 125 12-03-2011 08:16 PM
Tekin RS vs LRP SXX Stock Spec vs Mamba Max Pro Chris Gierse Electric Off-Road 30 08-10-2011 10:50 AM
Best ESC for MOD and 17.5? JayL Electric On-Road 29 08-06-2010 04:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:10 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net