R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2011, 08:08 PM   #856
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northeast GA
Posts: 1,685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chooby View Post
Hi

I have an Zero S on order ( should have it any day now ).

I have a question, I have ordered a 19t pully but can't get hold of Spur Gear Shaft Set For 3racing Sakura Zero - 3Racing SAK-06.

Can I use the factory shaft ? If so what size washers are they being used ?.

Great thread by the way.

Michael
(Oz-tralia)
The stock.shaft can be used.If you only use the 2 stock spacers then the spur gear will have side to side play but it will stay engaged with the pinion. The pulleys will rub the stock top deck.

It shouldn't be too hard to space out the play. Take note of your stock play and shim the new pullets to match.
__________________
3Racing Sakura XI 17.5 TC
Formula Rabbit (FGX conversion) 21.5
STRC LCG 2WD Slash 17.5
Serpent S120 13.5
6376vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:01 PM   #857
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FauxMako View Post
I don't have my car or manual in front of me, but I'm pretty sure I just used the ones that came with the car.

Just realized I have the PDFs of the manuals on the computer. You are correct, there were additional washers with one of the upgrades.

The layshaft ends up like:
spacer, washer, pulley, bearing, gear holder, gear, gear holder, bearing, pulley, washer, spacer

From the Zero manual:
spacer: m5 x 0.2mm
washer: m12 x 0.85mm

Scrolling through and looking at the pics of the upgrade parts it looks like the washers come with the lay shaft (SAK-06) so I guess I was wrong before and at least ordered that since I know I've got those pink washers in there. (Because everyone knows, pink anodizing, like stickers, is worth at least .1s a lap)

Other than the washer, the manuals show the rest of the parts on the lay shaft are the same between the Zero and the Zero S. Next time I'm in the parts box I'll have to see if I have a second lay shaft and compare them. According to the manuals they have the same dimensions.


!!!!!Love this place !!!!!
Chooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 02:14 AM   #858
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,076
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Why do you want this mod on the front?
Or do you mean a 416 front damper stay?
If so, i don't know.
Never tried it as i didn't need to

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chooby View Post
Hi All

Will this mod also work on the front ?????

Thanks
(still waiting for mine to arrive so soon I will also be wrenching !!!)
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 04:14 PM   #859
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Yeah,

Was thinking the 416 front damper stay for the front.

Used to have a similar mod on my TC3 just to duplicate setting front and rear, Barry Baker Style !!!!

M
Chooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 05:27 PM   #860
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,076
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I have run my Zero with the same setup as on my TRF416X lipo.
difference was only a few tenth(2) of a second, but that was due to not having the same motor in both cars.
Did the rear mod with the X1 rear arms and at the front had the +4 shocktower and front and rear the -1 spring retainer.
That was it.
Car was really stable and had good turn in an good exit speed.
This was on Tamiya springs and with 450 oil in the shocks and 32R tires.

regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:01 PM   #861
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,945
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Belts and Pulleys

Hi just sharing my experience.

1. Sakura 37 pulley is wrong size, belt does not wrap properly, will lead to belt failure (already mentioned in past posts).
2. Sakura belts wrap well around tamiya pulleys but tamiya belts not 100% wrapping perfectly on 38 Sakura pulley, but close enough.

__________________
www.rccartips.com
www.f1rccars.com
www.f1rcclub.com
http://www.youtube.com/user/rccartips/
http://www.facebook.com/RCCarTipsFan
rccartips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:14 PM   #862
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 24
Default

Hey Guys,

Just wondering if anyone else has encountered this problem...

I just got my aluminium servo posts due to the plastic ones cracking...

But, when i try and mount my servo with the new posts there inst enough room to fit the servo and servo saver between the mount holes and the top deck? (if that doesn't make sense i apologise).

I realise an easy way around this would be to drill a couple more wholes but I don't particularly want to take a drill to my chassis.
goldsworthy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:27 AM   #863
Tech Apprentice
 
sporadicidiocy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Darkside of the spoon
Posts: 82
Default

Edit: Oops realised it's gonna make the servo poke out at the side.. nvm.

I actually had to use a thinner servo mount I had lying around when I cracked mine, so yea.. my solution probably won't work for you.
__________________
90% Sakura Zero: Reventon S V3.0 10.5T
Sakura Ultimate: GTB2 17.5T
F104 Pro: SXX V2 Trackstar 21.5T
F103 Chevronmodels 6-wheel conversion
sporadicidiocy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 02:32 PM   #864
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Salt Lake city
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Regarding the aluminum servo mounts I drilled a 3rd hole behind the 2 factory holes, only way I could make it work with a standard servo.
Fish1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 12:14 AM   #865
Tech Champion
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,625
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default Gear diffs

What is the difference between the stock gear diffs that come standard in the Zero S kit and the Ver. 2 gear diffs for the Sakura Zero?
YR4Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 12:28 AM   #866
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,076
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I believe the V2 is stronger and has better gears in them.
Also the outdrives are better.

regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 02:03 PM   #867
Tech Champion
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,625
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
I believe the V2 is stronger and has better gears in them.
Also the outdrives are better.

regards Roy
So if I pick up a Zero S, I would need to upgrade the diffs?
YR4Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 03:07 PM   #868
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,076
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Depends in what class you will run.
My Sakura Zero(not S) had the version1 geardiff in it and i never broke it.
I had a boosted 13.5 in it with a Tekin ESC fully open.
Car had the same setup as my TRF416X lipo.
Worked like a charm

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by YR4Dude View Post
So if I pick up a Zero S, I would need to upgrade the diffs?
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 04:27 PM   #869
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I have had a zero s for about 7 months, just blew the rear diff a few weeks back
There v1. Run it every week with 10.5 and boost/turbo
Replaced gears with v2 $5 fix
__________________
MST XXXD vip
MST FS-01d
Xray T4
Xray T3
AE Sc10.2 AE SCB
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 06:31 PM   #870
Tech Champion
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,625
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default Parts compatibility

In looking at the parts, (ie, suspension arms, hubs, suspension arm pins) the 3Racing parts seem almost identical to XRay parts. Are the 3Racing suspension parts interchangeble with the XRay parts?

Also I noticed that that XRay shafts are 50mm / 52mm while the 3Racing shafts are shorter at 44mm / 46mm. I doubt that the Sakura Zero has shorter arms so is this because the Sakura Zero has longer diff outdrives?
YR4Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sakura Zero - New Touring Car! InZane Electric On-Road 1355 02-14-2014 05:14 PM
New to the RC scene...need some help! Jmoney12 Rookie Zone 13 06-15-2010 10:21 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0