Ball Diffs

Old 11-11-2010, 09:04 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default Ball Diffs

I am sure there is a thread somewhere on this topic....so indulge me a little. I am fairly new to rc and messing with ball diffs and looking for any tips and info about rebuilding one and getting it smooth. I have sanded and polished until I have blisters on my fingers, and still have a rough feeling diff. I am just not at all happy with it. Do I need to replace parts? If so, what parts? The diff is not that old and all the parts look to be in good shape.

I just don't think for me to refreshen my diff should be this hard, and I shouldn't have to replace a bunch of parts either considering the amount of races on this diff.

Car: Xray 09
Parts: 100% stock
My current process: Disassemble, clean parts, sand all washers (thrust too) Sand first with 600, then 1000, then 2000 (all wet), re-clean and assemble with AE diff lube on balls and Hudy black on thrust washers.

Thanks in advance.
Old 11-11-2010, 09:11 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Check your thrustbearing. If the discs and balls are new it's most likely the thrustbearing that is at fault...
Old 11-11-2010, 09:22 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)

Good day!

Here are some tips.

http://markpayneblog.blogspot.com/20...erentials.html
Old 11-11-2010, 09:22 PM
Tech Fanatic

its all about the lube u use in the diff I have gone thru the whole lot with this wonderful world of rc and all the greases they make are crap sorry...

I have turned any diff into as smooth as new with the grease I use here in australia and I have never turned back and that was 12 to 13 years ago.

I would love to tell everyone what it is but then I would be out of business. I worked hard and hours upon hours of testing to find what works and I just cant give it away just like that.
Old 11-11-2010, 09:33 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)

Originally Posted by jjfo80