R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Gear ratios (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/457120-gear-ratios.html)

DJ_Shakespear 11-29-2010 06:48 PM

Gear ratios

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to the EP scene, and I was wondering how do you find out what gear ratio to use for a track?
Im running a Tekin RS/Redline 21.5 combo, and I was told to start around 5.5 FDR for this particular track, but I only had 5.28. I couldn't get the motor under 90 degrees that day and it was a cold day. The highest I came out with was a whopping 110!!
I tried changing the timing, boost and turbo, but after reducing the timing from 60 to 20 (212 software) the next race launched me to 110.
I had crappy acceleration and was outpacing the rest, even after all those changes, but still could not get the temps down! Did all I have to do is go a larger spur/smaller pinion? Or drop the current as well?

trerc 11-29-2010 07:05 PM

Originally Posted by DJ_Shakespear (Post 8275900)
Hi guys, I'm fairly new to the EP scene, and I was wondering how do you find out what gear ratio to use for a track?
Im running a Tekin RS/Redline 21.5 combo, and I was told to start around 5.5 FDR for this particular track, but I only had 5.28. I couldn't get the motor under 90 degrees that day and it was a cold day. The highest I came out with was a whopping 110!!
I tried changing the timing, boost and turbo, but after reducing the timing from 60 to 20 (212 software) the next race launched me to 110.
I had crappy acceleration and was outpacing the rest, even after all those changes, but still could not get the temps down! Did all I have to do is go a larger spur/smaller pinion? Or drop the current as well?

Take you spur divided by your pinion x's your drive ratio (2.167) for the hot bodies to figure out your FDR. Also you should be shooting for temps around 150....

DJ_Shakespear 11-29-2010 07:30 PM